We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clubhotel riu negril november 2011”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Negril
Ranked #26 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“clubhotel riu negril november 2011”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

hi, just returned from clubhotel riu in negril. Our family were mostly in their early twenties and two parents. After a 1.5 hour drive from the airport, we were surprized to come upon this beautiful modern hotel, very eye catching after our journey. The hotel is beautiful, spacious, and spotless, the staff are constantly cleaning, everything, . The rooms had free optics for drinks, and the fridge was fully stocked for beer, soft drinks etc. I was dissappointed to see, no coffee or tea facilites in the rooms, which meant a long track anywhere to get a hot drink . Being all inclusive, food was plenty, sir andrew restaurant was dissappointing, poor food, and not worth the booking. Shadows, steak restaurant was far better, but still not up to standard. If Rui are to offer restaurant quality, they need to get it right, . Shadows lunch is much better, lovely food, plenty of choice, great staff and no complaints whatso ever. The main buffet restaurant open for breakfast and dinner is by far the best, plenty of everything, tap water, so be careful, otherwise, no complaints. Entertainment was ok, the staff were friendly, worked very hard and long hours, but it so reminded us of Butlins with Red Coats. Nightly competitions were repetitive, audience participation and poor at times. The shows sometimes didnt finish until 11.or later, a resident group would play maybe 2 songs then close down for the night. The nightclub opened at 11.30 and even my family, found the music too garage type and not for dancing. Most of the guests were in the 20 -60 age range, so i suggest rui provide more music for our age range. Less time on games, more focus on dancing and singing, jamaica style would be nice. The weather was great, no rain, but the beach was dissapointing. The beach directly in front of the hotel was very poor, stones, concrete and needed more sand. The sea was dirty, but improved throughtout the week, so no complaints there. The sea was warm, lots of people selling thiings, but no problem, and felt safe. Walked along the beach to the rui palace, which was a much better beach, on bloody bay , Similar to Rui club, but better sand. Hotel offered plenty of taxis, which we felt were high, they are priced per person, not per taxi. 7 of us travelling meant high fees. Our trip was only 7 days, and we felt, it was enough. We are used to the caribbean, our favourite being Barbados, with plenty of beautiful beaches and the freedom to drive around safely. Our holiday was nice, good value for money, but sadly we wont be returning, the 10 hour flight from the uk wasnt worth the poor beach, poor entertainment and in ability to venture out without high taxi fees. On a good note, beautiful hotel, spotless, lovely staff, nice food and beautiful swimming pools. xx

Room Tip: No lifts, and some rooms are a long walk from reception and tea and coffee. Quiet, no problem with n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandra o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,780
    1,898
    959
    409
    306
See reviews for
1,269
2,197
78
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,342)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

We did the 5 Apple Square Deal through Apple Vacations, and I was told that we would most likely get this hotel. I spent months reading reviews on here, and honestly it almost made me want to change my mind. We had never been to Jamaica before and didn't really know what to expect. Now I know not to read reviews before I go anywhere, because it just makes me worry for no reason. This hotel is great.
The beach is long and the water is clear and calm. Of course there were a few days when the water was a little mucky, but that is only because the sand on the bottom was stirred up from some rough weather off shore. It's the ocean, it happens. But 5 out of 7 days the water was just like a dream. We were there from Nov 2nd - 9th and it didn't rain one day we were there. As for the guys who try to sell you stuff, a simple "no" is all it takes. I mean, it's not like they can FORCE you to buy what they are selling. And after a day or two, they leave you alone. And this beach wasn't even that bad. There are the same few people who you will see walk up and down by the water each day. The guys on the waverunners are kind of annoying because they are always out there on the water. But a simple "No thanks" works for them as well.
The rooms were nice and spacious. The AC ran great and I even had to sleep with an extra blanket since my husband loves to have it freezing cold. People were saying on here how the bed is two twin beds pushed together - well, they are only that way on the bottom. The top mattress is one big one. We were in block 2, so it wasn't a bad walk. Honestly, even if you are in the last building block it still isn't a really long walk. Maybe 5 minutes tops. The rooms were cleaned daily and the maid even makes cute towel animals on your bed with fresh flowers that they pick each morning. They always restocked the bar every 2 days as promised. Also, we always had enough towels. And if we didn't feel like grabbing one from the towel guy, we would just use the towels from the maid.
The food was great. Always something new and different to try. I loved trying the Jamaican food at the buffet. They also had theme nights, like Mexican food one night and sushi on another. As for the a la cart restaurants, we liked the steakhouse the best. The service at all the restaurants was great. They were friendly and really on top of things. We never had to wait for a long period of time to get our food or drinks.
I can't believe I was nervous going into this. This place was great and some people just can't relax and enjoy I guess. For how affordable this place is, it is awesome. We can't wait to go back!

The only reason I did not give a 5 star rating on here is because they didn't have a jacuzzi (I love jacuzzi's and was disapointed they didn't have a single one). And also the cups they give you at the bar for your drinks are tiny. Bring your own mug from home if you can!

Room Tip: Block 1 and 2 are the closest to the lobby and restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ChariseCoelho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

The drive from the airport is what it is, if you want a hotel closer, the do so, but booking this resort requires the hour plus ride. Entrance to the hotel is nice, very open and airy, only real place on the resort that has that much air flowing constantly. Our room on the far end of building 3 was 3/8ths of a mile walk to the pool, oh and while the hotel is only 3 floors high, there are no elevators. Pools were nice once there, palpas installed everywhere so limited deck space in the open, don't walk on the white pool border it is very slippery. Food was okay, breakfast is hard to do wrong, but without butter and bacon, they fell short on that 4 of the days on the trip. Lunch, was okay as well, best part for me was the jerk chicken cooked daily on the beach, AWESOME. Dinner was another story, Sir Andrew only has two seatings, while good so not to be rushed, there were 10 minutes between servings, could have been a little, but we did have a good time, long pants for men required, seemed kind of a joke when men were in jeans with sandals, why bother. Shadows "steakhouse" best meal of the week, go figure for an island beach front resort. Buffets were marginal at best, seemed to have repetative foods nightly and again no butter for the freshly warmed breads seemed odd. While we did have a good time relaxing and reading books, I would not go back to this resort, mostly because everywhere we were someone was smoking, hard to enjoy freshair when someone else doesn't care. One last note, the room temperature in our "air conditioned room" never went below 77 degress, even with the ceiling fan running.

Room Tip: Ask for building 1 or 2, and no higher than the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank golf925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

hi,
i love this hotel and this place. i spend there 2 amazing weeks with my boyfrined,where we forgot about normal grey live.
hotel - so nice, clean, close everywhere, 2 clean pools, great restaurant where food was amazing, i never eat in my life so nice bread and cheese like there,
sea-so nice and clean, quiet. u can relax on the deckchair in the water drinking cold drinks
room- big, nice, bath, clean but its a placfe where u spend less time:)
stuff- amazing helpfull,so nice friendly, people make the atmosphere so chillout, u r feeling like in heaven,
reagge everywhere, this music make u happy and positive
we spend there 2 the best weeks of our life, we met friends from usa,germany uk and all the world, except the hotel we went to the close city where we did shopping, we could touch crocodiles, see the balck river, jump to waterfull, watched on amazing sunset on ricks cafe where is lot of peole and jamaican guys are jumping from high tries to the water and have a lot of great time
we really recomend this place and this hotel coz we will back there for sure

Room Tip: all rooms are quiet but with seaview are the best one
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karolinunusia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

Our ride from the airport was long and very bumpy ride. Be preparded unless you have an easier way to get there. At check in we told them we were Riu members to see if we could get an upgrade. We were kind of blown off. After 5 hours we finally got our room and it was in building 2 by the road. Not the view we wanted. We went back up and asked for the Manager. He was busy then it was he was gone. We wanted to upgraded to teh Palace and the hotel couldn't help us. Told us to go through our Apple rep who was not any help with anything. We finally got an ocean front building 3 which had a nice view. It was closer to walk than building 2 by the road.

We were very disappointed with the beach. There wasn't any sand there. The water was very calm which was nice. The first few days very cloudy but by mid week it started to clear up and by week end water was crystal clear.

Ground and especially the pool area were dirty. We have went to other RIU's and have had a much cleaner resort. We spent a lot of time at the beach.

Food was not very good. It was always the same nothing changed. Even the restaurants were not overly good. That was when you could get a reservation. NEED MORE VARIETY. Jerk chicken hut was great but it wasn't open on Saturdays??? Don't look for anything to drink before 10. Tried to get something to drink around 9 and were told you have to wait till 10. I thought this was all inclusive??

Bring you OFF spray. We did and I used it. Of our group I was the only one who was getting the sand gnat bites.

Bartenders were great!! Paul sang a song he was awesome!! Bring your own cup for drinks they use 7oz plastic cups for drinks.

Entertainment and staff was great BUT there needs to be more. Would be nice to have music playing at the beach and pool all afternoon long.

We went for the sun and beach. We enjoyed ourselves and have a great tan!! But this will be our only trip to Jamaica.

Room Tip: 3rd building ocean front was nice and not to bad of a walk. We found building 1 to be a lot closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynchmomx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

Hotel itself is great friendly clean staff fab management rather rude and spoiling the place !!! No lobby entertainment for the middle age group (couples ) who just want to sit and chat after dinner rather than have thundering entertainment forced upon you !! Nice to have a choice with a bit of gentle singing or music . Wrote to the management (Edgar ) three times didn't even have the decency to reply !!!! Towel guys are great never got any but find you when they arrive keep the towel once you get one and swap it otherwise thi game goes on the whole holiday (palace gets them first ) entertainment work hard but again management spoil it !!! Listen to your reviews riu take notice of what your customers want let Jamaica be Jamaica hey fun going back so must be ok could be perfect big up Aaron x towel guy s catamaran crew Christine (rep) x

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Schewayfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

The Riu Club Negril is brilliant. We've stayed at the far more expensive Couples resort further down the same beach but the Riu was as good for far less money. It has a great location, great food, good entertainment, great staff.... However, two things needs to change: Firstly, the music around the pool and beach is way too noisey and not the kind of music you would want to hear in Jamaica, I felt we were in a Club 18-30 hotel poolside with the contant "boom-boom" and heavy bass and it was very annoying. Secondly, import some extra sand, the beach is "ok" but could be brilliant. Come on Riu, get these small bits right and you've got theperfect hotel.

Room Tip: Blocks 1&2 are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank topgunNorfolk_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
4.6 mi away
Legends Beach Hotel
Legends Beach Hotel
#37 of 85 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#18 of 85 in Negril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#13 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
0.9 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#9 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,215 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#8 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Negril

Property: ClubHotel Riu Negril
Address: Bloody Bay Beach | Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Negril
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#37 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Negril 3.5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Newly renovated in November 2015 * Located on Jamaica's west coast in Negril * Located on the beach front * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Main building and four 2-story annexes * Surrounded by 45,000 m2 / 56,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * 9 km / 5.5 Miles from Negril's West End * 7 km / 4.4 Miles from various shops * 80 km / 48 miles from Montego Bay airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Hotel Negril
Rio Negril
Riu Negril Jamaica
Riu Resort All Inclusive Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing