We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A truly marvellous time had by us all” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nirvana on the Beach

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Negril
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nirvana on the Beach
Save
You added Nirvana on the Beach to your Saves list
Ranked #13 of 88 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A truly marvellous time had by us all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We are recently back from a tremendous stay at Nirvana.
I've been to fantastic places in the world before now, but never ever have I stayed in somewhere with such amazing staff who looked after myself and my family in such an outstanding way. Not once did we have to visit a reception desk or office to find someone - everyday, Sandra would come find us to say good morning and check things were good for us.
If you're looking for a relaxing break with young kids, I would highly recommend Nirvana. There's heaps of beach toys and swings on Nirvana's beach, their section of the water is shallow and has bouys around it and Errol who provides security made us all feel so safe. We even used a babysitter which we've never ever done on holiday.
You also get to meet great people who are staying there!
We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    106
    15
    12
    9
See reviews for
183
273
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My second time in Jamaica but first time in Negril. It won't be the last. Already planning the next trip in the fall.
From the moment we arrived, we were well taken care of. Our comfort was a top priority as was the assurance that we (two women) felt safe and secure. The garden in the centre of the property was beautiful, very peaceful. There is a lot of room on the beach side of the property so you can choose to be close to the water and all the "action" or sit back aways and enjoy the view without being bothered by venders. Security was excellent--Shine was the best and takes his job very seriously. The rest of the security team was very diligent. Our cottage was very comfortable and VERY clean. The beds are firm and comfortable as well. No AC but didn't need it despite 30 degree weather, as the ceiling fans work very well.
The rest of the staff was superb--from Sandra and Zemroy, to all the ladies who cleaned our cottage daily, and especially enjoyed the curried goat, and saltfish and ackee the ladies cooked for us. I could eat this everyday!
I was surprised at the lack of insects in the cottage--aside from one little crab and a big flying thing on the first day, there were no other issues. Ants outside bite, as do the tiny mosquitos. Bug spray is highly recommended.
We didn't venture too far from the property other than groceries, a short walk down the beach to the Boat Bar and a couple of nights out listening to live reggae. We did take a trip to the cave with a mineral spring which was fun. There really does seem to be something to that water!

Room Tip: We were in #4, a two bedroom cottage. It was right in the middle of the property so far enough from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nirvananegril, Owner at Nirvana on the Beach, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
we're so glad to hear you had a great vacation at Nirvana & that you loved Negril, its a unique destination for beach lovers that won't disappoint you with 7 miles of the softest powder white sand beach & warm gentle clear waters to enjoy every water sport you could ask for.

Nirvana's friendly staff will connect you to friendly local operators who will give you a great ride at reasonable prices & there are such great places to explore.

Be sure to try different types of delicious local cooking, come to Negril & have a taste of all the flavors of paradise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This place IS truly what it is called!!!

It was the best place we've ever been on vacation! Seriously! And I've been to places all around the world. I would go back in a heartbeat if I didn't have responsibilities back at home.
We love our home in Canada, but we didn't want leave this resort to go back to reality so soon. The people who work at this paradise are such lovely people. All of them! We felt so safe there. And even when we left the resort to stroll along the beach for hours at a time, we felt sure that our belongings were safe too.
We will definitely be saving up to come back and hopefully bring our extended families to share Nirvana with us.

Also, we met some lovely people who were also vacationing here while we were... You know who you are... Thanks for the memories :).

What a great place for friends, couples and or family equally.

Thank you so much for everything. It was exactly what we needed!
Sincerely,
Jaime, Mike, and Samara

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moffj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aireas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a great stay at Nirvana (party of 4 at cottage 5), let me just say all the reviews are accurate, the place is incredible, the staff is super friendly, the atmosphere is awesome. We did walk a lot on the beach and every time we got back to Nirvana we repeated the same "we choose the perfect spot". Jamaican on the beach were friendly and not annoying, grab fresh fruit, orange juice an coconut bread for perfect day at the beach. Respect!.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GonzaLester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My husband and our two children (ages 5 and 3), recently spent a week at Nirvana. It was the best vacation we have ever had! The staff at Nirvana are just wonderful, and we were truly sad to sad goodbye at the end of our week. Shine and Errol were so helpful and kind, and so sweet to the kids. Everyone in our house is still talking about them! Sandra was always checking in to make sure everything was okay, and was always a presence if anything was needed. The grounds/beach at Nirvana are kept up just beautifully, as the staff are working on them daily. We could not have asked for a more relaxing stay! Thanks so much to everyone at Nirvana...we are already planning our next trip back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Recently my wife, some friends, and I stayed at NIRVANA. I will start by saying we will never stay anywhere else. The staff was amazing from the management to the grounds people to the security guards. Sandra and Jackson are the best. Erro, Shine, Kevin, Ramone were 4 of the security guards I met, sorry if I've left any of you out but these guys are what makes NIRVANA. I felt comfortable with my wife on the beach anytime of the day or night because these guys take care of business. I cannot stress how important the guards are to this property. I mean staying in a place with no windows and never once was I worried about anyone bothering us. The beach is amazing and they take great PRIDE in the property every morning they combed the beach, cleaned the leaves, etc. It was unbelievable the small things they did to make the place nice. The cleaning ladies were great as well. If you are planning on going to Negril and you do not know where you are staying you have to throw Nirvana in the mix. It was the most relaxing 7 days of my life.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ChaseS498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had the pleasure to stay at Nivana from Mar 21-28. This was the first time we had NOT stayed at an all-inclusive resort, and did not know exactly what to expect despite the rave reviews.
Arrangements had been made ahead of time for a private pick up at the airport and our driver, Leon, was there waiting as promised. After a stop for supplies, we were on our way. We arrived after dark and were assisted by Patrick from night security, to get settled. We met Sandra & Zemroy the next day, who checked to see if we were doing ok. Our room - upper verandah suite - was equipped with only a hot plate so the housekeepers were unable to cook meals for us, but did make us fresh squeezed orange juice with the bag of oranges we purchased on our first day. The ladies quickly & efficiently cleaned & tidied our room! Even washed a couple of our beach towels upon request, no problem! We LOVED our outdoor shower! Would have liked a bigger room safe. The groundskeepers/gardeners (Moses & his team) did a beautiful job of keeping the property beautiful and the beach area/sand pristine. The day (Errol) & night security (Shine/Patrick) (I apologize for not remembering everyones names) a fantastic job of making us feel safe & secure. Errol placed our chairs for us every morning in a perfect spot providing both sun & shade.
We tried food from a lot of the vendors that came by, fruit, jerk pork, patties, baking & coco bread with cheese. All delicious! Make sure to barter! Tried a couple of restaurants close by. We don't recommend The Boat Bar. Wanted to have a sit down meal, but were approached by a local who had no intention of leaving & was not moved along by the staff, we finally asked for our meal to go because we were uncomfortable and STILL the staff did nothing. Chances has really good pizza.
We did not miss having a tv for a week. There was a radio/cd player with iPod dock so we had music/Internet radio.
The water is clear & normally quite clam. We watched 2 or 3 stingrays swim through every day.
Would we stay again? Definitely! Would we recommend the property to others? Absolutely! Keeping in mind that is not polished marble by any means, but it IS neat, tidy & clean! On the beach, you are not elbow to elbow with other guests in their chairs, plenty of beach space & chairs. Very private & relaxing!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Spottymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
1.6 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
1.1 mi away
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#4 of 88 in Negril
5.0 of 5 stars 916 reviews
3.0 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 88 in Negril
4.5 of 5 stars 3,992 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#6 of 88 in Negril
4.5 of 5 stars 2,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirvana on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirvana on the Beach

Property: Nirvana on the Beach
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Negril
#5 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on Negril Beach, Nirvana is an intimate & unique beachfront property with that famous old-style Negril ambiance, privacy & security making it the perfect choice for couples, singles, families or groups who have been searching for a special island-style laid back un-commercial Caribbean beachfront vacation. We are a terrific value, you can rent one unit, several units or the whole property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nirvana On The Beach Hotel Negril
Nirvana On The Beach Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing