We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love, beauty, amazing staff, no where else I'd rather be.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kuyaba Hotel & Restaurant - Negril

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kuyaba Hotel & Restaurant - Negril
Ranked #42 of 88 Hotels in Negril
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love, beauty, amazing staff, no where else I'd rather be.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Just read all these negative posts about kuyaba. Not sure how anyone could say one bad thing about the place. I go there every year and its perfect. It's safe, it's clean and everyone is so helpful.
What I think is that people try and compare it to Sandles or The Ritz Carlton. U can't compare . 2 different types of paradise.
The rooms at Kuyaba are perfect . Ac, fridge if u want one, tv, hot water, a safe . And anything else u need. Not to mention, the food is the best I've had on beach.

Soo for those who are considering booking a room at kuyaba, I say DO IT. I promise u won't regret it. And ignore all those miserable travelers with negative comments :) I could go on forever about how great it is, but u need to come see for urself.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sheri_mallette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    83
    29
    27
    22
See reviews for
40
116
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

We found this hotel through Lonely Planet and knew it would be pretty basic and situated on the beach.
The LP recommendation was written in 2009 and needs updating; just like this hotel.

The rooms are crying out for some much needed care and attention, or a lick of paint and spruce up at the very least.
Some of the lights and the cd player in our room do not work, the pillows are uncomfortable and nasty and the bathroom looks a little grubby.

We have a fridge in our room at a surcharge of 5 bucks a day, plugged into the only available socket that's situated in the bathroom, so we can't fully close the bathroom door.
Does the hotel not understand the health and safety implications of having an electrical wire near water?

The only redeeming feature of this place is that the restaurant serves good food, albeit a bit pricey after all the tax and gratuities added on afterwards.

We were really disappointed to see that the hotel doesnt have a properly set-out designated sunbathing area by the beach, no umbrellas or any kind of service.
Hawkers prowl up and down this beach all day and night, acting like annoying pests.
This beach has a sketchy vibe that's bearable, but would be so much better if little changes were made, both inside the hotel and how they choose to manage it outside as well.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SianYvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I stayed in the Rustic Cottages for one night. I had booked it because it was the cheapest option i was able to find. However, they were a little too rustic for me and I asked to be upgraded to a deluxe room. I felt much more comfortable there. Housekeeping was good except for some reason on the second to last day they did not change the sheets on the bed. Otherwise, great service. The music from the places next door was very loud, but what do you expect? The hotel is right next to a bar that specializes in live music and has many well publicized big events. Its on seven mile beach and its not like they are going to cancel their shows and business because someone can't sleep. If you are really bothered by noise, then stay somewhere that is NOT on seven mile beach. The reception staff was very helpful and I loved the parrots (even if they did get a little loud at times). The grounds are beautiful and the swing on the porch was very comfortable. Paul, the security guard on the beach was very helpful and nice. The beach was beautiful. The food at the restaurant was Ok. I preferred to get patties and fruit from vendors on the beach. The guys on the road with the jerk chicken also have good food. Kuyaba also has a boat that you can book a trip on. I went to the island and had fresh grilled lobster on the beach. It was so good. I had a great stay and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: The rustic cottages are as they are named, very rustic. The deluxe rooms are nice. There is a king...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the rustic cottages for two nights. The rustic cottages cost way too much for what they are. We have never got so bug bit in our entire life while we slept. Also, it rained one night and the roof leaked on my husband while he slept. We told the staff about it during check out and they didn't seem to mind. On the other hand, it was an excellent location. We could walk to great places to eat and party. If you stay here, I would recommend getting the nicer rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OkotoksRandR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The hotel is located less than 100' on either side by two supposed nightclubs. The first problem is that the noise is so loud that the doors and the nightstand rattle. The second problem is that the noise isn't music. The noise is perpetual shouting, sirens and unearthly base vibration. Add to this car alarms which are constantly going off which leads you to the third problem: The noise didn't stop the first night until 5 am and as I am writing this just before 1am tonight, it's anyone's guess when this will stop. Finally, problem number four; when i tried to talk to the manager, I was told to wait ten minutes while she finished her dinner.
So, if you have worked hard for your money this year and have saved up for a wonderful vacation, go elsewhere

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hugh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Overall the experience was ok but at night , the club next legends resort had head banging music from 8pm - 3am!!! It was not cool because you wake groggy due to the lack of sleep over the music.. Nice grounds and but found a giant roach in our bathroom. Nice beach and locals are friendly but want something out of it also. Watch out for guys on the main road asking to exchange money for jamaican currency =they will watch you leave the cambio house and get MAD...

Room Tip: The best local food near kuyaba "3 star jamaican food " 1(876) 452-7355. THE BEST!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jahfernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDC
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Girls trip - overall it was nice. Nothing grossed me out. The rooms were clean and grounds were nice, but dark at night. I always had security walk me to my room coming in late.

Complaints - bring your own hairdryer and iron. They have 28 rooms with 2 irons to accomodate guests and hairdryers are available from the front desk. No fridge (additional cost), no phones (rent local cell phones), no luggage rack (luckily I had 2beds and improvised). The locals will hound you all day long to buy gifts and never walk alone or they'll follow you.

I never ate at the hotel, the local restaurants/vendors are good; lot of food for little $$$. There were lots of locals on the beach selling fruit, fresh juice, homemade bananna bread, sugarcanes, jerk pork, you name it you could actually have breakfast/lunch on the beach without leaving your chair. I could actually see myself visiting again. The beach was nice/clean and never crowded; we lounged from sun-up to sun-set.

Room Tip: If you're not use to stairs, ask for a lower level; stairs were steep and open - felt like a tre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SummerRain24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.7 mi away
Zanzi Beach Resort
Zanzi Beach Resort
#47 of 88 in Negril
4.5 of 5 stars 18 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pure Garden Resort
Pure Garden Resort
#41 of 88 in Negril
4.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Club
Sunrise Club
#31 of 88 in Negril
4.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Country Country Beach Cottages
0.5 mi away
Whistling Bird Resort
Whistling Bird Resort
#50 of 88 in Negril
4.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach House Condos
Beach House Condos
#5 of 50 in Negril
5.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuyaba Hotel & Restaurant - Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuyaba Hotel & Restaurant - Negril

Property: Kuyaba Hotel & Restaurant - Negril
Address: PO Box 2635, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#35 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kuyaba Hotel & Restaurant - Negril 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Negril's famous & beautiful seven mile white sand beach, Kuyaba is a family owned & operated boutique, beach hotel with a tropical island vibe that you won't find anywhere else. Set on a lush, tropical property surrounded by exotic plants, flowers & different varieties of palm trees, Kuyaba gives the true feeling of an island vacation. Kuyaba's architecture looks rustic on the outside but has a clean & modern heartbeat within the rooms offering all the comforts of home & then some. Featuring an on-property, beachside, restaurant & bar with an outstanding view of the beautiful Caribbean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kuyaba Hotel & Restaurant - Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuyaba Hotel Negril
Kuyaba Resort Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing