We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"AWESOME STAFF"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Negril
Ranked #26 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2014

First of all....To OWNERS and MANAGERS of this resort......Treat ALL your employees the same way....that includes Scuba, Pool, Maintenance, Landscaping, Room and Bar personnel. Have them also have breaks, eat the same food as tourists do and please give them good water to drink.....they all deserve it.

Check in was quick....our room was upgraded to oceanfront without even asking....thank you for that.....room was very nice and clean....mini bar restocked almost every day.....food, beach, 1 pool, landscape, entertainment, massages, drinks all Great!.....and especially the entire Staff....EXCELLENT!!!

The only negative remark we have and again addressed to the Owners and Managers......first of all.....portable music brought by tourists should not be allowed in the pool areas.....as was the case of the 4 American Bozos dressed as Uncle Sam their entire trip....do they think they own the place?....Tourists should be ignoring them, some were ignoring them but the ones not ignoring were probably Americans also. There is Plenty of Music and Entertainment by staff at the Pools and Beach throughout the day!!!!!

We never did go in the Pool Bar Pool....too merky and disgusting if you know what I mean. Management should look into that. And it is Not the Lifeguards fault.....they are doing their best!

The other pool was way much better.

In conclusion, Awesone Trip and Special Thanks to Carey, Sheldon, Calvert, Ivette, Mark, Akeem and "Especially Latrisha" for making our stay wonderful....we're gonna miss you guys.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SJCAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,555)
There are newer reviews for ClubHotel Riu Negril
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,822 - 1,828 of 5,556 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2014

Dave & Linda , my wife Delores and I traveled to 5 Caribbean Islands. Dave and I have tried scuba diving at 3 of them. Never have we meet someone like Lloyd. He made diving seem like the most incredible thing you can ever do. Lloyd put safety first and showed you how to enjoy the world that your going to discover. Never did I feel rushed to learn if I was not happy with my progress he gave us time to learn and practice until we were happy. When we were out in the sea he took the time to show us our new world. I have never meet a better teacher. Can't wait till I get to dive with Lloyd again.
Marvin from Alberta Canada

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank Marvin. W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We (10 of us) throughly enjoyed our stay here. However, we could have done without the BED BUGS. I was eaten alive by these critters and the bites took about 5 months to heal and left scars. Now I make sure I take bed bug spray whenever I stay in a hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The hotel itself is quite good with wide selections of entertainment and foods. Though the smell in the room was stale and because of that all our clothes have been stinking for a long time the service in the hotel is great. The beach is not the same as the 7 mile beach, but it is also very attractive as it is calmer and not so crowded being situated in a beatiful bay. The hotel is worth a price you pay for it. From all vacations we spent in the Carribeans (Dominican Rep., Mexico, Jamaica) so far Jamaica was the best, though in other countries we had hotels of a better standards. I truly recommend this hotel when you want to have some fun and relax at the same time.

Room Tip: We were in a room 1153 in a first bulding (it is closest to the other venues of the hotel and it has...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Maciej W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

This place is older but well kept and clean. The staff is very friendly the food is Great ( only did the buffets) and the pools are nice. Not on 7 mile beach but very close by. You are in a cove and the water is clear and calm. There was a stingray that swam up and down along the beech almost everyday. Good place for the price. Only one thing I did not understand they did not have cocktail waitresses by the pool or beach area. They did however seem to take your empty glass away within minutes.

Room Tip: There are four buildings and three floors in each. NO elevators, building one is the closets to ever...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynda848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We have been to Negril 3 times now and love it each time we go. This resort was just as good as the other two we have stayed in. Food was great, beach was great, pool was great, drinks were great, etc.. Paul the singing bar man was fabulous. I have no complaints. Shadows was my favorite restaurant. The staff were always polite and happy. Special thanks to Yaneiq, JoVaughn and Paul for making this trip another success. Yeah mon!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ARgirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

-Awesome interactive staff, they make everyone feel welcome!
If you're planning a day catamaran trip to Ricks Cafe, if you book through the on-site staff wearing the white shirts and khakis, Scuba Company, you'll save around 40 bucks and save yourself a bus ride off site as the catamaran is docked at Riu. Plus, DJ and Miguel are so much fun and have some killer dance moves and DJ has a great smile!!! They are affiliated with Riu and walk the grounds to talk to everyone.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Coady O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
4.6 mi away
Legends Beach Hotel
Legends Beach Hotel
#38 of 80 in Negril
955 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#15 of 80 in Negril
658 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
65.1 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
26.6 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#19 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Negril

Address: Bloody Bay Beach | Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Negril
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#37 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: $209 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Negril 3.5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Newly renovated in November 2015 * Located on Jamaica's west coast in Negril * Located on the beach front * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Main building and four 2-story annexes * Surrounded by 45,000 m2 / 56,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * 9 km / 5.5 Miles from Negril's West End * 7 km / 4.4 Miles from various shops * 80 km / 48 miles from Montego Bay airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Hotel Negril
Rio Negril
Riu Negril Jamaica
Riu Resort All Inclusive Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing