We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1st. time in Jamaica!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ClubHotel Riu Negril

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
ClubHotel Riu Negril
Ranked #26 of 84 Hotels in Negril
Sydenham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“1st. time in Jamaica!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

The hotel was very clean, the staff friendly. The hotel had 3 "a la carts", was able to get into 2 of them. You had too stand in line for hrs. to get a reservation, then when it was finally your turn, it was full. Not a fan of the way that worked. We first were in building 2, on ground level, right on the walk-way, moved too building 4. The last building, a little too far of a walk and on level 2, the top level. Sure got in shape that week with the walking and climbing stairs. Would not recommend to anyone with mobility problems. NO kettles, or coffee pots in any of the rooms. We were under the impression that the bar would be restocked daily, WRONG! Every other day if you were lucky. A reminder too the staff would be required. The beach was large and beautiful. It is in a bay, so the water clear and calm. Bring your floaty! The bus ride too the hotel was 1hr. and 30mins. The ride was crazy! Did an excursion to downtown Negril shopping and too Rick's Cafe. Were able to shop at 3 different areas, guided closely, and spent 2hrs. at Rick's. Watched the diving, ate some food, and had a few drinks. The clouds moved in, not much of a sunset.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,760
    1,888
    945
    406
    305
See reviews for
1,249
2,183
77
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,326)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
eau claire, wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

this was our first time at an all inclusive, as we usually like to roam on our own, but our understanding is this is the safest way in Jamaica. It was a great experience all around. I read with interest some of the reviews that criticized the food, service and entertainment. Unless you are extensive all inclusive goers, that are used to paying top price for a premium establishment, you will not be disappointed. For the price we paid, we got a clean, comfortable room with mini-bar, balcony and king bed, lots of fun activities on the beach, around the pool, staff that went above and beyond to make sure you felt included and were having fun, attentive wait staff in the restaurants and bars and food that was delicious and varied. The beef and pork were a little tough, but you are on an island and the specialty is fruit, seafood and chicken. If you stick to these options you will be pleased. The entertainment staff are phenomenal dancers and I could have watched them all night! We went into Negril and walked along 7 mile beach and were even more pleased with our location. We were able to do simple snorkeling directly off our beach and thought our beach was bigger and cleaner, with more swimmable water. Our only disappoint of the week, was the catamaran/snorkel trip to Rick's cafe. We booked it through Apple. They took us out to an area of the reef that was on the ocean side and the water was very rough. They then told us you shouldn't snorkel unless you were good swimmers. They actually had to pull 2 people in who were struggling in the water. Our 2 friends along on this vacation had never snorkeled and there was no training provided, so they opted not to do it. When we got to Ricks, we were told we would only have 30 mins there, so opted to not bother to go onshore, just watch the diving from the boat. The itinerary should have been better explained before we chose this excursion and people should have been informed about the rough water prior, so they could have rescheduled. This was not the hotels fault in anyway, but just want to warn people about this excursion.

Room Tip: buildings 1 and 2 are closest to amenities and dining, but building 4 is quieter and more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank packerfans50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Falls, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were guests at the ClubHotel 3/2 to 3/9. It was very enjoyable. Fairly low-key, found the staff to be warm and helpful. Nice mix of guests, couples, a few families, newlyweds, some springbreakers. The food was good, the weather was cooperative and the beach was very large. I was suprised by the amount of entertainment during the day from the staff. If I had any complaints they'd be the shower wasn't as clean as I'd like, wish they had toiletries (only combo shampoo/shower gel) otherwise the room was clean and spacious and very well appointed.) and the pool bar needed a really good filtering by the end of the week. Snorkling was fun and the trip on the cat to Rick's was well worth the extra $. Being on the west side of the island there will always be a breeze but I would definitely recommend this for anyone looking for a reasonably priced Caribbean vacation.

Room Tip: we were in building 2 on the east wall. some traffic noise during day but quiet at night. nice oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CBS61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a top notch resort! Very clean, family friendly, great food, great beach. Lots of fun things to do, and a feeling of safety always while on the resort or on a planned excursion! Very accommodating for planned outings into the markets and shuttles to get you there and back. Highly recommended for the vacationers who want to just kick back and reeelllaaaxxx!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband & I just got back from a week at the Riu Negril. We did the Apple 5 square Negril deal and were a bit nervous of being put at the Riu Negril based on all reviews here. Seriously, I have no idea how people can complain so much, we found NOTHING worth complaining about here. Food, room, beach, pools, grounds, activities, all spectacular. We even walked the beach and visited the other resorts on the Bay and wouldn't want to be at any of them any more than here. Great tip, be sure to get off the resort and visit town, the cliffs and 7 mile beach. BUT, walk across the street for a taxi and ask for James Clarke. He is awesome! And cheaper than taxi from hotel. We were in building 2 and it was perfect. Also, look for Donovan with his guitar singing & whistling on the beach, incredible!

Room Tip: Building 2 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ringaction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I went for an impromptu trip. We had a great time. We met many people from all over the world that were all friendly. We enjoyed the drinks and didn't feel cheaped out of it like we assumed we would feel at an "all inclusive" resort. The only not so great part was the distance it was from the airport and so it cost about $100 each way and took an hour. Other than that, we had a fantastic time. Food was only decent but the scenery was great, the sand was great, the people and service were great, the rooms were clean. We also paid $50/person to do the Catamaran trip to Rick's Cafe. The divers at Rick's Cafe are pretty obnoxious. They believe that if you watch them dive or if you even wave at them then you must pay and they don't like taking no for an answer. But all the same, I recommend the Catamaran trip for sure. It was very cool and Ricks Cafe is definitely worth seeing. All in all, if we weren't so stuck on seeing the world every chance we got, then we would definitely go back. This is from a young married couple. I was 25 and my wife 24.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jgardin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

First point: There is a review here complaining of Canadians from some Brits. I am a Brit and I found the English people on the whole Ignorant ,mostly drunk and extremely unfriendly and uninformed. Sorry but the majority of the English people that I sat next to at the bars were very "short" with the staff, and were real "moaners"

OK now I have said that ..let me give you an exact review of the RIU in March 2013..

ROOMS: Our room was ready on time and VERY clean. The walk from the lobby seems long at first, but our bags were brought up by the (very nice) ball hops. The walk is actually great--I loved walking on the site. Room is well stocked....bar fridge is replenished every two days with beer, tonic,soda water and coke and four to five red stripe beers. Also there is an array of rum vodka brandy and gin with optics so you can make cocktails in your room. The TV service is good.. sports channels and CNN and BBC world etc.

FOOD: Very good. If you cannot find something you like then maybe do not leave your own kitchen. Jerk chicken arrives at beach around noon and is also available with a "sweat" sauce. Beach bar is also stacked with nachos and cheese, pizza, swiss cheese fries..you name it. Buffet also has beer on draft that you can pour yourself. Second floor balcony has great views over the ocean.

BREAKFAST: If you're a real boozer you will find vodka and tomato juice etc set up for you.otherwise there is a good selection of eggs/poached/omelettes,bacon, etc and much fruit.Also a great station with blenders amazing fruit drinks from fresh stuff.

RESTAURANTS: There is a lot of BS in the reviews about massive lines and booking at 4 am. Plan your restaurants and talk nice to the girls. They are very accommodating. Oh, and yes the restaurant food is good..and wine is much better that the stuff at the beach bars.

BEACH: The beach is fine. Lots of chairs and close to bar and jerk chicken place. If you walk around towards sandals and Hedonism you might get more waves (watch out for horrendous nude beach on way with fat people).

POOL: I did not use the pool but wife and daughter liked it. Beach bar is not as noisy as claimed in the reviews, but obviously is used by younger crew.

ENTERTAINMENT: Maybe a weakness. Nice to sit and yack to people you have met but in my view not 5 star.

OVERALL: If you cannot enjoy this resort then you should seriously consider hanging yourself. I rate it as a very very good place. FIVE STARS.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank blackice613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
4.6 mi away
Legends Beach Hotel
Legends Beach Hotel
#37 of 84 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#18 of 84 in Negril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#14 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
0.9 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#9 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,180 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Negril

Property: ClubHotel Riu Negril
Address: Bloody Bay Beach | Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Negril
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#37 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Negril 3.5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Newly renovated in November 2015 * Located on Jamaica's west coast in Negril * Located on the beach front * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Main building and four 2-story annexes * Surrounded by 45,000 m2 / 56,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * 9 km / 5.5 Miles from Negril's West End * 7 km / 4.4 Miles from various shops * 80 km / 48 miles from Montego Bay airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Hotel Negril
Rio Negril
Riu Negril Jamaica
Riu Resort All Inclusive Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing