We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First trip to Jamacia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Negril
Ranked #26 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2013

First off lets just say i'm not a hard person to please I just need a place to sleep and decent food and i'm good to go. The Hotel was very clean and the staff are great here. Yes if your way down at the lower buildings its a walk to get to everything. The beach was nice and clean with a few locals selling items here and there. The pools were great other than the swim up bar pool it always looked so clean but after a day of sitting there watching everyone getting drunk and how dirty the water got i did not return to it. The food i would say is ok not the best but not the worst either its a bufet! The jerk chicken on the beach is Yummy! The staff and the entertainment crew are the best so funny and very friendly.It did rain everyday but hey its the tropics didnt bother me any. I would say the hotel needs some updating tv's and Ac's in the rooms are not cold. I would recommend the hotel if its your first all inclusive but maybe for only a few days after that it gets old.

Room Tip: Try to get a room close to the front of the building if you don't want to walk alot!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Shawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,555)
There are newer reviews for ClubHotel Riu Negril
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,122 - 2,128 of 5,556 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

We have travelled to many destinations and we always allow for some issues as nothing can ever be perfect.
This location however, turned out to be the worst of the lot:

1) Late check in with no regards that many travellers have been up for many hours.
2) First room had major issues changed to another room on the 4th day, also had plumbing issues with that room too !!!
3) The food had no flavor and lacked variety, found out that the head chef was Cuban???? How the heck can a Cuban chef know how to cook Jamaican cuisine? The jerk chicken was a 'joke' we get better jerk chicken in Canada.
4) They served rotted food after 11:00 p.m. and when I approached a manager asking why they would serve people so much alcohol and not provide food, his comment was, " its not a 24 hour all inclusive".

We got to see some of the management team, not very friendly either all happen to be Spanish, Cuban. In particular a senior manager a young blond woman who was in the buffet area, she looks to be about 20 years old not even a smile on her face. No wonder the place is going to hell!!!!

The animation team, beach, weather are the positives of this resort. Thanks to Shadrick, Colours, and Spider man for entertaining us :D The management banned the animation team from the nightclub just to add to our torture. Every resort allows the animation team to come in to the club to liven up the place. Not here, it seems the management are out to make sure we have the worst time ever while they make as much money !!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SBedri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed there may 19-23 worst experiencei ever had
Roaches in my rooms they moved me twice, flies in the food poor quality meals and crabs everywhere
Front desk unrespospnsive and the hotel manager Veronica Hernandez was too busy to see me
I would not recoomend this hotel to anyone
Do not stay there!!,l,l,

Room Tip: No tips do not go there
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank englass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed at Riu Negil from June 19th- June 23 this being my first time in Jamaica I thought i picked a pretty good resort after reading alot of reviews for this hotel some good some bad but let me say people the bad reviews outway the good ones. This resort needs some work the rooms are totally outdated the air really didnt work to well in our room nor did the mini fridge get cold the bed hard the pillows are flat i dont know where they get there bed linens from but thank god i bring my own small cover i had on the plane. The shower doesnt get too hot so dont expect to take a hot shower also the tv in the room is like 13 inch and no there are no flat screens.

The food was pretty good in the buffet but dont even think your gonna get a resevation in one of the so call " restrauants" they have we tried they are all booked before you get there on top of that there 11pm to 7am Lungi la carte all they had was cold hamburgers, hot dogs and turkey and cheese sandwiches but let me tell you i pick up a sandwich and there was a dead fly inside the container and it had to be in there before they put the sandwich cause it was on the bottom.

We did make good friends with the bartenders the drinks were good but far as the entertainment they have a live band from like 8 to 11 and then a show in between from like 9 to 1030 then we were looking like what are we going to do now. NOTHING!!!!! u might as well go to sleep unless you going to the wack disco club they have BORING!!!!! nobody was even in there and all the bars closes at 12. Believe me when i tell you this resort sucked big time i was totally dispointed they need some serious help here if you go you'll be coming back writing the same review. Good Luck

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mirababy_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed there from june 19 - 25 and its such a great resort being that it was my first all inclusive resort.

The weather was still hot every single day. It was rainy season when my husband and i went but it rained for only an hour or two a day around lunch. The rest of the day was still hot and sunny. Make sure to bring sunblock for the day and bug repelent at night as youll find there are mosquitoes.

The room was cleaned every single day and it was done really well. New towels, drinks and pillow cases were given everyday. The bed sheets are thin, made out of a material like a towel and there was only one blanket so i found it wasnt comforting. The washrooms come with facial towels, long towels, shampoo and shower gel, soap for your hands, cups and shower caps. If you want a towel for the pool and beach make sure not to lose your towel card or else youll have to pay forthe towels.

The pool and beach are spacious and clean. You constantly see people cleaning and maintaining the cleanliness of the resort. I saw lots of families amd couples there too so its a resort where there are lots of people but still lots of room to swim.

The entertainment at the resort is amazing. They do shows every day and they are always worth watching. The club is worth going to if you love to dance because the songs are modern and the dj does such a great job. My only complaint is that since they allow smoking inside i found on one of the nights there was just too many smokers that it was hard to breathe. During the day the entertainment staff always does something such as water aerobics, join in on volleyball and games with the audience that its worth participating in. The staff were always friendly and had a smile on their faces.

The food was good and there was always so much. The food is typical of a buffet and there was always a variety. I find they constantly replemish the food as well as made other dishes so sometimes just a few hours after lunch begins there will be a new set of food out. The jerk chicken is so delicious so make sure to try it. There are flies at the resort but thats typical of any place. If you plan to go to an a la carte dinner make sure to make reservations right away as they do fill up amd come on time. Also the gourmet restaurant which is whatvive heard is one of the better ones requires no shorts so men dont forget the long dress pants.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ppich123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

After staying in the Riu in Ocho Rios last year, we were very disappointed with the standards in this hotel. The bathrooms, which were ridden with damp, did not contain working showers. The in-room air conditioning was in poor working order, and barely made a difference to the ambient temperature.

On the positive side, the Hotel's food was fantastic and the entertainers were hardworking and vibrant. Staff were friendly, hard working and professional.

Would not return until much money was spent on renovation!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BettyBoo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at RIU Negril from June 14th to the 20th and had the time of our lives!! The best staff from the time you wake up to the time you go to bed. The entertainment team were excellent and made our trip so much fun! The resort is beautiful..(rooms are spotless but a little dated) although that was not an issue for us. We were a group of 12 and we all feel the same about our experience. The food was excellent as well, never disappointed in any of the meals. We are already planning our trip back. I would never hesitate to recommend this trip to anyone, it was simply FABULOUS!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the first building rooms 1237 and 1238 and would request them again. Close to everythi...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
4.6 mi away
Legends Beach Hotel
Legends Beach Hotel
#38 of 80 in Negril
955 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#15 of 80 in Negril
658 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
65.1 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
26.6 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#19 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Negril

Address: Bloody Bay Beach | Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Negril
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#37 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: $209 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Negril 3.5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Newly renovated in November 2015 * Located on Jamaica's west coast in Negril * Located on the beach front * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Main building and four 2-story annexes * Surrounded by 45,000 m2 / 56,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * 9 km / 5.5 Miles from Negril's West End * 7 km / 4.4 Miles from various shops * 80 km / 48 miles from Montego Bay airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Hotel Negril
Rio Negril
Riu Negril Jamaica
Riu Resort All Inclusive Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing