We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt great to be home again to our favorite place in Negril”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Negril
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nirvana on the Beach
Ranked #15 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
san antonio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Felt great to be home again to our favorite place in Negril”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This was our 4th stay at Nirvana, all in the Owner's villa. We booked kinda late, so had to stay at Country Country the first 4 nights of our trip. Although a decent place, we couldn't wait to get back to Nirvana. It's really starting to feel like home. The staff is so welcoming, the grounds so peaceful.
I can't see how you can beat the view from the deck of the villa.
Worked great again having the ladies cook us breakfast every morning.
Even our driver, who had never seen Nirvana, said we had the best spot he'd seen on the beach.
The beach resorts with a beach this nice are far and few between.
Will definitely be back again!

Room Tip: Beachfront suites have amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saeyedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nirvananegril, Owner at Nirvana on the Beach, responded to this review, April 16, 2017
Nirvana takes great pride that we are so well-maintained, clean and served by a friendly,
helpful staff who will take care of everything for you.

If you are expecting a luxurious resort, this is not the place to come.

However, if you want an unpretentious beachfront paradise, this is it!

Nirvana is a unique property, the last great authentic Jamaican vacation rental experience on Negril Beach... with only 13 rentals on our 2 acre property in the CENTER of Negril beach.

We know you come to Negril for the BEACH life & to meet the colorful local people who make it such a special spot.

Whenever you want to return & we all have a warm welcome waiting for you.

Lonnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    111
    15
    12
    10
See reviews for
195
297
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We arrived at Nirvana Monday Jan 6. We are still here for another few days and are finally experiencing what is the bliss of this beautiful place.
We had decided to book here because of the fabulous reviews from a few different folks we know who have stayed here and raved about its quiet blissful grounds, and non-resort like feel which is exactly what we wanted.
The first morning we awoke to the obnoxiously loud sounds of our neighbors in the suite next to us talking SO loud banging dishes around yelling arguing - everything you would imagine you DON'T want to be woken up to on your first day of vacation. We made ourselves some breakfast and went to the middle common area to enjoy it and no sooner than we sat down one of the women in the noisy group came right out -sat right across from us and continued to have a screaming argumentwith someone on her cell phone arrrrgh!!! We removed ourselves and honestly brushed that off as we hadjust got there and the hustle and bustle of reality was still in us- we had no idea what was in store for us with these neighbors.
Im going to point out here the "good" point and it is that they were not partying THANK GOD -they want to bed at a reasonable time and awoke at reasonable time - but seriously So loud - obnoxious- like the people you wish SO bad you could ignore but can't. This stretched to the beach as well, they parked themselves right smack in the middle talking so loud you couldn't not hear their every conversation.
I think ive made my point here - I could go on and on about the blatant rude, disrespect, complete disregard for others comfort and peace these people had. My main point here is that they dont belong at Nirvana. They left yesterday and my Fiance and I are now experiencing absolute BLISS!!!!
This place really is Nirvana!! Thank goodness we have a few days to really experience it- hearing the birds chirping in the morning is what we came to hear- certainly not loud family's drama.
To the people who stayed in suite 4- next time book a private villa where you can be as loud and obnoxious as you want - stay away from Nirvana.

Room Tip: Book the room on the beach for best experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We have been to Negril many times after family visits to Kingston. But this was our first time at Nirvana. We usually stay at slightly cheaper places which were all booked up 6 months ago. Retrospectively, we are very happy that we ended up in Nirvana. We staid in the lower verandah suite, directly on the beach. It was gorgeous, very comfortable and big enough for the 3 of us. My partner likes to cook, and was disappointed that we had not been able to book a full- fledged self- catering place. But the small kitchen in our suite turned out to be great and produced a number of delicious meals (well, with the help of my husband!). While the interior was spacious enough and comfortable, the outside was just amazing. We were directly looking out on the beach and the sea, and the lovely palm trees. The other guests were all very nice and friendly. Another aspect that makes Nirvana really stand out is its staff. Everyone was very welcoming and helpful, but also full of dignity and respect. A week at Nirvana was extremely relaxing for all of us. We would have loved to stay longer, and hope to come again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NadjeandMark2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maritimes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This was my 4th stay at Nirvana and as a special treat, my mother accompanied me. It was my first time staying in Negril during the "winter" months but I must say, December was/is a wonderful time to go. Although I mostly sit in the shade of the palm trees, and Nirvana has plenty of shade, I was able to lie out in the direct sun in the late afternoon.
As always the staff took great care of us and went above and beyond in the care of my mother. Always friendly, always smiling and always cheerful.
The property is freshly painted, spruced up and ready for another busy season.
If you want a peaceful, quaint, and quiet spot to play in the sand and sea, Nirvana is for you. Centrally located you are never far from anything your heart desires so ask away!
I will be returning to Nirvana in March 2014 for our annual spring vacation but I think I may make a December vacation an annual event too! Thank you everyone from Nirvana for making our stay as wonderful as always.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LadyJaneMaritimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nirvananegril, Owner at Nirvana on the Beach, responded to this review, April 16, 2017
Nirvana takes great pride that we are so well-maintained, clean and served by a friendly,
helpful staff who will take care of everything for you.

If you are expecting a luxurious resort, this is not the place to come.

However, if you want an unpretentious beachfront paradise, this is it!

Nirvana is a unique property, the last great authentic Jamaican vacation rental experience on Negril Beach... with only 13 rentals on our 2 acre property in the CENTER of Negril beach.

We know you come to Negril for the BEACH life & to meet the colorful local people who make it such a special spot.

Whenever you want to return & we all have a warm welcome waiting for you.

Lonnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We booked here because of the great reviews we read on trip advisor, and other sites. The reviews were accurate - we had an excellent stay at Nirvana, and it is, exactly as advertised.

We do not like the big mega resorts with lunch buffets, crowds and pools etc…. (we have tried them) - Nirvana was prefect for us.

Leon met us at the Montego Bay airport and gave us a ride to Nirvana, he took very good care of us coming/going and on a couple of day trips away from 7 mile beach.

We stayed in the owners villa and it was clean, spacious, comfortable, and just a few steps from the beach. Lynn and her assistants made us dinner twice and it was excellent both times - next year we hope to try more of her cooking! They also accommodated us by cleaning when it was convenient for us, which we appreciated.

We spent a lot of time on the beach and were impressed with Shine and Errol's watchful eyes on our kids safety - also very much appreciated. They also gave us sound advice on how things worked in Jamaica, knowing this was our first visit. We did not have any issues with the beach vendors - they backed off with a firm "no thank you" on the very few times their products were not wanted. Our kids had a lot of fun with the beach toys on hand at Nirvana.

Thanks to all the staff, and we will be coming back next year for a longer visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

We visited Nirvana last February and immediately booked a second visit for this February. Due to a medical emergency we had to reschedule our trip. Lonnie went out of her way to work with me and find new dates for us. She was genuinely concerned and incredibly easy to talk to and sooo helpful. There are plenty of reviews for other places that lack in customer service or care for their guests. Nirvana is the total opposite. The people on staff and the owners are incredible people. Thank you so much Lonnie for all your help and we can't wait to get back to your piece of paradise in Negril this April!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nirvananegril, Owner at Nirvana on the Beach, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thanks for your wonderful letter & we hope that you are doing much better & will soon be well enough to come back to Nirvana for the healing environment of Negril & the best fruits & Veggies the staff will cook for you to heal even more quickly.

We hope you are feeling better each day & we look forward to your return soon.

At Nirvana we will take care of your every need & make sure you get to enjoy the sun & sand of our wonderful place on Negril Beach where everything you need is just a short walk away from Nirvana.

Take care & heal soon, LONNIE, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

My husband and I have visited Negril more times than we can count. We usually try to split our time between the beach and the cliffs. We stayed at Nirvana for the 3rd time recently for 6 nights. Again, we had a magical experience. The staff was wonderful, the room was clean and comfortable and of course, the beach was grand! We cannot say a bad word about Nirvana. We will be back :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harts4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nirvananegril, Owner at Nirvana on the Beach, responded to this review, April 16, 2017
Nirvana takes great pride that we are so well-maintained, clean and served by a friendly,
helpful staff who will take care of everything for you.

If you are expecting a luxurious resort, this is not the place to come.

However, if you want an unpretentious beachfront paradise, this is it!

Nirvana is a unique property, the last great authentic Jamaican vacation rental experience on Negril Beach... with only 13 rentals on our 2 acre property in the CENTER of Negril beach.

We know you come to Negril for the BEACH life & to meet the colorful local people who make it such a special spot.

Whenever you want to return & we all have a warm welcome waiting for you.

Lonnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.1 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
4.0 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 80 in Negril
215 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#5 of 80 in Negril
997 reviews
0.4 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
3.0 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 80 in Negril
4,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirvana on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirvana on the Beach

Property: Nirvana on the Beach
Address: Norman Manley Blvd | JAMAICA, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Negril
#5 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located directly on Negril Beach,JAMAICA... Nirvana is not just another hotel, it is a special place where guests have space in an intimate & unique beachfront property with that famous old-style Negril ambiance, privacy & security making it the perfect choice for couples, singles, families or groups who have been searching for a special NEGRIL laid back un-commercial JAMAICAN beachfront vacation. We are a terrific value, you can rent one unit, several units or the whole property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nirvana On The Beach Hotel Negril
Nirvana On The Beach Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing