We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful, beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Ranked #33 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful, beautiful”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Me and my boyfriend had our own rock to relax and sunbathe all day. we ate dinner there at night and it was very cozy atmosphere to watch the sun go down.

Me and my guy lived not so far away from samsara, who´s lying on a high cliff. Even though we were not guests at the hotel were we welcome to sunbathe, snorkel and scuba dive. Samsara restaurant and bar was the best we had eaten during our stay in Jamaica. Human prices as well. You just have to taste the chicken and beef stew, the fish dish and the pork was divine good. Perfect, perfect. Even more beautiful in the night after tge sunsett when we went back just to check the view at night, The dark black horizon, was scary but peaceful, to see,you can not see where the sea ends, cozy candlelight on everyone's table and the staff very helpful and very nice. Respect, as they say in Jamaica ..

Room Tip: the small bungalow facing the sea. Heavenly gorgeous. Wish we lived there. Very romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S Susanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NegrilhotelsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Samsara Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you so much! And all the way from Sweden! We're so glad you stumbled upon our little oasis. Also your review is so poetic. What a beautiful description of the sunset.
We hope next time you stay with us so you can enjoy all we have to offer, including our sister property Legends on the beach.
See you soon
One love
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    468
    237
    102
    129
See reviews for
194
636
74
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bala, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Our holiday consisted of 6 days/5 nights at Samsara on the European plan. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Samsara is what it is- a 50 room resort in the heart of west side Negril, perched on the cliffs. It is not a 500 room, high energy, too many things going on at once place on the beach. At Samsara, they don't pretend to be. It is a laid back spot to relax and rejuvenate. All the staff are very friendly and helpful. The food is good, the beer and drinks cold. The cliffs are fun with different heights to challenge everyone to take a leap. Once you've gone from 13-15 feet, head down to Rick's Café to graduate to their 35 foot cliff jump. Since we were on the EP, we ventured out for some meals. Close to the hotel, we'd recommend Pressa One Love (100 m) for all meals, The Rockhouse (1 km) for breakfast and 3 Dives (500 m) for Dinner. There is a convenience store about 100-150 meters away. Bourbon Beach is a café located on 7 mile beach near the sister resort called Legends. It's worth the free shuttle ride to Legends to experience the beach for the day and to walk the strip so to speak. Samsara was exactly what we were looking for- a budget minded Jamaican vacation and they delivered great value for the money. If they'd let me back, I'd go again. Captain Roger of the Sun Baby is great for boat trips/fishing. Zimbali's Mountain Cooking Scholl is a great inland experience. Other excursions are available through the front desk. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Oceanside rooms may not always have a clear oceanview (partially blocked by privacy foliage) but ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NegrilhotelsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Samsara Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thanks for reviewing. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay! Also great recommendations on local spots. Only we're a bit surprised at your rating. We are 3-star hotel but it sounds like you had a 4 to 5 star stay ;)
We sincerely hope you come again soon and we will make sure to exceed your expectations this time, as we constantly strive to improve the quality of our product.
See you soon
One love
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parrish, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We paid for a 5-day all-inclusive package. It was pretty much what my wife and I expected based upon the cost. The resort is old but well maintained. We stayed in an oceanfront room. It was somewhat small but provided everything we needed. The shower had plenty of hot water and decent pressure. Surprisingly (based on other reviews) the A/C worked fine.

There are set hours for each meal. The food selection was very minimal - approximately 4 choices. I was disappointed in the fact that there was very little seafood offered. Overall the staff was friendly and considerate - especially O' Wayne the bartender.

The cliffs of Negril are amazing. The water is beautiful. There are multiple locations to enter the water - either jumping or walking down the stairs to a ladder.

Staying here allows you the opportunity to also "use" their sister resort - Legends. Thus, you get the best of both worlds - the cliffs at Samsara or the beautiful white sand beach at Legends!

Overall my wife and I really enjoyed our experience at Samara Cliffs....and Legends!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NegrilhotelsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Samsara Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
What a lovely review! Next time maybe a higher star rating ;) still we appreciate all your the positive feedback. Thanks for defending our air condition; we're very diligent about servicing and cleaning our AC units on a monthly basis. It's hot down here mon, we understand the importance of keeping cool.
We will definitely pass the praise on to our team, along with O'Wayne, our star bartender. He really is a joy.
Also glad you enjoyed the sea. Next time maybe grab some snorkeling gear from the front desk and go exploring along our property's coast.
See you next time
One love
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle Ewart, ON
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I read many reviews before booking Samsara - and having just returned from a 5 day escape, I would have to say that they are were all valid to some degree. Yes, there are some quirky management policies and the facility occasionally shows her age if you look too close. But it’s just as true that the physical setting is stunning, the staff friendly and attentive, the food home-cooked and tasty, and the grounds intimate and appealing.

Our upgrade to a pillar house was a special treat! It was lovely at night but without AC, it did get pretty warm in the afternoon. If I were there for a week, I think I would have wanted one of the more conventional air conditioned rooms or perhaps one of the pretty and well shaded garden cottages which looked just fine as well.

While we did pay for a breakfast, lunch, and several drinks at the resort, our decision not to go all inclusive allowed us to more fully enjoy the many unique dining experiences in close proximity. Again, if I was there a week instead of 5 days, I think all-inclusive might have been a better choice even with a few meals out. The shuttle and access to sister resort "Legends" directly on 7 mile beach worked pretty much as described, so we got our beach-fix as well.

Overall, Samsara proved to be just the kind of smaller scale, unique, quiet, and locally representative property we look for more and more as our interests change from “party and consume” to “learn and experience” - for reference, we’re 55 and 60. (Also see my reviews for Pablo, Ciao, 3 Dives, and One Love Pub Crawl).

One Love - Respect

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RAP705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NegrilhotelsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Samsara Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thanks for your review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and in a pillar house no less. We are so proud of them; the view, the balcony, king sized bed, shower downstairs in the rocks. It doesn't get much better. They keep quite cool in the evening but if the heat in the day was not for you, maybe try one of our superior ocean side rooms with air conditioning next time. But I have a feeling you may go for the pillar house again ;) I see you made it down to Legends on the free shuttle. We are so proud to provide our guests with both beach and cliffs, they are equally unique and both worth seeing for anyone who visits Negril. If you do go all-inclusive next time, just a reminder that your privileges will extend to both Legends and Samsara. Pretty convenient mon :) Also we would like to thank you for reviewing so many places in Negril, spread the word, that's what its all about. There is lots to see and like they say, "once you go, you know" One love
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

It was our first time in Jamaica and we had a great 7 days at Samsara resort. There is a mix of accommodation but we stayed in a unit across the road from the main resort. It was clean and spacious. There are 2 nice pools but the feature is the ocean. There is a 20ft cliff with various steps and ladders where you can climb into the ocean or jump in from various heights. The water is wonderful. Once you jump into the ocean the pool doesn't do it anymore.
There is a shuttle to a sister resort at the beach. We went once and it was a good experience but we preferred to stay by the cliffs after that.
We didn't go all inclusive and ate and drank well. There are lots of places to eat close, they can look a bit rough but the food is good and doesn't make you sick. There is a grocery store with cold beer 5 minutes walk and a fruit hut across the road from it. The fruit guy will peel the pineapples for you. You can drink your own beverages on the resort, the trick is keeping them cold. There are no sidewalks and a lot of traffic on very narrow roads so walking places can be a bit nerve racking but there are lots of taxis.
It was fun and we would go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwijohnOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NegrilhotelsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Samsara Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Ye mon! Happy to hear we've sent another cliff jumper into the world. Its truly addictive and yes the pool is nice but does not compare to that pristine Caribbean sea. There are steps and little ladders to get in the sea more easily, but hey jumping is just more fun! Surprised you didn't mention any snorkeling adventures. We have snorkeling gear at the front desk, just so you know for next time ;) One love
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

The staff at Samsara are wonderful. Sharona and Owayne were fantastic behind the bar. Pauline and the kind ladies in the dinning room were very accommodating and hospitable and especially kind and accommodating with our children. Pauline and Owayne even took the time to teach the children how to play dominoes. The food was plentiful and tasty (try the corn meal porridge and plantains).
The resort itself was fantastic - small and homey. But it was the staff that made this place so fantastic. Since it's a family run resort you get to know most of the staff, including Nester the host with the most.
Peter, the concierge was very helpful. The front reception staff were very professional, friendly and willing to help to ensure our stay was relaxing. I would highly recommend this location if you want a laid back, small resort, with character and charm where they treat you like family.

Room Tip: The cottages were great if you are travelling with children - they have rooms with lofts which the k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WillyStirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NegrilhotelsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Samsara Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
You make us blush! So glad you enjoyed meeting our lovely staff. We have been working together a very long time, some for over 25 years. It truly is like a family and with every happy visitor, we watch our family grow. Thank you for your kind words and support, they really go a long way. One love
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

This was our 5th year at the property and we continue to go back. The staff is very gracious and have the island attitude....respect!
The property is immaculate and grounds are beautiful.
The food is fair, you may want to stay away from the all-inclusive and venture out, it's very safe

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank carolb1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NegrilhotelsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Samsara Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thanks for the positive feedback and for your 5th visit! We love to see people coming back year after year. Not just to our hotel but to Jamaica. And yes, its perfectly safe to venture out and try some of the local cuisine. Also thank you for noticing how clean we keep it here, it is an ongoing effort put forth by all our staff. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. One love and of course, respect!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.0 mi away
Legends Beach Hotel
Legends Beach Hotel
#38 of 81 in Negril
946 reviews
0.5 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
3.0 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#43 of 81 in Negril
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Catcha Falling Star Gardens
1.2 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 81 in Negril
848 reviews
1.8 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samsara Cliffs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samsara Cliffs Resort

Property: Samsara Cliffs Resort
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Negril
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Samsara Cliffs Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Samsara Cliffs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samsara Cliffs Hotel Negril
Samsara Hotel Jamaica
Samsara Cliffs Negril
Samsara Cliff Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing