We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bloody Bay AI”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Negril
Ranked #26 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Just back from a week at the Club Riu in Negril Jamaica. Large and well cared for AI resort that has a little for everyone. Beach - South end was busy with games and exercise classes while the North end was more private and quiet. Some fair snorkling around the corner of the North end. Some vendors along the beach, but nothing like 7 mile.
The sister Riu (Tropical Bay) is less than a mile away. The area between the propeties was a variety of vendors selling everything from hair braiding to fresh cooked lobster (a must!!!!!). I am a runner. I toyed with the idea of getting in some miles on the road, but never made it off the beach. Morning runs along the ocean were soo awesome. It's 1.3 miles from the far edge of the RIU to the end of the sand on Bloody Bar. Runs, or walks in the morning with be shaded for a large portion of your time. The shade was welcomed for a few "fuzzy" runs in the morning. Back to the resort. Staff = great Food = good/great. Speciality restaurants, food ok service very good. Drinks = great Entertainment = fair/poor Reggae night good, ideal coule funny. Be ready to do alot of walking, as this resort is spread out. If you can request a room in the first couple buildings. Second stay here, we would go back. This reasonably priced resorts allows for some time away (excursions) without feeling "guilty".

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank redstripeinhand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,558)
There are newer reviews for ClubHotel Riu Negril
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,826 - 2,832 of 5,558 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2012

We (couple with 2 children 7 and 10) from 9 nights on Jan 13/2012 and our vacation was great. Like others I was apprehensive with the negative reviews but once again( last year at Rui Tequila) they were not warranted.

Look, all the hotels/travel agencies use an over inflated star rating system. Every resort is a 4.5 or 5 star resort ......... it's marketing. Not all places are created equally but you have to balance off what you are willing to pay for and your expectations. We booked Hotel only as I had enough reward miles to fly free and our kids stayed free ..... Great Value.

Yes the beach at the Riu Palace is nicer and the couples resort a little farther down is nicer again but you are going to pay for it. As for our beach is was good but what you get in bloody bay is a great Ocean experience compared to places like Mexico. Calm warm waters make it inviting and there is an abundance of sea creaters to see at the end of the beach.

The resort is well layed out and realatively small compared to the Grand Resorts I have seen and that is better ... no golf carts needed. Rooms were clean and the bar fridge was restocked upon requeest and we always had clean towels.The one kick would be the A/C as it was OK for night sleeping but not great during the day. A friend travelling with us had a junior suite and it was beautiful. We had no bug issues nor did anybody we meet during the week. So much for the bug spray we took with us.

The buffet is good, always something to satisfy your appitite but remember it is a buffet looking to serve a 1000 quests or so daily...get over it. The alocartes were also fine and some I talked to had Great meals. Jerk chicken on the beach was awesome ... my kids loved it.

As I said last year, I feel that those that are complaining have a 5 star appitite on a 3 star budget !!!!

Now would I reccommend this resort to others ? Well that depends, friends of mine are high end travellers and love Couples Negril and are willing to pay for that resort. Not for them, however myself and others I meet looking for value ...YES.

Finally, those complining about the long ride to the resort ... do your homework ..it is what it is !!! If the distance bugs you stay in Montego Bay or open your wallet and take a private ride .... ours was just over 65 minutes.

Room Tip: Don't worry about block 3 or 4 ..... it is really not that far and the exercise is OK. No golf c...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank pdeschene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

First of all the AC in the rooms does not work. TV's are 20+ years old but reception is so bad you can't tell what your watching anyway. No clocks or alarms. Phone in our room did not work so we did not get any wake up calls. Told the front desk every day and they would smile and say they would take care of it .....never happened and that the next morning they would come knock on the door........never happened either. All our our rooms where without towels....we all reported to front desk....once again a smile and told they would take care of....again never happened...we had to run down a maid the next morning. Getting a dinner reservation at one of the restaurants was almost impossible. Guess I should have tipped her to get a reservation. Once there the steak house was a huge disapointed but Sr. Andrews was good. The food at the buffet was average at best......same thing every day every meal. We ended up getting meals off the resort and where very pleased with them!! Also the drinks where made from no name alchol......cheapest stuff out there. Bars all had a foul smell surrounding them like they where never cleaned properly. Watched them "wash" bar glasses which entailed just running them under the sink facuet....ask for plastic glasses. Entertainment was a joke.......most of the time they where just annoying. Our rooms where so far from the pools and restaurant it would have been nice to have a coffee maker in our room, even cheap hotels do this.
If you go here with the attitude that you are looking for warm temperatures and a beach and don't mind tipping everyone to get what is suppose to be part of the "deal" , ie dinner reservations, towels, etc. and you are willing to go off resort and pay for some much better meals then you might be okay with this place. They are trying to please people with quanity over quality. Our group will not return.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelerGirl410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

My girlfriend and I arrived on the 10th Jan 2012. We travelled from London.I honestly cannot fault anything! It was our first time at Riu but without a doubt will be going back. We didn't have an ocean view - If you want one you will have to call up before hand. But the grounds are all lovely surrounding the hotel that it wasn't a problem. The room was comfortable and a good size - could do with updating the décor as is a bit old fashioned but fine. The beach was out of this world, ignore all reviews saying its polluted with sea weed etc as it was white sand and clear calm water..
The entertainment was brilliant, always something going on and all the staff were so friendly and welcoming (They can get you just about anything you want!) We made lots of friends (Rayon AKA John the lifeguard) and all the bar staff were great!There is so much to do and lots of excursions to choose from but be careful not to get ripped off - we went on the 'Ride the waves' horse riding and had the price from thomson which was $65 dollars each however even at the booking spot in the lobby the lady asked for $95 each..we said we wouldn't be going unless it was $65 so she took it. The horse riding was well worth the money and only 25 mins away from the hotel (you were out for 2-3 hours). The food has a great selection and you can book to go to the restaurant instead of the buffet every night. And the jerk chicken on the beach is so tasty! Drinks are good too..appleton rum, gin, brandy and vodka on tap in your room and beers and other bevarages in the fridge! The only bad point is we left some money in our room and the cleaner took it after confronting her she gave it back and then asked for a cigarette! very cheeky but be warned just incase you leave anything around! Apart from that the place is a paradise and its good to get out of the hotel itself and see the surrounding areas eg. Ricks Cafe. We miss it already!!! Love you Riu!!

Room Tip: When we go back I would like a top floor room with an ocean view - in the 2nd or 3rd block I would s...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Well we did see 3 bugs in 2 weeks funny that being a tropical island & yes we came back one day & the maid had forgot to replace our towels BIG DEAL! a quick call & we had towels brought to our room in 5 mins.The hotel was brilliant,nice rooms fantastic food lovely staff who were polite & really friendly.The beach is great only complaint here were people reserving beds one lady had ten she was overseeing,it was ok though she allowed us to have one of them.We spoke to many brits who like us had read bad reviews about this hotel,i would like to say that they are completely unfounded or grossly exaggerated,the staff are tipped by many holidaymakers but if you don't tip you are not treated any differently we were served just as quick as those who tipped the staff,they were just as nice & helpful to us.To be honest a lot of people who were tipping staff were quite rude to them as well.
We had a brilliant holiday we met loads of wonderful people,we did not get to say goodbye to Karen & Roy who made our evenings fun, great company thanks guys! xx

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank poshfrockshaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

First off, let me tell you that my husband and I usually travel middle-of-the road, meaning that we look for value, nothing fancy required, but like cleanliness and safety. This time we were also looking for calm water and a decent beach. This place met all of our wishes and then some. Service was great, everything clean. Busy, yet, you could still find quiet. Food was great - we even learned a few things about local dishes. We're not big drinkers, but the bartenders were friendly and had plenty of ideas of tropical drinks to try. There is plenty of shade and lounges on the beach. Didn't need to get up early and save chairs. A few local vendors come through trying to sell stuff, but, just stay a little higher on the beach to avoid them, as they can only stay at the water line. Jerk chicken is served on the beach 6 days a week for lunch - it is great! Tipping is not required, but shows you respect the work they do. Phone calls to the states are expensive. I'd recommend telling the folks at home to check their emails and communicate that way. Buy an internet card from the gift shop to the left of check-in - $10 for 30 minutes. It seemed that the computer farthest from the door of the internet room was the fastest, but none were too bad. Watch any food that you leave on your tables in the open air seating, as birds will attack it as soon as you walk away. Making reservations for the specialty restaurants was a bit of a pain, but, we've experience that at EVERY all inclusive we've been too. You have your choice of three, one is a steak-house, one is Italian and the third is a fancy one (sorry-don't remember the name). Don't miss the fancy one! It's the best! Rooms are clean, but there are no elevators. The buildings are numbered from 1 to 4, with 1 being closest to the lobby, bars and restaurants. We asked for a quiet room and were surprised we ended up in building one, but it was fine. We were on the top floor (3rd) and right in the middle of the building, with even a small ocean view. All rooms have a balcony or patio. We met a couple that paid extra for ocean view and ended up in building 4. They had quite a walk everyday and regretted it. Our a/c ran a bit loud on the high setting, but we got used to it. They have an entertainment staff with activities throughout the day and a show in the evening. If you want a quiet beach, set up in front of buildings 3 or 4. Evening entertainment was good, although not necessarily child friendly. So, in summary, if you are looking for a nice place at a decent price, this is it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank higherthanme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Second visit to this riu in six months big improvement s this time ! Food good n plenty of it , drink good not top shelf but plenty of choice , free wifi , beach lovely room spotless staff fantastic , new manager pleasant and present ! Any problem is soon no problem they just can't do enough for you only problem is holiday makers behaving badly ! We had a perfect holiday and Paul the singing barman is a star xxxxx if you wana complain stay home coz here no problem enjoy !!!!! We did

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Schewayfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
4.6 mi away
Legends Beach Hotel
Legends Beach Hotel
#37 of 80 in Negril
956 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#16 of 80 in Negril
659 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
65.1 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
26.6 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#19 of 64 in Montego Bay
6,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Negril

Address: Bloody Bay Beach | Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Negril
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#37 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: $208 - $464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Negril 3.5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Newly renovated in November 2015 * Located on Jamaica's west coast in Negril * Located on the beach front * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Main building and four 2-story annexes * Surrounded by 45,000 m2 / 56,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * 9 km / 5.5 Miles from Negril's West End * 7 km / 4.4 Miles from various shops * 80 km / 48 miles from Montego Bay airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Hotel Negril
Rio Negril
Riu Negril Jamaica
Riu Resort All Inclusive Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing