We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”
Review of Chippewa Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chippewa Village
Ranked #28 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Negril
Reviewed May 5, 2007

My wife and I just got back from Jamaica. We stayed at Chippewa Village 4/24 - 5/2. We absolutly loved the place. This is our 2nd time. The price is great, the place was nice and clean. John the owner treated us great, and Sydney was a great driver.
We had our own private pool that backs up to the great morass.
We love the rustic charm and the seclusion.
When I had an injury on the beach,( a stingray barb in my foot) John had his doctor friend right there for help.
We would recomend this place to any one. We will be back next year.
Pete & Cherry Pennsylvania USA

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank jacobPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 54 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2007

Is Chippewa Village the perfect place in Negril? Maybe, it depends on what you want. I have travel to Negril 9 out of the last 10 years. I have spent 275 a night on the cliffs at one of the premier resorts and was disappointed with the road noise, I have stayed at some of the best the beach has to offer and was disappointed with the late night bands noise while I try to sleep. It’s all in what you’re looking for. My experience is that the Chippewa Village is one of the quietest places in Negril, right across the road from the beach but far enough away to filter the noise. The resort that John has built is like nothing I have seen in Negril, the rustic Native American theme is seen in all of the detailed workmanship. The pool is cool and refreshing the rooms clean and comfortable.
Does the Chippewa Village have marble floors and mirrored walls? No, if you want that try Cancun. Every year I say that I’ll try some place new, every year I’m planning my trip to Negril. I’m counting the days until I meet up again with John and his friendly staff at the Chippewa.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jaybird77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2007

The owner, John is an ex-California native as stated by previous reviewers. however rats (never saw one) and broken hot tub aside, one must have a better understanding of Jamaica to appreciate this location.

I have been to Negril on four occasion, only one of which was at the Chippewa, and the next time I go, my wife and I will surely stay there again.

This location is NOT a touristy place on the beach proper, it is across the road from the beach, which makes it about $100 a night less than beachfront resorts. (About $50 a night US for a couple).

Negril is a place where one should not plan on staying in their room, or even on a secured property. If you want that expereince, go to Miami, Ft. Lauderdale, etc. A room is for the sole purpose of sleeping, showering, and getting out of the sun for a few hours if need be. The ower is NOT by any means a slumlord (I have seen that sort of place in Jamacia, and believe me, the Chippewa is above average for non resort property.)

The only complaints I have are that the bed is incredibly firm, and can cause minor backaches, and the hot tub is in a state of perpetual repair (imagine the hardship of trying to get the proper fittings and mechanics for a westernized hot tub in what is a borderline 3rd world country, and you will understand) However there is a very clean pool on the property, included continental breakfast, and the view of the morass at sunrise is spectacular, and is unrivaled by many other locales in Jamaica.

This is not a place to bring an inexperienced family, however, I went there on my honeymoon with my wife, who was a Jamaican newbie on the trip, and we look forward to returning.

My parents are currently there for their 5th stay (15th or so for both of them in Negril) and I only found this site by trying to do a search to contact the hotel to pass on word that we were under a foot of snow here in Ohio.

Tourists, welcome, and again, if you want a resort, please stay in the US, and don't insult the Jamaican people.

Stayed: December 2006
1  Thank eyeshoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2007

I feel bad after reading the latest post. Had I done a review immediately afterward my stay ,perhaps I could have saved people the agony. I had a very similiar experience with the emails, phone ect. Upon arrival I stayed in the back building, (although no one other guests were there) and mind you I'm a single woman he put me in the back next to the Morass. The roof to the alledge sauna was destroyed by hurricane Ivan I was told, the pool gross and my room was taken over by HUGE RATS. The owner a Cali native would be a called a SLUM LORD in America and no doubt shut down by the Board of Health. I left after one night with full refund. The pictures on website are totally deceiving. Do yourself a favor and find one of the many other clean, rat free hotels in Negril.

  • Stayed: January 2005, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
10  Thank Mesa-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2006

  • Stayed: March 2005, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
16  Thank SaraJoy12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mik68Si
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, Owner at Chippewa Village, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FivesixSV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.4 mi away
Roots Bamboo
Roots Bamboo
#16 of 53 in Negril
57 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Sands Negril
White Sands Negril
#21 of 80 in Negril
917 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hedonism II
Hedonism II
#15 of 80 in Negril
2,524 reviews
2.2 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Firefly Beach Cottages
Firefly Beach Cottages
#38 of 80 in Negril
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chippewa Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chippewa Village

Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Negril
Price Range: $77 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chippewa Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across the street from the beachfront in Negril, Chippewa Village has an outdoor pool. It offers charming rustic-style accommodation with private terraces. Chippewa Village's cottages, studios and apartments all feature air conditioning, a fridge and private bathroom. Apartments and studios also have a fully equipped kitchen. We offer free private parking and free WiFi in public areas. Our reception will be able to assist you with information on the surrounding area and possible activities. Local restaurants and bar can be found within a 5-10 minute walk while the West end cliff area of Negril is just a 10 minute drive away. Montego Bay (MBJ) International Airport is the closest airport, a 90 min drive away from us. How to reach us: We are located in Negril on NORMAN MANLEY BOULEVARD locally known also as BEACH ROAD because is the road that runs side the beach for 7 miles. We are more or less at the middle of it, on the garden side in front of Charela Inn Hotel and Idle Awhile Hotel. The sign outside is CHIPPEWA VILLAGE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Chippewa Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chippewa Village Negril
Chippewa Village Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing