We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok,so I'm not a world traveler....But what a great vacation!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Negril
Ranked #26 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed at the Rio this past December(2012) for a 7 day stay with my son and his wife.
It was fantastic!!!! Again as my title states, I do not travel often,so, I do not have a lot to compare it to,but if you are lookng to relax,enjoy the sun, have a great staff to wait on you.This is a wonderful place to vacation... Food was great, staff always friendly and polite. I especially
enjoyed the snorkeling. I sometimes went 3 times a day.. will deffinatly bring along my own
mask\snorkel next time so I can go all i want!! Take a long walk along the beach,Enjoy the
local culture........Think of Minnesota with a foot of snow and ENJOY 80 degree temps!

Room Tip: 2nd block 2nd floor was perfect!!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joyce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,555)
There are newer reviews for ClubHotel Riu Negril
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,337 - 2,343 of 5,556 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

Just returned (19 Feb) from a weeks holiday at the Riu Negril.
Hotel is great, very clean, spacious room and right on the beach. There is a buffet restaurant which serves international food and is excellent - jamacian food, italian, meat and fish and the usual burgers etc. There are also three themed restaurants - Gourmet, Italian and Steakhouse - and you have to book these in advance as they are by reservation only. The queue for booking starts at 8am and is usually quite long as you can only reserve two days in advance. We tried the gourmet restaurant which was ok but nothing special - it did make a change having your meal served rather than a buffet.
The hotel is right on the excellent clean beach with calm water for swimming.
Staff are very friendly - a big hello to the singing barman who starts at 8pm in the lobby bar and is very good - as are jamacian people generally.
A trip to Ricks bar is well worth it - if you're brave enough you can join the guys there who jump off the cliff into the sea below - didn't try it as I went in the early evening but it looks well supervised - A big drop though!!!! And we did think the drinks were expensive.
It was pouring the day we arrived but the weather brightened up the following days although did tend to cloud over a bit in the afternoon - not enough to disturb the snooze on the sunbed though!!!
Entertainment at the hotel was ok but not great - although the reggae bands were excellent
All in all a great trip and we would defintley go again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dave3361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed at the Club Riu for the Reggae Marathon week, found it to be significantly cheaper than everything else offered by UK travel agents. I say this to give perspective to the review, price plays a big part.

This isn't a glistening luxurious resort. It is however perfectly adequate. We were given a room in the 1st block nearest the reception on the ground floor. Room was rough around the edges - lightbulbs gone, fading decor, knackered electrical sockets. There were several impromtu maintenance visits during the week (lightbulb inspection - yet nothing fixed). The safe didn't work a couple of times so we had to call out the duty manager. Room is also stocked with a minibar & optics, though we made more use of the soft drinks & went to the bars for cocktails.

Most important thing about the room, sleep quality. Had no issues here, slept v well for our 9 nights at the resort.

Food at the resort was good. Decent quality & a large selection at every meal. We went to the steakhouse on one evening, food was reasonable.

The resort has two pools. One with a swim up bar that is very crowded & noisy, one next to it which is much more chilled. Sadly they allow sunbeds to be reserved so people will be selfish, lay their towels down & not bother to use them all day. Beach was ok, if you can find a way to drown out the constant "Cigarettes" whining of local shillers it is pleasant.

Service at the bars was always reasonably prompt, could normally guarantee a wait if an always tipping American was in proximity! Very entertaining bar man at the main reception bar.

Hotel also seemed to be a conveyor belt for weddings & wedding parties.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Christofofofof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

we stayed there twice it was that nice rooms were great water great food great you can rent jet skies they have catamarans we went sailing it is in bloody bay nice for sailing also brought my own mask for snorkeling witch is a must i think and if you have kids it is good thing to do they do have snorkeling stuff but if you have your own you don't have to worry about bringing it back all in all almost went there again but wanted to check out other side of island

Room Tip: i like botom floor you can just walk out ther are 4 building 2 is best stayed at 2 and 4
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandisforme111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed here at the end of January 2013. After reading the reviews on the site I was expecting the worst. It was nothing like described by the reviews. It was really really nice. Beach, food, and rooms were really great. I have absolutely no complaints about the facility as it was so much better then I was expecting. Highly recommended for people on a budget.

Notes: The hotel grounds are huge. If you are in the hotel portion furthest from the food you will have a bit of a walk to your room. Also, at sundown the sand fleas come out and bite the hell out of you. Stay off the beach as the sand cools!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My family and I spent 14 nights at the RIU Negril and have no complaints about the staff. Almost everyone we encountered, including our Sunwing Rep Daniel, were very helpful and accomodating. We echo the comments from everyone commenting on the entertainment team, especially the male members who were awesome. Buffet food was plentiful, varied and ranged from good to very good. Ala carte sign up needs to be changed. One morning I stood in line for 25 minutes just to find out that the steakhouse "Shadows" was not open due to two weddings. Put up a sign and that would save many people the frustration of wasting their time.

The Management Team of the resort was everywhere; constantly walking around talking to people. On our first night at the RIU the restaurant manager approached me, introduced himself (Alberto?) and offered his services if we needed anything. The General Manager (Boss Lady) and Head Chef were always visible and was very accessible. I have been to 10 AI's in three different countries, and at the RIU Negril you got the impression that the management team and their staff really cared about what they were doing.

Too bad Negril was at least a 2 hour bus trip from Mobay or Lucea where some of the excursions were.

Don't be fooled into taking the taxi's from the resort. We merely walked outside the front gate and hailed a local "taxi" driver. Spotless, brand new vehicles driven by very friendly and informative drivers. Sonny and Honey were great and charged a fraction of the price of what the hotel's Junta driver's charged. Bonus with Sonny and Honey is that they stayed with you during your entire trip to Negril, the market, Time Square, or even the Dolphin Cove.

The following comments are not really directed towards the resort or the staff but rather those vacationing at the RIU Club Hotel. As has been mentioned previously, smoking is very prevalent everywhere except inside the restaurants. Very annoying to be watching the evening shows and have people light up right beside us. Some serious thought should be given to creating no smoking areas in the lobby, at the shows or even by one of the pools.

When did it become acceptable to be using the beach as an ashtray? There was virtually no litter on the beach except for scads of cigarette butts.

And for those who must travel with their portable sound systems? Give it a rest. Show a little courtesy for your fellow travellers who are trying to get away and relax; which is next to impossible when your little boom box is competing with the pool bar music and the entertainment team's sound system. I guess if you really wanted to get away and relax you needed to head to the far north end of the beach, by Bldg 4.

Overall we were very pleased with the RIU Negil and less pleased with our fellow visitors who were so disrespectful and selfish.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Les T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed over Valintines day. Service personel were excellent. Now pool s (2,) cant come close to being large enough to serve even 10 percent of the guests. Rooms were old an floors always dirty, food was ok same same ever day, the 3 make a reservation for were not worth making the reservation. The evening buffet (only choice) was feeding a herd of cattle, same stuff every evening. Casino has 15 slot machines (vegas rejects) and half of them worked. Want to lay by pool , get there early! Beach was ok not enough bars, and the bars push cheap booze.Spend more monet stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mick m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
4.6 mi away
Legends Beach Hotel
Legends Beach Hotel
#38 of 80 in Negril
955 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#15 of 80 in Negril
657 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
65.1 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
26.6 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#19 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Negril

Address: Bloody Bay Beach | Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Negril
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#37 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: $209 - $464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Negril 3.5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Newly renovated in November 2015 * Located on Jamaica's west coast in Negril * Located on the beach front * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Main building and four 2-story annexes * Surrounded by 45,000 m2 / 56,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * 9 km / 5.5 Miles from Negril's West End * 7 km / 4.4 Miles from various shops * 80 km / 48 miles from Montego Bay airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Hotel Negril
Rio Negril
Riu Negril Jamaica
Riu Resort All Inclusive Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing