We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY ELSEWHERE!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Negril
Ranked #27 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2014

My review of the RIU Negril. Stayed here May 22nd-May 26th 2014

The RIU was a disappointment. Out of 5 stars I would give it a 1. The cleanliness of the place was unacceptable. We walked by trashcans with drinks sitting on top of them on the way to dinner and they were still there on the way home from dinner. There were plates and cups left on lounge chairs, the ashtrays were not cleaned out. The Shadows restaurant where you had lunch smelled like a garbage can. Very unappetizing. We saw a huge roach in the stairwell. Also, cobwebs on the stair railings. We were there for 4 days- they were never removed. The pool chairs always had debris on them. The pool itself had debris floating to the top and mold and mildew around the edges. Not very appealing.
We had to go several times to the pool towel hut to get towels- they were always out, and said 20 more minutes- then 20 more minutes. If you come to Jamaica you come for fun in the sun which requires towels. Unacceptable not to have enough. When we complained to the management they said, “ Well we had 500 new guests check in today”. My thought was, “how is that my problem?” The resort knows in advance what the capacity of guests of the hotel should be. They should have been prepared. Again unacceptable.
The food was below average at best. The best lunch is the Jerk BBQ on the beach between 12-2. I would recommend making reservations to eat at the Sir Andrew gourmet restaurant for dinner. The problem here is that you can only make reservations 2 days in advance- they should try to accommodate guests better. If you are there for a 4 day quick trip- you have already missed 2 days of the option to eat at a reservation required dining establishment. It was the best meal. Also there is a stir fry station in the evenings that is outside before you go into dinner. It was very fresh and good. The main dining room is set up as a buffet. If you are one of the first ones there, you have a chance at a decent meal. They have jerk chicken, pork, salads and vegetables. The later it gets- the food doesn’t look very appetizing- and is cold. The ice cream is warm- weird I know…but it is.
I think they are trying to cater to the drinkers- not the foodies for sure. If you are looking for a loud obnoxious party- this might be for you.
When you arrive in your room after a long day in the sun, you want a cool room with a working ceiling fan. We called to say our ceiling fan wasn’t working. They said they would send maintenance right up- an hour later we called again- and hour later we called again. Hard to sleep when you are hot. Ceiling fan didn’t get fixed until the next day.
This hotel obviously condones pot smoking. It is everywhere. Not, discreet. Our first day, we walked by the pool and there was a father/son sharing a joint while lying on pool chairs. There was people smoking marijuana in the common areas, on their balconies and on the beach. Definitely not a resort I would take children too.
The worst part is when you go to the manager and complain, they said we are going to be completely remodeled in August- that will take care of all your issues. Really? Why do I care about August. I am here now, and not a happy guest.
We have been to Jamaica 5 times. This is by far the worst experience for accommodations. We made the best of the situation by doing excursions off of the resort.
I would most definitely not recommend the RIU Negril.

Room Tip: Choose Building one or two.....NO ELEVATORS.....so those of you that have trouble walking or with st...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dansmail88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,553)
There are newer reviews for ClubHotel Riu Negril
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,723 - 1,729 of 5,553 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2014

We had the best time ever at the club hotel riu negril all the staff so willing to help lennox the doorman who helped us throughout our stay a big thanks to him and Christine our Thomson rep who took ill and had to be taken to hospital but before she was taken there she sorted out my husband's birthday dinner out on the 7th December 2014 and cake! on her sick bed a huge thanks Christine hope your better.we are from crieff scotland so having my husband's birthday in Jamaica was amazing and wonderful we cant wait to get back thanks club riu negrilxxxxxxxx

Room Tip: 1213 excellent great views mini bar in the room fab
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank juliacass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Just got back last night 5/28/2014

ATTENTION: If you do Rick's cafe tour DO NOT JUMP THE CLIFF-someone in our resort passed away while jumping and attempting to do a backflip and hit belly first; he was with a wedding party that was suppose to happen on 5/28/124 he died 5/27/14. The ambulance NEVER CAME and tour bus had to transport the individual to the hospital which was 90 minutes away. PLEASE DONT RISK IT. My condolences to the family and friends.

I will list the pros and the cons: I usually do not listen to reviews but when i read these prior to my trip and then got there some where spot on.

Especially the booking of onsite restaurants (ITS TRUE you cant get in) but, you can go to the time slots available and wait 10 minutes for any cancellations (some people end up missing there time slots due to excursions or too drunk). The Steakhouse was NOT good the meat was NOT a good cut (cheap steak) the Italian was very good and the Gourmet was OUTSTANDING the lamb chops were the BEST my husband had a fillet and it was delicious!!

PROS:
beautiful views
buffett food was really good
Jerk Chicken on the beach is the BEST!!
the drinks are really good
Bartendars are hilarious
the shows are funny and very entertaining.
the beach is really calm (you are in a BAY so no rumbling of the ocean water)
very peaceful
you dont hear much hallway noise while in your room (this was nice)

CONS:
the staff onsite are not really nice they appear to not be happy to work there and they feel like we the tourist are a burden (could be cultural)
the bathrooms through out were always dirty
the pool was not clean (we went daily and always told someone about the pool) they did send someone to pick out the leaves but it was always dirty.
the beach did have garbage here and there throough out (could have been from the drunks)
I did notice that nothing is of an urgency there-everything gets done when they feel like it, lots of socializing of the staff amongest eachother instead of working. (we saw this allot through out the resort)
please double check the information you are given at the excursion booth (they do lie about time frames at each excursion) we had to get our money back because they didnt take us on one they were suppose to stop at.

Excursion: the 9 Zipline and water rafting on the river were OUTSTANDING beautiful breathtaking views.

hope this review helps!

Room Tip: Building 1 is the closest to everything
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Marilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

My fiance and I stayed at the RIU club in Negril from 5/10 until 5/1 W didnt know what to expect however all of our expectations were exceeded. The resort was nice and clean the landscaping was beautiful and well kept we saw them working on it everyday we were there. There is a beautiful stretch of beach right outside your room basically this leaves plenty of space and room for everyone to avoid overcrowding. The people that work there are amazing from housekeeping to the entertainment crew I cannot say enough good things. There was something going on at all times around the resort. I honestly cannot wait to go back! Definitely worth it in my opinion.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dina426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Excellent check-in procedure and friendly welcome after a long day. The room was large and well equipped with a safe, mini fridge and TV. Coffee making facilities were not provided but we understand this facility will be provided shortly. There were also ice machines in the block. The minibar included bottles of brandy, gin, vodka and rum and beers and soft drinks were provided in the fridge. I was a little disappointed as my favourite tipple is whiskey. On the second evening of our stay we were approached at our table by a customer services rep who wanted to know if everything was OK. I was getting my meal but my wife happened to mention the lack of whiskey. The next day we came back from the beach to find that a litre bottle had been provided in our room. The room was clean and the large king size bed was made each day. We had a small private terrace outside sliding patio doors on the ground floor.
In general the food was of good quality in the buffet restaurant with plenty of choice. We reserved tables at the other restaurants in which again the food was very good with waiter service for the whole meal in two of them and partial waiter service in the Italian restaurant. Our only concern was that on one night the upstairs of one of the restaurants had a wedding reception and the disco was so loud you could not hold a conversation. Had we known it would have been that loud we would have reserved another night. Food at lunchtime was also very varied and of good quality. You could help yourselves to drinks as well as food which we found much better than having to catch a waiter's eye. I did suffer one evening half way through our two week stay after having prawns at lunchtime but at least it meant I did not put on as much weight as I would have done otherwise.
In the evening we used the main bar partly because it was quieter and partly because one of the barmen did a singing session for an hour each night. He was absolutely brilliant and carried on serving all the time he was singing. We could also use Wi-Fi in this area free for an hour each 24 hours
The beach was OK with plenty of sunbeds available on most occasions. The sea tended to get a little cloudy later on in the day and there was a slimy feel to the sand the further you went in. There was also seaweed underfoot but the water was deep enough to swim over it. There were some salesman on the beach selling tobacco cigarettes and cigars, coffee and bags ( sorry purses) and some musicians but they only kept to the water's edge and did not harass anyone.
Due to a fault in the aircraft we w ere delayed on our return and were put up in the Riu in Montego Bay for a couple of nights. Our experience of that hotel was not so good particularly the low flying aircraft and the beach/sea

Room Tip: Probably better not to be on the ground floor. On higher floors you could probably see the sea from...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bbd137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Just got back from 4 nights at this resort. Food was average, at best. Nothing to rave about there. At times, if you don't get there early enough, the selections are pretty slim. The room is okay. Could use some maintenance in the grouting and fixtures. The staff were very friendly and helpful. One major drawback for me is that there is no elevator in any of the buildings. So make sure you ask for downstairs room if you don't want to tackle the flights of stairs. The beach is packed sand. Again, just average. The entertainment is mediocre. Sad to say we won't be back here again.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the oceanfront rooms. The view is awesome!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in the most beautiful part of Jamaica. Block one rooms are in perfect walking distance to everything so ask for a room there. We had to move as the aircon was broken but that a problem quickly resolved. The weather is lovely and hot but do expect some tropical storms, which in my opinion is great and something you must see! We did the shopping trip to ricks cafe. Skip out the shopping and the harassment and get Christine (Thomson rep) to help you organise a taxi straight to ricks cafe. The divers are amazing so give them a tip. The views here are simply beautiful so soak up the moment and watch the sunset. We did the trip to Ocho rios to climb Dunn river falls. Again another memory that will stay with me forever. Also don't bother with the shopping here again either, opt to have a rest on the bus. Lunch is in a local cafe which is so tasty! Finally did swimming with dolphins which I highly recommend!!! The hotel food is average all inclusive, you will like something so just eat. The swim up bar is great, plenty of drinks to go around! The beach is steps away, not the best sand in the world but stunning views. Take advantage of doing the watersports. And most importantly enjoy your holiday because you will have a great time! Don't listen to negative reviews!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kerry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
4.6 mi away
Legends Beach Hotel
Legends Beach Hotel
#39 of 80 in Negril
955 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#16 of 80 in Negril
657 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
65.1 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
26.6 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#19 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Negril

Address: Bloody Bay Beach | Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Negril
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#37 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: $208 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Negril 3.5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Newly renovated in November 2015 * Located on Jamaica's west coast in Negril * Located on the beach front * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Main building and four 2-story annexes * Surrounded by 45,000 m2 / 56,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * 9 km / 5.5 Miles from Negril's West End * 7 km / 4.4 Miles from various shops * 80 km / 48 miles from Montego Bay airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Hotel Negril
Rio Negril
Riu Negril Jamaica
Riu Resort All Inclusive Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing