We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“January 2013 at Travelers - fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travellers Beach Resort
Ranked #16 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2013

the staff could not be more helpful and kind. rooms were clean, water hot, and wow even had cable tv, and internet.

the grounds are lush, with local vegetation. the bar (with ricky and romeo) was fun and relaxed, with sunsets just as wonderful as traveling to the cliffs.

when we were there the management held a cocktail party with great appetizers and run punch. the owner spoke to each of the guests with a heartfelt greeting, and appreciation for choosing travelers for our vacation stay.

i will be back as soon as i can!

Room Tip: there are rooms with kitchens available, which is nice since you can buy fresh veggies in sandy bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prestontbr, Manager at Travellers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thanks for your review Mandy! I'm glad you found our staff to be accommodating and that you enjoyed your stay with us. The managers cocktail party really gives us a chance to get to know our guest and show our appreciation to you for choosing to stay here. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

925 - 931 of 1,192 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed at Travellers for 2 nights as we were attending a wedding at a nearby hotel. I would describe this as a budget hotel - you get what you pay for so don't expect too much. The rooms are certainly not luxurious; however, they are clean and all the necessities are provided - AC, cable TV, towels, soap, mirror. There is also an outside area for each room which is nice to relax in, if you don't want to go to the beach. I would recommend this hotel to people that plan to spend most of their time outside of the room. If you are a person that likes to relax in comfort inside your hotel room this is probably not the place for you. This is a hotel just to rest your head at night.

I was impressed with the entertainment. Although we stayed during the low season they still made an effort - there was Karaoke on the Friday night and a live Jazz band and singer on the Saturday night. The food was also great - we tried the Jamaican breakfast which was really nice and also had some food at the bar during the evening which was also great. There is also a large pool. There is also a function room and we were very lucky to attend a party at the hotel on Saturday night - so we packed a lot into the 2 days we spent. I should of course not forget to mention that the hotel is on the beach - which is the reason most people go to Negril. There is also free wifi which is useful and a large reception

The hotel is located on Norman Manley Boulevard, which is a long, long stretch of road with hotels all along one side. There are food outlets and bars and shops along the other side. I would recommend visiting 'Times Square' also on Norman Manley Boulevard -it has a lot of nice tourist shops and duty free shops.

Negril is very quiet during the low season; however, we were told that the summer is when Negril gets really really croweded and lively.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Halfwaytr33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prestontbr, Manager at Travellers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thanks for your review! Although you only spent 2 nights with us it seems you got to experience quite a bit in a short time. We have stepped up the entertainment for our guests this year to include karaoke on Fridays and Sundays, live jazz on Saturdays, managers cocktail party on Wednesdays, and bonfires on Mondays. We're pleased at how well it's going and that our guests are enjoying the changes that we're making. Thanks for taking the time to write about your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed at Travellers for 5 nights in early January. We were looking for something affordable but clean hotel. We chose the superior room over the standard for the safe in the room. I was disappointed when checking in it was an additional $5 per night to use the safe. Overall we enjoyed our room, it wasn't noisy since we were towards the front of the hotel and loved having a balcony. We didn't use the hotel bar as we got cheaper beer a short walk away and got to meet more local people. Fatty's Restaurant across the street has amazing food for a cheap prize. There was a patties place at Sunrise (i believe that was the name) that was awesome. Travellers is also only a short 5-10 minutes into town where you can walk around. It costs only 100 Jamaican per person to get a taxi up to Rick's Cafe. Overall I would recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jodie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prestontbr, Manager at Travellers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you for your review Jodie and for choosing Travellers Beach Resort. We are in the process of transitioning to electronic safes for all rooms in which case we wouldn't charge an additional fee. I apologize for that inconvenience while you were here, but hopefully on your next visit you will not have to worry about that. I'm glad that you had a good stay overall and look forward to having you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed at traveler's in Negril for a week this January. The place was simple, nothing fancy. This family owned resort is comfortable, the location is great, and the staff were extremely friendly, helpful and attentive. The hotel has a great bar right on the water and has the best karaoke in town on Friday and Sunday nights. Definitely a great value for the money. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for simple accommodations in Negril and will definitely stay there again especially because they offer a 25% discount for returning guests making this gem an even better value.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nmezhebovs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prestontbr, Manager at Travellers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thanks for choosing to spend your week in Negril at Travellers. I'm glad that you enjoyed karaoke on Friday and Sunday. It's not for everyone but it is certainly a blast for those that enjoy karaoke. We also have Jazz nights now on Saturdays and a managers cocktail on Wednesdays. Yes we always take care of our repeat guests with a favorable discount as a token of our appreciation. We hope to have you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We just returned from a week stay at Travellers Beach Resort, and absolutely fell in love with the place. Our rooms were clean and tidy everyday, the maids did a great job of cleaning up our sandy mess! All the staff was very helpful and welcoming. The location is amazing, walking distance from the city of Negril and Times Square which has a ATM, very helpful for me! The whole resort is beautiful, including the pool, restaurant and bar area. Travellers was the perfect place for us, and we can't wait to come back.. we wouldnt choose any other place! Our new home away from home!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prestontbr, Manager at Travellers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Hi Ashely! Thanks for your review. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that this is your new home away from home. We will continue to do our best to ensure every visitor has the same experience that you did and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Just got back from staying a week at travellers beach resort. Great place to stay on my first trip to Negril- will be going back to travellers for sure! Awesome helpful super friendly staff, great bar and restaurant, beautiful pool and landscaping, also excellent security staff. Overall a great experience for a bargain price. Way better than the ridiculous all-inclusive places- we actually got to experience the culture. Come to travellers for a fantastic Jamaican experience!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AKG82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prestontbr, Manager at Travellers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thanks for your review and for choosing to stay here at Travellers Beach Resort. It's great to know that your first trip to Negril was a memorable one and that you will be back! Our staff here are indeed truly special, friendly, and genuine people. I will be sure to share your review with them. It is certainly a much different experience than the all-inclusives, so thank you for your recommendation. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this nice, comfortable place.Staff is very helpful.Food was great. This is neat and clean place. Walking distance from center of city. All important activities were near by. Wifi was great..

Room Tip: For karaoke lovers there are two nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mma200us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prestontbr, Manager at Travellers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thanks for making it Travellers. I'm pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay here from the food to the staff. We've been getting a lot of good feedback about the free WiFi in all of the rooms, a great addition to our services. We hope to see you back here soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
1.8 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#32 of 80 in Negril
1,383 reviews
1.3 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#18 of 80 in Negril
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
1.2 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#9 of 80 in Negril
1,184 reviews
1.2 mi away
Firefly Beach Cottages
Firefly Beach Cottages
#38 of 80 in Negril
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Beach Resort

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril JMDWD14, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#10 Family Hotel in Negril
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#25 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: $55 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Travellers Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for our warm and friendly staff we here at Travellers Beach Resort aim to provide for guests and visitors to Jamaica a unique experience coupled with fulfilling memories from check in to check out. With a solid reputation for comfort, service and value we offer rooms ranging from bungalow's to suite's, catering to travelers of all types. From our beautiful serene garden to our one of a kind pool with a swim up bar, waterfall, cave grotto, and Jacuzzi. Travellers has something for everyone to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Travellers Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers Beach Hotel Negril
Travellers Beach Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing