We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Negril
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,890)
Filter reviews
6,891 results
Traveler rating
2,272
2,438
1,277
516
388
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,272
2,438
1,277
516
388
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish sanctuary singing barman jerk chicken entertainment staff ricks cafe swim up bar jerk hut every other day bloody bay club hotel sand flies a la carte restaurants quiet pool gourmet restaurant mini bar water shoes sea urchins
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 6,891 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2020

We are a family who have always been more than impressed with the Riu hotels and in fact have spent many thousands of pounds to go to Roy hotels and never had to complain once.

We are still currently on holiday at this resort and we are very disappointed and it's a disgrace the lack of support offered.

It all started from day 1 the coach ride from the airport. The driver drive like an absolute maniac, to the point the 4 of us buckled our seat belts, knowing the roads aren't great here didn't have any consideration for his passengers, it was frightening and the worst transfer we have ever experienced, up in arrival to the resort the coach driver didn't get off to help unload suitcases guests had to do there own, whilst he sat on the coach waiting for tips with his dollars in his hand. When we didn't tip he was very rude.

Day 3, my partner went to get breakfast and some fresh fruit punch to go with as he used the dispenser live bugs came with it, when we spoke to the waiter who then took this to his manager he thought this was nothing but a laughing matter and didn't care that these bugs could make people very poorly. When we explained that they need shutting down and cleaned and flushed he didn't want to know and in fact still left them open for people to use.

Day 4, after having issued with the free WiFi, mother and father in law decided to pay 40 dollars to get the better Wi-Fi when promised this was a better way. 2 days they struggled to get on and in fact the free WiFi worked better than the one they paid for, again after complaining was refused a refund. Also key cards to gain access to your room multiple times didn't work despite them being nowhere near any electrical devices. Our rooms was quite away so as you can imagine we didn't appreciate all unnecessary trips to reception, multiple times.

Day 5 after the atrocious coach ride here my partner wanted to do a trip however I wasn't prepared to put myself through that again and refused. We went to see the TUI rep Christine to explain and to see if there was any way she could at least know the coach driver would drive respectfully with guest. Christine reassured us that she would sort this for us so we decided to book one. As a gesture of good will and for the terrifying experience we had she had offered to reduce the price for us.

Day 6 again another complaint, the quiet pool dirty pumps not working and scum in the corner of the pool, after reporting this they just said it was the oils from the suncream, yet both the most popular pools which had more use didn't have this problem. Also at that pool the toilets none if the locks worked and plug sockets hanging which is health and safety issue knowing people are wet from the pool again reported this nothing done about it.

I also forgot to mention at the beginning at check in when we got to our room the shows wouldn't lift and stayed stuck at the bottom we had to bodge this using a tooth pick to keep it at the top, coffee machine but no tea or coffee we questioned this and they hadn't had any and wasn't prepared to source any from somewhere else.

On the day of the trip which in fact we was looking forward to again ended up being a shambles. We wasn't told that we had to go on two coaches to get to our destination. Breakfast was included however we had to eat this on the coach ad the coach driver didn't want to waste time on the road break fast was discusting and not for to eat and as you can imagine it's not the greatest trying to eat whilst travelling. When we reached our tour after the dunns river which in respect was great until we got back to the coach and the chap taking us round was stood at the coach waiting for tips. When we got to mystic mountain the next part of our trip we was left with no guide to guide us to where we needed to be so we had to figure thus out for ourselves. When we finished the sky tour and bobsleigh which again was good we went for lunch. This again was discusting and when the TUI app states soft drinks included with lunch this was not the case we had to pay for a soft drink. After that disappointment again not knowing what was next we asked what was included in out band as when we read the small print on the TUI app rock climbing was also included we was refused this. After we had done the zip lining and back down on the chair lift we was out the entrance and left to sit for an hour in the middle of the jungle getting bitten, we made our way to the coach and no coach driver to be seen. On the way home again we had another reckless driver who seemed to want to end his shift to get home, that's fair enough but bit when you have a coach full of passengers!

So again next say another trip to the rep to complain all I can say is TUI reps here Christine and O'Brien tell you what you want to hear but did nothing about it kept fobbing us off come back tomorrow same old same old. We are no people to complain and we feel we've spent majority of our time which should if been an enjoyable relaxing holiday turned out to be spending majority of our time complaining and chasing up about the complains.

Also when you walk along the foot path which is opposite the beach you can't even look out at the sea without drug dealers whistling and asking if you want to buy drugs this is just dam right rude and not what you expect to experience when you just want to look out.

This holiday cost us alot of money and we are very disappointed this hotel is more like a 2* than a 4/5 It represents. Everyone is different but I wouldn't recommend anyone to waste there money here!! So disappointed and embarrassed.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
7  Thank kimsully24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Negril, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear kimsully24,

Thank you for your time,

We are sorry that in general your experience with us was not what you expected and that you left our hotel with a totally opposite impression to that which we always try to convey. In RIU we are committed to provide excellent quality products and services to our guests, so we appreciate your comments as they help us improve our services. For this reason, we will share your impressions with the Management team to take actions if needed.

We hope to host you again in one of our worldwide hotels in the future!

Greetings,

Hotel Riu Negril
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2020 via mobile

Great holiday but Andre in the entertainment team is not so great.

He is a womaniser and uses his job to find woman the downfall to the hotel and most likely a common trait.

I also found some of the entertainment in the evening not child friendly.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
4  Thank mauritiansa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Negril, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2020

Dear mauritiansa,

Many thanks for sharing your concerns with us.

We are glad that overall you had a great holiday with us. However, we are surprised to read your comments concerning one of our staff members, since all our employees sign a commitment to avoid any type of non-professional treatment, and we would have liked to have been informed about this situation during your stay to take appropriate action.

Please rest assured that we have already shared your comments with our Management Team for a proper follow-up.

We hope you allow us the chance to share a more positive experience with you soon.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Negril
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2020

This is our third stay in a RIU resort and all are great. I only give this a 4 star because of just a few things. Over all you cant beat the views, the beach, and the water. It's all amazing!! If you come with a mindset that life is short and the beach is near then you'll have an amazing time. If you nit pick every detail you'll end up giving it a 4 star review. The rooms were big and nice with great views. Mini bars are stocked every other day, some people will whine about this but its what they do. Our trip they were out of coffee for the coffee makers for the room so I had to walk to the sports bar every morning. Not my ideal morning but I made the most of it and walked the beach on the way back to my room every morning seeing some beautiful sunrises and finding shells before everyone got out to the beach. There are pools and bars everywhere. Be prepared to walk as the resort is spread out but I personally like that. Staff is great but not to the standards of some of the other RIUs, I think that is Jamaica vs Mexico though. Vendors will try to sell you everything under the sun on the beach including pot, pot brownies, pot plants, and more! They are very respectful if you say no and was never a problem. Bus ride there was a bit of a queasy ride for your stomach. Don't fly in on a weekend as the traffic is terrible. Not a huge party crowd but a great mix of people wanting to relax and people having a good time on vacation. No Champagne to be found so no mimosas in the morning. Again this is nit picking but something you may want to be aware of. Jamaican jerk by the beach is to die for .Again I can't stress how beautiful area, beach, and water were. Great location and I would absolutely go back again acknowledging that there could be some minor tweaks.

Room tip: Rooms are spread out and there are no elevators if you get a room on the second floor.
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brummetj00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Negril, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Brummetj00,

Many thanks for your feedback and your loyalty to our chain.

On one hand, we are very glad to know that in general you had such a great time with us!

On the other hand, we are disappointed to learn that you found a few inconveniences that brought down your final opinion about us and we would like to apologize for them. We take very seriously your review and we will share it with our Management Team for further consideration.

It is always our pleasure to take care of you and we would like to welcome you back in some of our worldwide hotels very soon.

Wish you all the best in the meanwhile.

Sincerely,

Hotel Riu Negril
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2020 via mobile

After a 10hour flight from Manchester I arrived at Sangster Airport. I knew our trip from the airport to the hotel was going to take approx 1hr 45mins as we went outside the airport there was no coach to be seen arriving approx 30mins late, the drive was like being on a rollercoaster being thrown from one side to the other. Dangerous, scary and unsafe. And on arriving at the hotel the driver never attempted to get out of his seat but just sat their with his hand open waiting for a tip, leaving all
passengers to get out and retrieve the language from inside the lockers themselves.
The free wifi which was supposed be in all areas, you couldnt get in rooms so we paid for it. then had problems with that which took 2days to sort out after continually having to chase them as there was a fault with the router.
In the quiet pool, grease and oil round the sides and floating in pool,which took 2days to sort out. To keep it clean a person has to go around every hour with a long net to try and keep it clean.
Excursion we went on, when sold to us by the tiu rep which was exclusive to them,one of activities was denied to us after paying a lot of money. soft drinks which was included, was also denied to us thus having to pay $9 for a drink or go without for 13hours.
This was a small portion of the problems that we encountered. And when our Tiu reps where informed they was less than helpful,and replied no one else has complained so we cannot do anything.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
4  Thank wrinkled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Negril, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2020

Dear wrinkled,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

We would like to apologize if we did not provide you with the holidays you were looking for and if you did not feel well attended. It was surely the intention of our staff to address your concerns in a prompt manner.

Regarding the pool cleaning, we would like to inform you that all our hotels fulfil the international hygienic norms, including the maintenance of the swimming pools. They are cleaned on a daily basis and the pH is checked throughout the day.

We will make sure to let our Management Team know about your comments for a proper follow-up.

We do hope you allow us another opportunity to share a more positive experience with you next time.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Negril
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2020 via mobile

I would have rated this resort 3.5/5.

The Good
- Beautiful view of beach and the bay from almost everywhere
- Food was good to very good
- Pools were nice
-lots of chairs on beach and around pools
- Service very good most places, Jamaican people are very friendly
- you will have good holiday if you stay here
- they do a nice job of cleaning your room; rooms are very clean
- beds were good
- Simone from the spa was excellent (massage), and so nice. A really beautiful lady.

Not as Good
- no chair or beach service, this would provide more jobs for locals and they probably would do well working only for tips
- not many bars compared to other AIs and not many washrooms
- only one buffet restaurant each for breakfast and lunch
- the place could use a reno to freshen the facility up as it’s looking kind of old; must have been very nice when it first opened
- even ala carte restaurants had a buffet component, would be better if they had more selection at ala carte restaurants
- a golf cart for people

Would I stay here again?
Yes, but as I like to try new places, I probably wouldn’t.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank curlingfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Negril, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear curlingfool,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and with the travel community!

We are happy to learn that overall you had a good time during your stay at our Hotel Riu Negril! We appreciate your kind words and compliments towards most of our products and services. However, we lament that you found some inconveniences that made your stay less enjoyable which we apologize for! We have taken notes of these concerns and suggestions and will share them with our Management team so that they can take them into consideration!

It was our pleasure to take care of you and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon in one of our worldwide hotels!

King regards,

Hotel Riu Negril
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews