We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great mixture of comfort and culture.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travellers Beach Resort
Ranked #16 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2009

This resort is a great destination for those who are looking to get a complete experience of Jamaican life while enjoying their travelling. The location is only about an 8 minute from downtown and is close to other beach locations as well.
Travellers has the feel of a homey, family-run business. The owners and staff make it their mission to ensure that each guest feels at home. It's a nice feeling to be greeted by name!
The food at this resort is decent. There is a nice selection of local fare as well as familiar international dishes. Staff are friendly and personable.
The highlight of my experience here at Travellers was learning more about their community involvment through the non-profit organization they have set up called NEET. The organization focuses on edcuation and school in and around the area. It's refreshing to see a hotel (and a native Jamaican) giving back to the community that it is getting some much from!
I recommend this place if you are looking for a trip where you are able to experience the rich culture of Jamaica inside and outside of the hotel walls!

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thelearner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prestontbr, manager at Travellers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2009

Thanks for your review and for pointing out the details that make us, and especially the guest experience, unique. We as a family-run resort do strive to provide that family feel and that Travellers Beach Resort greeting to all of our guests.

I'm so glad to hear of your fascination with our non-profit organization. We are heavily involved with the community and especially in education. To date through N.E.E.T we have been instrumental in donating over 3 million books and thousands of computers to schools and libraries across this great nation. We believe strongly in fighting crime through education and the importance of ensuring that the children of Jamaica are getting the same or similar opportunities as those in other more developed countries. In effect the guest experience is enhanced and the natural hospitality of the Jamaican culture enriched. We also do encourage guests to get involved and are always looking for suggestions.

Thanks once again for your positive remarks! It's both encouraging and refreshing to hear of your appreciation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,057 - 1,063 of 1,177 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2009

Well we got there and were completely happy to see that the beach was literally at Ur feet. The beach was exceptionally well kept, we loved having food there because of the beach.The part that sucked was our room wasn't ready. After coming from New York with winter clothes on it was a bit annoying to keep them on. The ladies at the front desk were both helpful and friendly. My boyfriend and I had a wonderful time. While things are a bit run down and there's no phone ( but who needs one on vacation) We had a beautiful balcony and although the view was of roof tops it was nice to sit out there and chill. The headboard on the beds were broken but the bed worked just fine.The bar closes way to early for people who are on vacation. The restaurant staff doesn't seem all that friendly except for the a couple of people. The buffet style breakfast isn't worth the money. You should go to the little places across from Times Square mall, I think it's called Trina's Spot. Ask for Paul he and his wife are great also. Tell him the couple from Brooklyn sent you. The ackee and salt fish was slamming, the porridge slamming and made to order. Dinner is great there also. Dinner is OK at Travellers if you don't feel like leaving the hotel. I suggest you try the many spots around the hotel. Everyone was nice but the guys selling stuff on the beach are pushy and aggressive. It comes off as disrespectful. Security is great though they kept people in line and we felt totally safe. There's just some people who don't take NO for an answer. The maids kept the room nice and clean everyday, I think this hotel should update it's rooms to look as nice as the outside overall we had a great time and would definitely return. If your looking for things to do then I suggest going to one of the places a little further down the road. Nothing is going on here or around it after 12pm. Oh yeah the rum punch Ur suppose to get with dinner( don't hold Ur breath) We went horseback riding and that was great.
Be sure to change your money at the cam bio or times square mall I got a really good rate from the vendors there. The airport will get you for way less.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebelscreation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prestontbr, manager at Travellers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2009

Thank you for your review on our property. I'm glad that you can appreciate how well kept the beach is as we do our very best to maintain the beach, gardens, and the rest of the property. I do apologize sincerely for your room not being ready for you when you arrived. There are a few occasions when things get busy during massive checkouts and check-ins, but your room should have been ready for you to relax in after coming from the cold weather in New York. The headboard in that room has already been replaced, thank you for informing us about that.

We seem to get some pretty good reviews about the food here for the most part but we do encourage guests to go out and experience different places on the beach as well. We even have a few recommendations of our own. We've recently had some changes in chefs but also have recently set up a new training program in the kitchen and I believe most will be satisfied with the result of these changes.

Thanks for your recommendation about the rooms. There is some upgrading in the works for some of the rooms. We currently though have 5 different categories of rooms and do like to keep the basic rooms basic and affordable. For those looking for something a bit more luxurious we do have deluxe rooms as well as suites available. I'm really happy to know that you had a good time overall and would return. We do look forward to having you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2009

We stayed at Travellers Beach Resort, right on the beach near town. Good location, can walk into town. Hotel is very basic,clean, with friendly staff and reasonably priced.
We've stayed there in the past and felt comfortable again.
stayed from Jan18th-21st and again on the way back from Black River on the 23rd-25th.(2009)

Thank kz1661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2008

I stayed at Travellers Beach with a bunch of friends in August, and we all cant wait to go back. The atmosphere was amazing, the resort was neat and clean, the pool and jacuzzi were beautiful and relaxing and the food that is served on the beach front cafe was delicious! Aside from all of that, the staff was nothing short of amazing, they helped us every step of the way, with anything we needed, they were genuinely nice people that we all enjoyed spending our vacation with. Next time I go to Jamica, i will definitly be staying there!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JNY0283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2008

My friend and I went on a all girls retreat and stayed at this hotel. We had the best fun. The hotel itself was ok but what topped it off was the staff. They were so nice and were available for our every need. We had the best time ever there and will be going back as soon as we get get away from our busy lives. Carla and Nancy

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cgcc2028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2008

I have been traveling in and around negril, on and off, for the past 3 years. It's safe to say, I have my favorite places to stay, eat, swim, party, and meet great people. I was thrilled to find that i could get all these things in one place. TBR is the experience you've been waiting for. If you've spent anytime on the beach in negril, you know that you don't always get what you expect or what you pay for. At TBR, you get both and much, much more. With gracious, fun, and engaging staff; fabulous jamaican & american food; and a phenomenal Dance Club you get everything you need "right on property, maan".

WHEN you go, be sure to ask for the GM, Winthrope, and upon meeting him, you will immediately know you are in the right place to enjoy your stay in Jamaica!

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sbrown73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2008

I went down to Jamaica with my friends for a short vacation. From the moment we arrived at the airport until we left, we were well taken care of and every need was met. The beach and pool are beautiful and well maintained. It is a safe, quiet place to bring your family and there are alot of places nearby to go out at night if you are traveling with friends. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank KA984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
1.8 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#30 of 80 in Negril
1,379 reviews
1.3 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#43 of 80 in Negril
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#9 of 80 in Negril
1,171 reviews
1.4 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
2.5 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#5 of 80 in Negril
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Beach Resort

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril JMDWD14, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#17 Family Hotel in Negril
#25 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: $60 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travellers Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for our warm and friendly staff we here at Travellers Beach Resort aim to provide for guests and visitors to Jamaica a unique experience coupled with fulfilling memories from check in to check out. With a solid reputation for comfort, service and value we offer rooms ranging from bungalow's to suite's, catering to travelers of all types. From our beautiful serene garden to our one of a kind pool with a swim up bar, waterfall, cave grotto, and Jacuzzi. Travellers has something for everyone to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Travellers Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers Beach Hotel Negril
Travellers Beach Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing