We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travellers Beach Resort
Ranked #17 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Had such a great experience , great service, great bar the evening bartender Romeo does the best tasting blended drinks feel in love w/ The Dirty Banana ! The staff was so helpful and Super friendly, the Bar/ Restaurant over looks the beach. Also my husband & I walk up & down the beach & Travellers had the cleanest beach in front of them. Also they have free wifi through out the resort. Loved the experience loved the price we will return!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prestontbr, Manager at Travellers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thanks for your review Sandra! I'm glad to hear that you and your husband had such a wonderful time here at Travellers. Romeo sure does make the best drinks on the beach and is really dedicated to his profession of bar-tending. We may not have as big a beach as we once did, but we strive to keep it clean and hassle free. Thanks for choosing Travellers; we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

852 - 858 of 1,156 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Went there in 2007, it was wondering had to pay for the food but that was ok.other from that we relax went out for dinner or lunch was pretty romantic enjoyed myself would go again.i think it's more of a motel than a hotel

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simdob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prestontbr, Manager at Travellers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thanks for posting a review. Since your last visit we've made quite a bit of changes including the refurbishment of our restaurant, gym, many of our rooms, expanded the high speed wireless to cover the entire property, and have revamped our spa services. We've also added a number of entertainment nights, which include karaoke, reggae jazz band, bonfire and a managers cocktail party. I'm glad you found your experience to be great and that you got what you paid for. We look forward to you visiting again to see some of the changes we're making.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I have been dreaming about this place for years. Right on one of the most beautiful beaches I have EVER seen, with staff that make you feel like family and the most beautiful relaxing vibes. It is hard to put into words how amazing you feel waking up in this place, wandering over to the restaurant overlooking the beach and eating some of the fresh cooked food, then practically floating around for the day with reggae music playing softly in the background...its the perfect vacation spot for family, friends, couples - anybody who wants to love life! And one of the most amazing things...all this is actually at a really affordable price! I'm going back as soon as I possibly can!

Room Tip: Honestly I can't imagine that any of the rooms are not nice, but if there is anything you are no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linzi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prestontbr, Manager at Travellers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you for choosing Travellers and for your lovely review of our resort. It's amazing that seemingly every review mentions the warmth and friendliness of the great staff that we have here. It's encouraging to see the consistency of the team as it relates to hospitality. We will continue to work toward providing this experience for all guests and will persist with upgrades / additions to the property to ensure our facilities and amenities match the level of service our staff consistently delivers. I'm happy to hear that you'll be back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I highly recommend Travellers Beach Resort.
Staff were incredibly helpful and friendly.
Rooms very clean and spacious.
Restaurant and bar overlook the beautiful sea and the menu is varied with vegetarian options, yeah!
Staff were always looking after your best interests, booked great excursions for us at a good price.
Across the road from a Yoga studio.
Nights at Travellers were also such fun, Live band and Karaoke!!
Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RachelClare333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prestontbr, Manager at Travellers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thanks for your review Rachel! I'm happy to hear that you found the staff to be helpful and friendly and the rooms to be clean and spacious. I'm glad that as a vegetarian you were satisfied with the variety of dishes that were available to you on our menu.

Our assortment of entertainment is growing based on guest feedback. In addition to the live reggae/jazz band and karaoke, we've added a bon-fire night on Mondays and a managers cocktail party on Wednesdays. Thanks for choosing Travellers and we hope to see you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Last week, it was downright refreshing to try a semi-inclusive resort, for a change. This typically Jamaican hotel is not a huge marble palace, but you ARE treated like ROYALTY. Every single employee is so friendly & VERY service-oriented. Tips are most appreciated, but not expected.

After the top-notch service, their made-to-order meals rank up with the BEST in Negril, especially the moderately priced curried chicken, garlic shrimp, & red snapper. Our lodging included all breakfasts, which were chosen right off an extensive menu, & freshly cooked. It was always very pleasurable, to pass our wait time with that enchanting view of Negril Bay, & their fine coffee, teas, or wide variety of yummy drinks. Romeo blends the BEST pina colada in the whole Caribbean,- it's all about that Jamaican rum, the PINEAPPLE, & only a touch of coconut cream!

The deck restaurant is skirted by their shallow beachfront, so you feel like you're on a ship, hearing the waves lap & boats purr by. Hotel security make sure that local sellers don't annoy their sun-bathers or dining/bar customers. OF COURSE, the ocean swimming is beyond words!

Their colourful pool area is behind the restaurant, facing well-groomed lawns & gardens. These are flanked by their 60 rooms, of which none are seaview (but only steps from the beach). We enjoyed our cute porch (balconies upstairs), with ample deck table & folding chairs.....always a sunny greeting from staff or clients walking by. It really felt like FAMILY, in an idyllic setting!

Past the rooms are the spacious front lobby, admin offices, & supervised parking/road entry. I hope they will someday open a tiny shop in this area, for basics like snacks & shampoo......or at least have an ice machine, for drinks after the bar closes.

Kirk runs a busy dive program, with certification if that's your bag. Then there's Pool & Ping-Pong (cement table=FAST!), which are even lit up at night! We were both pampered at their small, reasonably priced spa......where a massage is NOT just a tickle, & nails are done to LAST.

Evening entertainment varied from 2 fun Karaoke nights, a Bonfire/Reggae night, a Meet the Wellingtons cocktail party, & their latest addition, a great Jazz/Blues group on Sat night. We truly enjoyed EVERYONE'S talent, & the relaxed atmosphere among tourists, regular locals, & staff.

The hotel is very central, near the bridge/traffic circle. We easily walked down a good stretch of the beach road, & up to the main grocery store in town,- so interesting! Unfortunately, we never made it to the cliffs, a short taxi-ride away. Next time!

Brady safely drove us a couple hours inland, stopping shortly at Mayfield Falls. Seeing more of the lush countryside & mixing with the local folks are what we now prefer, over hiding away in all-inclusive hotel. Travellers Beach Resort is very conducive to that sort of vacation, along with all the relaxing you may crave.
We'll definitely be back soon, to reunite with their amazing staff, & see the coming renovations.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank raving60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prestontbr, Manager at Travellers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thanks for your wonderfully in-depth review of Travellers. I'm delighted to know that you were treated like royalty during your stay. We take pride in creating that personal experience for our guests; aiming to ensure that everyone feels right at home when they visit our resort and Jamaica in general. I'm also happy to hear that you rank our food amongst the best in Negril. We try to offer a wide variety of both local and international dishes to satisfy different tastes.

Your suggestion for opening a small shop for basic items is a great idea that has been in discussion for sometime now. Hopefully on your next visit we'll have something in place to address that concern.

Thank you once again for your review and for your feedback. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This was my second trip to Negril, and this time I decided to try Travelers. I was told about the resort and the Wellington family on my first trip. They came highly recommended by locals I spoke with. I came in March 2013 and stayed for 7 amazing days and nights. The entire staff was so friendly and accommodating. This is by no means a 4 or 5 star resort, but I would give the staff 5 stars without hesitation. Perfectly situated along the beach, very close to town for any groceries you might need. Karaoke on Fridays and Sundays are a blast. Their breakfast is the best I've had on the beach. By the 2nd day I knew all the restuarant and bar staff by name and they knew mine. I was traveling alone, so it really made me feel at home. I already reserved a room for May. This is now my home away from home and the prefect place to unwind and let go of all the stresses from home and work. Can't wait to see you all in May!

Room Tip: Some second floor rooms have a really nice ocean view. Just ask at the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
6  Thank Jesse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prestontbr, Manager at Travellers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thanks for your review Jesse and for choosing to stay here at Travellers for your second trip. I'm pleased to hear that you booked us because of recommendations by locals and that you enjoyed your stay. Our aim as always is to ensure everyone has an equally enjoyable experience. While we're not a 4 or 5 star resort we look to provide a 5 star experience through the personal service and genuine warmth and friendliness of the amazing staff we have here. I'm delighted to hear that you've already booked your next trip, and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We landed at Travellers Beach Resort by accident because the hotel we booked nearby was not what we expected. We were so lucky to book a room last minute. The Travellers' staff, owners, and beautiful atmosphere set the tone for an unforgettable trip. Starting with the the owners (The Wellington's) who went above and beyond to ensure we made the most of our time, not only on the Resort, but also around Negril. Their recommendations helped us create a fun filled itinerary for our bachelorette trip which included snorkeling, yoga, horseback riding, waterfalls, cliff jumping, karaoke on the beach (which was so nice we did it twice), as well as an amazing nightclub adventure to celebrate our bride to be. These brothers are so cool and dedicated to each guest, they really made our trip extra special.

The Wellington's great vibes and friendliness trickle down to the staff who treated us like family from the time we checked in. The Travellers' staff was incredibly helpful and sweet. They got to know us well because we ate at the Resort restaurant for breakfast, lunch, and dinner almost everyday of our trip. The food was amazing and very reasonably priced. The bar / restaurant was located right on the beach, so we could relax and lay out in the sun, knowing a cool drink or a delicious snack was only a few feet away.

The beautiful resort was the perfect backdrop for our stay. From the beach to the pool, to the lovely rooms and the wonderful staff, everything exceeded our expectations leaving us free to enjoy our trip. We are four women who live in New York City and none of us had a complaint when we checked out, except that we were leaving. We woke up everyday excited to be in Jamaica and so happy that we accidentally stumbled upon Travellers Beach resort. I recommend this Resort without reservation!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Santi_Fields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prestontbr, Manager at Travellers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thanks for your great review. I'm happy to know that although you landed at Travellers by accident we were able to help provide a great experience for you all. It was really a pleasure to have you all here for your groups bachelorette trip. It sounds like you got to experience quite a bit in the time you were here. I'm pleased that you found the staff and food to be amazing. I'll be sure to share this with the team. Thanks for recommending us and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
1.3 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#42 of 80 in Negril
522 reviews
1.8 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#29 of 80 in Negril
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#16 of 80 in Negril
663 reviews
1.1 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#11 of 80 in Negril
1,150 reviews
1.4 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Beach Resort

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril JMDWD14, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#17 Family Hotel in Negril
#25 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: $57 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travellers Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for our warm and friendly staff we here at Travellers Beach Resort aim to provide for guests and visitors to Jamaica a unique experience coupled with fulfilling memories from check in to check out. With a solid reputation for comfort, service and value we offer rooms ranging from bungalow's to suite's, catering to travelers of all types. From our beautiful serene garden to our one of a kind pool with a swim up bar, waterfall, cave grotto, and Jacuzzi. Travellers has something for everyone to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Travellers Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers Beach Hotel Negril
Travellers Beach Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing