We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice crew and no fish”

Stanley's Deep Sea Fishing
Ranked #17 of 58 things to do in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Off shore fishing. 1/2, 3/4 And Full day Charters. 1/2 Day charter sharing available. Scuba Diving including PADI certification. Sunset Cruises. Snorkeling and Glass bottom boat trips.
Morganton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice crew and no fish”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We we're picked up at our resort on time. Nice boat and equipment. The Red Strips were offered and accepted by 8am . One bite, no fish. Lot's of the locals told us we wouldn't catch anything, but the crew tried.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BillSafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    28
    11
    10
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Marlin Man”
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Cold drinks, blue water, and lots of sunshine! Capt. Kourtney and Jack put us on a nice barracuda and 7 ft marlin two hours into a morning trip! I'm booking again next year. Thanks again guys.

-The Marlin Man

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We booked a half day of afternoon fishing three days in advanced as every other times (morning and afternoon) was booked. We showed up at the front lobby of our hotel the day of our fishing trip and waited for our ride. We were about five minutes early and started chatting with the lady that sold us the fishing trip for that day. As time passed she became concerned bc no one was coming to get us. She called Stanley's and we were then told that they cancelled the trip because there was not enough people to go. As we were leaving in two days and had booked other excursions, we could not go another time. The man from Stanley's told our lady that they had known this information since yesterday but no one had told us. Not only was our day that we had planned ruined because it was too late to book another excursion but Stanley's had the nerve to ask that if we wanted to pay double right now that they would take us fishing. We totally understand that they don't wanna loss money when taking customers fishing but it was an insult. Poor customer service and they wasted a whole day for us as we only came to Negril for 7 days

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Nicoleen21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWinds, Owner at Stanley's Deep Sea Fishing, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
I am so sorry to hear how dissapointed you were not being able to go fishing. I was not aware of this before reading your post. We do have a minimum number of 4 required to take the boat out. It can be challenging to get enough people together on the shared trips. I would like to extend a complementary trip to you both the next time you are in Negril please accept my apologies. you can contact me through our website sincerely, Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“100% Amazing!”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

On our first trip to Jamaica I bought a fishing excursion thru the resort we stayed at and it was cancelled. Our second trip to Jamaica we had one planned as well.... also thru the resort.... also cancelled! A friend recommended we call Stanley.... should have done that in the first place! It was absolutely amazing!! Our Captain, Jason and his first mate Jaque, were wonderful hosts. The first 2 hours we sailed out into the rain and didn't get one strike but as soon as the sun came out we got strike after strike!! Everyone on the trip (8 of us) was able to reel in a fish!! We got some amazing pictures and we have many family memories to last a lifetime! When we go again we will not wast time with going thru the resort.... we will just call Stanley! Thank you for the experience of a lifetime!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iowa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great day with Jack and Soldier!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I took our 10 year old son out for a half day of fishing. This was to make up for a bad experiance we had for my son's first time deepsea fishing. And boy did it make up for it! He had an excellent time! It was great besides that my husband got seasick. Jack and Soldier made sure my son realed in all 18 fish! Well with some help! These guys know what they're doing and are very professional. We would recommend them to anyone!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank mrstravel08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stanley's Deep Sea Fishing also viewed

Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to Stanley's Deep Sea Fishing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing