We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Relaxing getaway with my girls” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nirvana on the Beach

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Negril
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nirvana on the Beach
Ranked #11 of 84 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing getaway with my girls”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Enjoyed my first trip to Jamaica over Memorial Day weekend to celebrate a friend's birthday! From the pick-up at the airport (shout out to Jer!), to the scrumptious lunch prepared by the lovely ladies of Nirvana, we could not have asked for a more relaxing visit. The cottage was spacious and close to the beach and the grounds were kept in pristine condition. Sandra was extremely helpful in booking massages for us and helping set up a surprise birthday dinner. I already miss it and will definitely be back! Thank you all for a memorable visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank V H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    601
    107
    15
    12
    9
See reviews for
186
279
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Astoria, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

My friends and I had a wonderful time on the beach here. We enjoyed the serene atmosphere and welcoming, reliable staff. The rooms and beach were very clean and we felt especially safe with staff present at all times. There are lots of activities in the area and good places to eat. Would definitely return here!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank BusyNYgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenville, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

The website was right when it said you would leave like you were family. We loved it. Everyone on staff was great! We like the idea of being able to do what we want, when we want and there was nothing forced at all. The staff was great...fun and very helpful. Thank you to all who made our stay one of the best ever.

I wear my Nirvana shirt with much pride! ;)

We'll be back! Be sure to say hello to everyone from Steve and Sharon and thank you all so very much!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I loved this place. But that doesn't tell you much. So........4 women of a certain age, a week in Jamaica, what more could you ask for? Nirvana! We stayed in the 3 bedroom cottage closest to the road. The only complaint I have is the noise from the road which can be very loud. If a light sleeper chose another cottage. The cottage had everything we needed however we are not high maintenance people. The employees were wonderful. We bought a bag of oranges and every day the housekeepers squeezed for us. Several times the ladies made dinner for us and it was wonderful. We had all sorts of plans to go places but whenever we left we couldn't wait to get back to Nirvana. Best beach we saw on our walks. Wonderful memories

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank COwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

My girlfriend and I decided to stay at Nirvana on the Beach after a co-worker recommendation. We thought it was great! Staff is very friendly. The cottages were simple and no-frills and right on the beach. Felt secured enough despite the constant solicitation. If we return to Negril, we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jokelly22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was our third year at Nirvana and I can't imagine going to Negril and staying anywhere else. It's rustic and simple but clean and comfortable. I've toured all inclusive resorts, and Nirvana is more my kind of place. It's small, not crowded, has a very nice private beach and excellent security. There is no bar or restaurant, but food and drink is a very short walk down the beach, and during the day you can stay in your chair and food comes to you. The people are the icing on the cake. If you read the reviews you will constantly see them mentioned by name. Not just Zemroy the manager, or Sandra who takes care of your every need, but security, housekeepers, drivers. They become friends and you find youreself making the rounds the first and last days and telling them all hello and goodbye. And after three years almost all of the faces are the same, rare in the hotel industry. It obviously means they are good at their jobs and happy in their jobs, and it shows.Leon and Breezy will take you anywhere securely at a cost competetive to random taxis.Erroll keps a close watch by day, and Shine by night. Every morning Otis and the tow Moseses (Mosi?) rake the sand clean. Buy a bag of oranges and the girls will squeeze you a pitcher of juice daily. In the past I was always on the go on vacations, I'm not the kind of person who can easily kick back and do nothing. That changes at Nirvana, we spend the bulk of our time on the beach.I can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: Cottages have no A/C but from what I've heard it's not needed. Get an oceanside room and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

There is not much to add to all of the previous great reviews for Nirvana on the Beach, except that I fully agree! The staff is just great. All of them are so helpful and kind.
We stayed in Cottage 1 with three bedrooms. The bedrooms are air conditioned and we did use the ac, mostly because there is some road noise at night, but it wasn't enough to keep us awake - we slept great. The cottages are equipped with everything you need, and the internet works well, even on the beach! There are no TV's, no pool, no beach towels, and we didn't miss any of that!
Loved; the beach, the location, the simplicity and ease of staying at NIrvana, the outdoor shower, the rustic feel of the cottages. The kayaks are nice and kept our young adult sons entertained. The home cooked meals and fresh sqeezed orange juice made our stay so enjoyable. We will return.

Room Tip: Cottages 1 and 2 are closest to the road and furthest from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mn2cold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
1.6 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#14 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
3.0 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#9 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,069 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirvana on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirvana on the Beach

Property: Nirvana on the Beach
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Negril
#5 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on Negril Beach, Nirvana is an intimate & unique beachfront property with that famous old-style Negril ambiance, privacy & security making it the perfect choice for couples, singles, families or groups who have been searching for a special island-style laid back un-commercial Caribbean beachfront vacation. We are a terrific value, you can rent one unit, several units or the whole property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nirvana On The Beach Hotel Negril
Nirvana On The Beach Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing