We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable and will hold some great memories”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Pineapple Beach Negril
Ranked #25 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and will hold some great memories”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We arrived in the afternoon of the 14th August and stayed for 4 nights. We booked a beach side room directly through Sandals by phone Upon arrival the room was a twin not a queen which we had booked. This was efficently resolved and moved to the block next door to an upstairs room No 42. The dinner buffet had a good choice of dishes and all well cooked and tasty. The breakfast was also good with lots of choices.
The evening entertainment was a cool reggae band but they finished their stint at 9.30 and there was to be no more entertainment until they returned the following Saturday again for only a short performance.
The staff here are helpful, cheerful, hardworking and are an asset to this place. The beach is wonderful and with the added security not much hassle from the numerous hawkers who ply their trade from the public area of the beach.
We experienced one incident which was quite disturbing. It had been raining and the steps to the upper rooms are constructed from concrete with a smooth painted finish, there are warning signs saying slippery when wet which is obvious. However this did not prevent my wife slipping and injuring herself. We feel that just having a sign there is not good enough and measures should be taken to prevent any further accidents. Angela was very helpful during this incident but I must complain about the nurse at the other Sandals resort Negril Beach. In our opinion she is rude, uncaring and was only insterested in selling us the services of the doctor at 150 dollars. Angela and all the other staff who attended my wife at the resort we great.
So Alexander, please sort these steps out before someone has a more serious injury!
Ok rant over we will return but next time have a ground floor beach side room and wish there was some more entertainment in the evening, please pay the band more so they can play longer!

Room Tip: Beach side on the ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bucksexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Grand Pineapple Beach Negril, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your review of Grand Pineapple Beach Negril. We're so happy that you had an excellent stay with us. We always strive to offer the best in both quality and service to our guests and it's great that your stay at our resort was indicative of the norm. We're surprised to hear your comments about the nurse at our sister resort, who is one of our best. However, in even the best there is sometimes room for improvement. Please accept our apologies for your experience at the nurses office not being so great. We're glad this did not get in the way of your enjoyment during your stay.

We hope to welcome you back for another wonderful stay in near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    281
    114
    36
    24
See reviews for
158
309
67
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our stay was extremely enjoyable, the food was tasty everyday and provided a good variety. Bar staff and especially Conrad were outstanding with their service and sharing their wonderful personalities. Alexander (the Manager) was also very accommodating, hearing how tired and thirsty we were upon arrival, immediately went to the bar for cold beverages for us while we checked in! Thanks Alexander!!! Small problem with the toilet in our room however they took care of it right away. The only negative is we only had jerk chicken one day of the 6 we were there and were hoping for it everyday, it's one of Jamaica's finest foods and should be available daily. Seven mile beach is worth experiencing, simply breathtaking, overall a great experience and we recommend it for budget conscious travellers. Very clean, comfy beds, great food and the drinks were outstanding! We will definitely return to this resort, this was our 2nd trip to Jamaica, first time was in Ochos Rios but we are really happy we went to this resort in Negril for our return visit. Compliments from room #64 Aug. 11 - Aug. 16/13

Room Tip: If you prefer quieter rooms we recommend the gardenside, no problems crossing the road to get to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janice Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeticiaA17, Manager at Grand Pineapple Beach Negril, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
We really appreciate you posting about your wonderful stay at Grand Pineapple Negril! Providing excellent customer service is very important to us and It is always our pleasure to serve.

Thank you for your review. We look forward to your next visit with us. Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This review is a little late, as we stayed there in June. We celebrated our 30th anniversary at the Grand Pineapple Beach Negril.

First the plusses. We really enjoyed our stay there. We stayed in the beachside cottages. We had room # 42, and it was nice and clean with a King Size Bed. The decor itself is a little dated but we didn't spend too much time in the room anyway. The staff made us feel so welcome. While we were there the GP was participating in an intern program where people were being trained for the hotel and hospitality industry. At the end of the program the graduates were certified to be able to work in any Hotel in Jamaica. What a great program!
We had such a great time meeting other guests at the hotel and enjoying the beach in Negril.

The food is buffet style, and was very good each day we were there (7 nights), although I wish they had had lobster ( it was out of season). The spa services were great, we had a couples massage. The next to last night we were there we had a romantic candle lit dinner on the beach.
We had Island routes (onsite tour company) set us up with a southcoast tour that was a blast. Security was great!

The minuses. They really need screens on the windows to keep the mosquito's out. There has to be some way of putting up screens with the shutters. If you get tired of buffet style fare you have to go to another place. Restroom by the buffet area / beach was a bit dirty. Drinks served at the bar were weak. Ask for double shots! The on property jacuzzi did not work. Would have liked to use it after our day trip.

Room Tip: The beach cottages are closer to the food area and bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 68stang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeticiaA17, Manager at Grand Pineapple Beach Negril, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We are so happy that you had a wonderful anniversary stay with us! It's an honor to share such a milestone. I'm so happy to hear that our staff was able to make your vacation so enjoyable. We always want to ensure that our guests are comfortable and entertained during their entire stay. We hope to see you again.

Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Well of course the rooms aren't the same grade as the other Sandals resorts...this is their economy cousin! HOWEVER, the beach here is far far superior to that at Sandals, so if you want to have a reasonably priced Jamaican vacation on a beautiful beach which provides good security around the clock, this is a great find! The service staff was very friendly, though I do agree that some of the front desk staff wasn't as prepared to answer questions and assist guests as they ideally could be.

We had a great week there and I would definitely go back!

Room Tip: I didn't find the beach side too noisy, though you could hear some music in the distance. Defin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bctinsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeticiaA17, Manager at Grand Pineapple Beach Negril, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review of Grand Pineapple Negril. I'm so happy that you had such a great vacation with us. Our beach is one of a kind and I'm happy you enjoyed it so much. We hope that you come back soon!

Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My experience at GPBN - From okay to Fabulous!


Check in:
My first impression -friendly staff but lack customer service skills.

Dining:
Food selection was good but could use some improvement. The staff was great specially Conrad (my fav waiter). They even got me my favorite fruit cake on the house!

Rooms:
My room was a bit small and i was surprised a fridge didnt come with the room but Mr. Pike was kind enough to provide one for free.

Housekeeping:
Need improvement - on the right track thou :).

Property
Well maintained.

Security:
The best on Negril, you feel safe around the clock~!


Beach:
Perfecto!

Beach staff:
Keyton -sports department - he is the best!


Wifi:
Again Mr. Pike offered complimentary wifi for a few days!

Overall:
Because Mr. Pike the hotel manager accommodated my requests i would go back to this hotel again. In the end, i had a great vacation with my little one! My only request is that they improve house keeping, check in and provide the same level of service to all their guests (i observed preferential treatment). Last but not least inform customers when they book that the garden view rooms are located across the street!

Thank you guys and see you in 3 months!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank apoloniae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeticiaA17, Manager at Grand Pineapple Beach Negril, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review of Grand Pineapple Negril! I'm glad you and your little one had such a fabulous vacation with us. We appreciate your feedback , it's always very important to know what our guests think. See you in 3 months!

Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We had a good time at Grand-pineapple. The resort is rather small, quite and the majority of the staff is friendly and helpful. We had issues with our rooms (no water)but thanks to the resort manager (Alexander) who resolved that after we complained directly to him and offered us a complementary upgrade. Great customer service. The beach is great, the food is good, the rooms are OK, housekeeping is good, nice entertainment ( couple of nights of live music), good activities on the beach (board, snorkel equipment and kayaks are free).
We took a boat trip to the sun set caffe where we jumped on the water from the cliffs, nice trip worth visiting!!
When you book garden view, note that it will be across the main road (the resort is split by the main road), which you have to cross with the help of the hotel staff every time you go between your room and the beach. No big deal!!
It is a bout 2 hrs drive from the airport, it depends on the transportation you take as large buses tend to stop at different resorts.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank MagedHabashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeticiaA17, Manager at Grand Pineapple Beach Negril, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your review! I'm happy to know that you had a good time at Grand Pineapple Negril. Your vacation seemed to be an amazing one and I'm glad we were able to be a part of your experience. We hope to see you and family again.

Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

If you like small, intimate and quaint, this is the place for you! The room wasn't luxurious, but I went to Negril to spend time at the beach and seeing the sights---not to hang out in my room. The room was clean and comfortable though, and we had no problems with anything with it during our stay. The beach was AWESOME, and it was so easy to lounge on it most of the day! The water was warm and crystal clear, and aside from a few aggressive locals, it was great! The dining and bar staff were excellent! I can't say enough about them! Kevin, Orane, Waynesworth, Elliot, Ricardo, Conrad, Robert, and the bar staff, Vinton, Marvette, and a couple others' whose names I don't readily recall, were FANTASTIC! I also thought that the security was excellent, and a special thanks to Chadwicke and Lloyd for their kindness, concern and attentiveness! All of the staff, from point A-Z were the best!

I found that other vacationers were also very nice, and because it's a small resort, it was easy to get to know more than a few of them. I enjoyed the buffet style food, which ranged from authentic jamaican fare to a variety of other cuisines that were well seasoned and tasty. The bar drinks were also very good, and even when I didn't know exactly what I wanted, the bar staff would make me something special and delicious!

I really enjoyed my vacation at the Grand Pineapple, and plan to make a return visit in the coming year! :-)

Room Tip: The garden side of the resort was more quiet than the beachside, but I personally prefer the beachsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Traycee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeticiaA17, Manager at Grand Pineapple Beach Negril, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review of Grand Pineapple Negril I'm glad that we were able to provide excellent service and excitement in your vacation with your friends. Our beach is one of a kind and I'm happy you enjoyed it so much. I will be sure to share your review with our General Manager and staff. They all will be happy to see your review. We hope to see you again.

Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.2 mi away
Legends Beach Hotel
Legends Beach Hotel
#35 of 85 in Negril
931 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#18 of 85 in Negril
602 reviews
0.9 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#13 of 85 in Negril
1,077 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Idle Awhile The Beach
Idle Awhile The Beach
#20 of 85 in Negril
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Pineapple Beach Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Pineapple Beach Negril

Property: Grand Pineapple Beach Negril
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Pineapple Beach Negril 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The All-inclusive Grand Pineapple Beach Resort Negril is authentically Caribbean architecture featuring gingerbread trim and bright colors in this intimate, low-key resort.The resort’s 14 multi colored cottages and Manor rooms bring back memories of Jamaica’s Old Plantation Great Houses with their spectrum of colors in over 4 acres of luscious gardens drenched in privacy, creating a peaceful retreat as far from everything as you care to be.The cottages are complimented by two blocks of manor rooms on the Beach and Garden side of the resort, each replicating the past Jamaican architectural magnificence. The Resort is moderately priced, catering to singles, couples and families alike. This quiet oasis is the essence of Negril...casual, relaxed, laidback and unhurried. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Pineapple Beach Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing