We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent vacation for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Ranked #33 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent vacation for the price”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Samsara Cliff Resort and had a wonderful time. The rooms are appropriate what you pay for. Clean, spacious, renovated, everything you need. Staff and locals were extremely helpful, attentive and caring.

The cliff views at sunset were beautiful.

The food at the resort was 4 out 5. (We did the all inclusive deal-3 meals and alcohol included). Breakfast and dinners were delicious and showcase local cuisine. On the other hand, lunches were complete garbage (hamburgers, french fries, tuna sandwiches) I suggest reserving money to eat lunch out. If you want a treat, I suggest walking/taking the hotel shuttle to Jennys, which offers a "special cake". Using a secret ingredient that Jamaica is well known for.

The resort has a daily shuttle that takes you to the sister hotel (Legends) which is beachfront for 7 Mile Beach. Beach and ocean were unbelievably awesome. Crystal clear water, beautiful sand, warm tropical weather. Only complaint I have about the beach is the peddling that goes on (jet skis, souvenirs, food, and drugs). Could do without.

All in all, you certainly get what you pay for. I highly recommend Samsara over Legends.This place is great for couples/families on a budget.
And i suggest traveling beyond the hotels to get a feel of the real Jamaica.

I also strongly suggest that you arrange a shuttle from the airport (Montego Bay) to Samsara ($70 one way). It seems like a steep price, but it is over an hour car ride and a local can will absolutely rip you off. Plus, you may get to meet Captain Ray, who will give you great insight about the island and the area around the hotel.

Room Tip: We chose this hotel on a groupon. The groupon was for a basic room that only included a ceiling fan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    468
    238
    103
    130
See reviews for
197
638
73
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We just got home from 5 days at the Samsara. It was beautiful. What the rooms lacked was made up by the ocean views, snorkeling and sunsets. The staff was attentive, friendly and professional. The rooms are sparse, but very clean and the beds are v. comfortable. Except for the water in the shower taking a long time to heat up, everything else was great. I also highly recommend you try any dish at Sweet Spice as well as visiting Judy's Rum establishment (just down the street from Sweet Spice)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Enza D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

If you are on a budget then I highly recommend this place. There are two hotels that you can shuttle back and forth or pay $5 for a cab fare. Food was a buffett style, yet delicious. No complains on the food, but I recommend you go out to the town centre and try some Jamaican beef patties at the Juicy Patties restaurant. This is more for a couples/family enivironment so if you are single then I don't recommend it. Also, bring towels since the hotel doesn't provide it or you can always purchase some and that can be your souvenir. You if you don't have snorkel gear ask the front desk to rent some or go to the dive shop. Great snorkeling at Samasara, we saw various types of fish, jellyfish, sting rays, octopus and from a distance dolphins. (dont' worry the jellyfish are harmless) Its not a luxury hotel but a decent stay for anyone on a budget. You will definitely enjoy the views which makes it all worth it! Ya Mon! Respect!

Room Tip: Recommend AC room and rooms near the dinning area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marine21_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I traveled to Negril last week and stayed at the Samsara. It was absolutely beautiful with great snorkeling and amazing sunsets. It is quieter than its sister hotel, the Legends and we enjoyed the beach there as well. The staff was friendly and attentive and the food was fresh and absolutely delicious. The staff was happy to explain the local foods and preparation. Although the bathroom could have used some attention, our room was immaculate. Pay attention to Captain Ray's advice when he picks you up from the airport. He has great tips to stay safe and still see the best of Negril. A beautiful, clean place and great staff.....what more can I say?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PJF596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
2 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My friends and I LOVED staying at Samsara. Our room was very clean and the view of the sea was fantastic! The staff were very nice and we always felt very safe at night with the Peter or Donavan as our security. We stayed here from the 1st to the 6th of August and loved her minute of it. We didn't get the all inclusive package so we ate across the street at Pressa (advised by someone of TripAdvisor) and the food was delicious! We also had a bite at Ciao, the pizza was fantastic. We will be back next year, can't wait!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

This place is so wonderful. Traditional Jamaican cuisine, wonderful staff, and fantastic accommodations including two story huts over looking the ocean from the cliffs. There is no better way to enjoy Jamaica's natural wonders than to stay and play on the cliffs or take the free shuttle to the sister resort on seven mile beach to enjoy one of the finest beaches in the world. Where else can you get all inclusive accommodations for two people at two vastly different resorts that are both completely amazing. Jamaica doesn't need any help making it amazing but these two for one resorts and the staff really do complete a perfect vacation scenario.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DamionBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

On many levels this hotel could be a 4 stars resort: The location is exceptional. The cliffs are gorgeous, the water warm and clean. The hotel is a quite heaven. Most of the employees are friendly and the room are very clean. The fact that you can use the beautiful beach at their sister hotel "Legend" is fantastic.
On other levels it could be a 2 stars: The food is basic and heavy. A lot of fried chicken and stews. With the hot weather, we were dying for salads and fresh fruits. The only desert available was a cake (very good), no other choice. Half of the waitresses were nice and smiley, the other half look somber all the time. People are dirty (guests), they leave plastic glasses all over. This trash is only remove once a day (early in the morning) On the beach at the sister hotel Legend, there was tens of plastic cup all over at the end of the day.
We give this resort four dots because they do their best to please you. We had a fantastic time. Being in Jamaica was like being in another world. People are mostly very nice and friendly, the warm turquoise water is a dream and the countryside is beautiful. We were not going in vacation to Jamaica for the food but to relax and have a good time. This hotel provide that. Our major problem was to choose between jump from the cliff, go to the pool or to the beach but you can do all of that the same day.
A more "modern" cuisine and a more effective attention to details will definitely put this hotel in the Four Stars category.
For the snorkeling, our advice is to rent a glass bottom boat at the beach and go to the reef (60US$ for 2 hours). You will see unbelievable school tiger fishes. Do not hesitate to do the Jamaica Tour Black River/ YS falls excursion (a tour guide come every morning at the hotel). It is an entire day but you will be able to see wild crocodiles and fly over 7 gorgeous falls zip lining plus it is an occasion to see the sugar cane fields, the mountains and Jamaica's luxuriant vegetation. (US$ 86 per person)

Room Tip: We hade one of the "Pilar Room" (ask for #2, you will have a 180º view) even without air c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shiboune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.0 mi away
Legends Beach Hotel
Legends Beach Hotel
#38 of 81 in Negril
948 reviews
0.5 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
3.0 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#43 of 81 in Negril
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Catcha Falling Star Gardens
2.7 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#16 of 81 in Negril
641 reviews
1.8 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samsara Cliffs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samsara Cliffs Resort

Property: Samsara Cliffs Resort
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Negril
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Samsara Cliffs Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Samsara Cliffs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samsara Cliffs Hotel Negril
Samsara Hotel Jamaica
Samsara Cliffs Negril
Samsara Cliff Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing