We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third Time's a Charm!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Negril
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nirvana on the Beach
Ranked #15 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Third Time's a Charm!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed at Nirvana for the third time this past June...hubby and I went to Negril for an anniversary long-weekend getaway. This time we stayed in the spacious upper level Verandah Suite.

The rooms at Nirvana are rustic as opposed to modern, but well-appointed. The bed was comfortable and the bath towels soft. This Verandah Suite has both an a-c and a ceiling fan. There is a full bathroom indoors, but this room also has an outdoor shower, a nice feature. The kitchenette is stocked with basic appliances and accessories one might need.

The view from the room is quite nice, as Verandah suites are closest to the beach. You can watch the sunset from the privacy of your verandah.

The staff at Nirvana is amazing, as most other reviewers have noted,...exceptionally hospitable...Zimroy, Sandra, Shine, Moses, Errol, the ladies...all are very special people, committed to making sure Nirvana guests are taken care of.

The grounds are immaculate.

Nirvana is well-located on the beach, just walk in either direction to find breakfast, lunch, dinner, for cocktails, a little shopping, to hear live music, to people-watch or to watch the sun set.

Nirvana also has a great beachfront, with plenty of room for its guests to lounge in the sun (or shade).

Breezy drove us everywhere we wanted to go: Blue Hole Mineral Spring, Jackie's on the Reef, Juicy Patty, and 3 Dives for jerk, are some of the places I can recall. We took the free shuttle (call them to pick you up) to see the Sea Star Drummers on Saturday night.

I love Jamaica...I'm there at least once each year (Jackie's on the Reef). When I stay on the beach, Nirvana is my first choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dana119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    111
    15
    12
    10
See reviews for
195
297
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Old Bridge, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed in cabin #4 for a week in the beginning of July. Two adults and two kids have plenty of room there. We knew this cabin didn't have A/C but after reading all the reviews it sounded like it would be OK. Well, July is part of the rainy season and it is HUMID as heck. Our beach towels, clothing, etc. always felt wet. I'm sure if I went in Nov., not having A/C would not be an issue. If you go in the summer book something on this property with A/C. This cabin could use some updating. Although the ladies do a super job of cleaning the tile in the bathroom and kitchen looks dirty which is not what you want to see when you check into a place. It would be nice to have the following in the cabin when you check in: a box of tissues in the bathroom, a roll of paper towels and a sponge in the kitchen (pretty standard for this type of accommodation). There was an issue with the dog on the property next door but the staff did their best to take care of that problem. With those few negatives out of the way the following is what makes Nirvana worth returning to. The staff is above and beyond excellent. Zemroy, Sandra, Lynn and the other ladies, Shine, Erroll, Moses....they make you feel like you've known them forever and go out of their way to make your stay the best it can be. The property itself is a perfect location. Nice, roomy beachfront so you're not on top of one another like on other properties. Accommodates both sun worshipers and shade lovers. Beautiful gardens, hammocks, hut with floats and toys for kids, kayaks. Whether you go right or the left on the beach you can find a wide variety of cuisine. Roadside, the same deal. Our heartfelt thanks to all of you in Nirvana for making our stay memorable. Sandra, we missed being able to say goodbye. You are definitely the go-to gal and you rule!!!! We will definitely return to see if this diamond can be made to shine.

Room Tip: If you go in the rainy season/summer months go for accommodations with A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was our fourth time visiting Nirvana and it was our best vacation ever! Part of me wants to keep it all to myself, but I care about the success of the place (so I can keep going back!) so here I am sharing with the world! We used to do the all-inclusive, but 1) you are not eating and drinking so much to make up for the price 2) you don't get to experience the local food-- you are experiencing the tourist version of local food and 3) (most importantly!!!) you don't get to know the PEOPLE or CULTURE of Jamaica closed up in the walls of a resort! Go to Nirvana, leave your cares behind, and experience Jamaica at its best.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank E G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nirvananegril, Owner at Nirvana on the Beach, responded to this review, April 16, 2017
Nirvana takes great pride that we are so well-maintained, clean and served by a friendly,
helpful staff who will take care of everything for you.

If you are expecting a luxurious resort, this is not the place to come.

However, if you want an unpretentious beachfront paradise, this is it!

Nirvana is a unique property, the last great authentic Jamaican vacation rental experience on Negril Beach... with only 13 rentals on our 2 acre property in the CENTER of Negril beach.

We know you come to Negril for the BEACH life & to meet the colorful local people who make it such a special spot.

Whenever you want to return & we all have a warm welcome waiting for you.

Lonnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We just returned from a second stay at Nirvana. We enjoyed our February visit so much, we returned for a June birthday celebration. All the things that matter to us are first rate at Nirvana -- incredibly warm and helpful staff, beautiful beach, a cool, breezy cottage, comfortable beds, and a really relaxing home away from home.

Room Tip: We like cottage #4 because it's in the shady garden but with a direct view of the beach. Even i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marge T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nirvananegril, Owner at Nirvana on the Beach, responded to this review, April 16, 2017
Nirvana takes great pride that we are so well-maintained, clean and served by a friendly,
helpful staff who will take care of everything for you.

If you are expecting a luxurious resort, this is not the place to come.

However, if you want an unpretentious beachfront paradise, this is it!

Nirvana is a unique property, the last great authentic Jamaican vacation rental experience on Negril Beach... with only 13 rentals on our 2 acre property in the CENTER of Negril beach.

We know you come to Negril for the BEACH life & to meet the colorful local people who make it such a special spot.

Whenever you want to return & we all have a warm welcome waiting for you.

Lonnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

A great place to stay for your vacation. We were in the Owners Villa and had a beautiful front row view of the sunsets. The beach area is groomed daily and the property is well maintained from a hard working bunch of groundskeepers.
The housekeeping is quick and very trustworthy and they did a great job each day with our room.
If you plan on doing any watersports, talk with Sandra or mention it to the security on site. They know the best ones to use. As an example, we were invited from another couple to go snorkelling. The boat took us to one area but we fond out after the area he took us to was closer and less exciting. Still nice, but not as filled with activity. Go snorkelling near the islands, not the bouys by the reef.

Security was always present and available on the beach, and they take great pride at their posts.

Food is abundant along the beach, some good some not so good. Check out Best in the West for Jerk chicken and a great outdoor hut atmosphere, or stick the the Jerkman outside the gate of the compound as he has one of the best flavors.

On the beach keep an eye out for the sweets guy. He sells lots of baked goods daily and goes by the name of Anthony. Can't miss him as he carries a basket on his head. Also, if you want fresh fruit, stick with the lady who walks the beach daily. She will cut the fruit for you where the others have it already cut and in bags. Who knows when it was put in the bag and most looks slimey.
Finally, if you like Patties, stick with the guy with the cardboard box and not the metal bin. Each will walk the beach once daily pushing a bike between noon and 2pm but the guy with the cardboard box sells to all the locals and don't seem to bother with the guy with the metal bin.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Enjoyed my first trip to Jamaica over Memorial Day weekend to celebrate a friend's birthday! From the pick-up at the airport (shout out to Jer!), to the scrumptious lunch prepared by the lovely ladies of Nirvana, we could not have asked for a more relaxing visit. The cottage was spacious and close to the beach and the grounds were kept in pristine condition. Sandra was extremely helpful in booking massages for us and helping set up a surprise birthday dinner. I already miss it and will definitely be back! Thank you all for a memorable visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank V H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My friends and I had a wonderful time on the beach here. We enjoyed the serene atmosphere and welcoming, reliable staff. The rooms and beach were very clean and we felt especially safe with staff present at all times. There are lots of activities in the area and good places to eat. Would definitely return here!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank BusyNYgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.1 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
4.0 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 80 in Negril
218 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#5 of 80 in Negril
998 reviews
3.0 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 80 in Negril
4,278 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 80 in Negril
2,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirvana on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirvana on the Beach

Property: Nirvana on the Beach
Address: Norman Manley Blvd | JAMAICA, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Negril
#5 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located directly on Negril Beach,JAMAICA... Nirvana is not just another hotel, it is a special place where guests have space in an intimate & unique beachfront property with that famous old-style Negril ambiance, privacy & security making it the perfect choice for couples, singles, families or groups who have been searching for a special NEGRIL laid back un-commercial JAMAICAN beachfront vacation. We are a terrific value, you can rent one unit, several units or the whole property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nirvana On The Beach Hotel Negril
Nirvana On The Beach Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing