We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Samsara Cliffs Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Ranked #29 of 84 Hotels in Negril
Brewster, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I traveled to Negril last week and stayed at the Samsara. It was absolutely beautiful with great snorkeling and amazing sunsets. It is quieter than its sister hotel, the Legends and we enjoyed the beach there as well. The staff was friendly and attentive and the food was fresh and absolutely delicious. The staff was happy to explain the local foods and preparation. Although the bathroom could have used some attention, our room was immaculate. Pay attention to Captain Ray's advice when he picks you up from the airport. He has great tips to stay safe and still see the best of Negril. A beautiful, clean place and great staff.....what more can I say?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PJF596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    456
    229
    97
    125
See reviews for
187
608
73
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

My friends and I LOVED staying at Samsara. Our room was very clean and the view of the sea was fantastic! The staff were very nice and we always felt very safe at night with the Peter or Donavan as our security. We stayed here from the 1st to the 6th of August and loved her minute of it. We didn't get the all inclusive package so we ate across the street at Pressa (advised by someone of TripAdvisor) and the food was delicious! We also had a bite at Ciao, the pizza was fantastic. We will be back next year, can't wait!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

This place is so wonderful. Traditional Jamaican cuisine, wonderful staff, and fantastic accommodations including two story huts over looking the ocean from the cliffs. There is no better way to enjoy Jamaica's natural wonders than to stay and play on the cliffs or take the free shuttle to the sister resort on seven mile beach to enjoy one of the finest beaches in the world. Where else can you get all inclusive accommodations for two people at two vastly different resorts that are both completely amazing. Jamaica doesn't need any help making it amazing but these two for one resorts and the staff really do complete a perfect vacation scenario.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DamionBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

On many levels this hotel could be a 4 stars resort: The location is exceptional. The cliffs are gorgeous, the water warm and clean. The hotel is a quite heaven. Most of the employees are friendly and the room are very clean. The fact that you can use the beautiful beach at their sister hotel "Legend" is fantastic.
On other levels it could be a 2 stars: The food is basic and heavy. A lot of fried chicken and stews. With the hot weather, we were dying for salads and fresh fruits. The only desert available was a cake (very good), no other choice. Half of the waitresses were nice and smiley, the other half look somber all the time. People are dirty (guests), they leave plastic glasses all over. This trash is only remove once a day (early in the morning) On the beach at the sister hotel Legend, there was tens of plastic cup all over at the end of the day.
We give this resort four dots because they do their best to please you. We had a fantastic time. Being in Jamaica was like being in another world. People are mostly very nice and friendly, the warm turquoise water is a dream and the countryside is beautiful. We were not going in vacation to Jamaica for the food but to relax and have a good time. This hotel provide that. Our major problem was to choose between jump from the cliff, go to the pool or to the beach but you can do all of that the same day.
A more "modern" cuisine and a more effective attention to details will definitely put this hotel in the Four Stars category.
For the snorkeling, our advice is to rent a glass bottom boat at the beach and go to the reef (60US$ for 2 hours). You will see unbelievable school tiger fishes. Do not hesitate to do the Jamaica Tour Black River/ YS falls excursion (a tour guide come every morning at the hotel). It is an entire day but you will be able to see wild crocodiles and fly over 7 gorgeous falls zip lining plus it is an occasion to see the sugar cane fields, the mountains and Jamaica's luxuriant vegetation. (US$ 86 per person)

Room Tip: We hade one of the "Pilar Room" (ask for #2, you will have a 180º view) even without air c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shiboune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is by far the best bang for your buck in Negril. I have travelled to this part of the island over a dozen times and I come back to Samsara again and again. Everything you need is here. Food, drink, pool, sea, snorkeling, transportation, and LOTS of smiles and photo ops. The pina coladas and jamaican breakfast are fantastic!! My mantra for this trip quickly became, "Ask and you shall receive" because that just kept happening here at Samsara! This is definitely the place for your next stay in Negril!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JoyMontes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

My husband and I spent 8 nights at Samsara May 26th-June 3rd 2013. I was aware when we booked this resort that it was 3 star. We booked a king ocean view with air. When we checked in I made it clear this was what we paid for. The lady checking us in said she was going to give us a special room. It turned out to be what appeared to be the original house the owners live in many years ago. It had to be 110 in this room. We had one window unit that at best kept the room cool from 10 at night till 10 in the morning. We did not ask to move because on the plus side there was a fridge downstairs and it is next to impossible to get ice or keep anything cold. The weather was very hot with a heat index of 110. The bathroom was dark and had no windows and it was impossible to apply makeup . The day we checked in there were at least 50 bugs that appear to be flying ants. My husband used the Off and my hairspray to kill the insects. Again we just sucked it up because it was hard to repack and do without the fridge. We had to request toilet paper and wash clothes like they were gold. We did not do the all inclusive plan and made the right decision. The food was the very same daily. It was ok the first couple of days but how much jerk chicken can you eat. Not everything was bad. The property and the cliffs were beautiful. We met many nice and fun people. WE had a great time jumping off the cliffs. We enjoyed our group from London and Georgia. Mr. Ashton Pitt provided our transportation from Montego Bay to Negril. We can not say enough nice things about this man. He is very professional and meets you with two bottles of water and two Red Stripes. His car is clean and cold. I would Highly recommend his services. Do not take the bus unless you want to take half a day to make a 90 mile trip. We had been to Montego Bay a year ago and stayed at Sandals. We weren't expecting 5 stars. The last night the front desk called us at 11pm and said if we didn't come pay our bill (our room was prepaid) for food charges they were going to take our passports. We never could figure out exactly how they were going to take our passports since they were in our possession. We were mildly interested to see what they would try. My husband took offense but went to the office and paid our bill. We were going to pay our bill on our way out the next morning anyway. If the owner would spend a little money for new window units, pest control, a more varied menu, and not treat their guests like criminals this would be a great resort. We travel 5-6 times a year and know what is acceptable. I have never written a review but this trip was more work than pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank PamAndJoshTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Negril hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We got an amazing all inclusive 5 night stay through Groupon. We stayed here 7/13-7/18 and had an AMAZING time, the resort is very nice, grounds are beautiful & well kept, this is not a 5 start treatment but for this price and for the experience it was the BEST(and I honestly think that I enjoyed this more than I would have a 5 star)! I am so glad we made the decision to stay. Great food (breakfast, lunch, & dinner buffets)& rum drinks, Clean rooms, Clean pool & grounds, breath taking sunrises & sunsets & the cliffs.....even better than the ones @ Rick's Cafe in my opinion!! Tips: Use the free shuttle to the sister resort Legends (on 7 mile beach...different vibe very nice beach & all inclusive transfers here also!), Take (or purchase) Beach towels, Bring shampoo/conditioner/lotions/hairdryer (not provided), bring smaller bills for tips (even if all inclusive), bring (or purchase) one of the larger insulated cups (the bar will fill these instead of the smaller plastic ones they use), if mosquitos love you then bring bug spray...the one WITH Deet b/c those suckers tore me up (just me not my hubs or our friends). Walk down to 3 Dives Restaurant (5 minute walk) for a dinner.....BEST JERK CHICKEN EVER! We truly enjoyed our stay, just wish we could have stayed longer and we will definitely come back & would surely stay again @ Samsara!! Say HI to our fav bartender Sharona! The staff is friendly and will remember your name & interactions which is very nice with this smaller more authentic little slice of Jamaican heaven!

Room Tip: there are AC rooms if wanted, we thought we couldnt deal without it, but the PILLAR HOUSES (we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rayrayhood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.0 mi away
Legends Beach Hotel
Legends Beach Hotel
#37 of 84 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#5 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
1.1 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Westender Inn
Westender Inn
#27 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Xtabi Resort
Xtabi Resort
#32 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
1.8 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samsara Cliffs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samsara Cliffs Resort

Property: Samsara Cliffs Resort
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Negril
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Samsara Cliffs Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Samsara Cliffs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samsara Cliffs Hotel Negril
Samsara Hotel Jamaica
Samsara Cliffs Negril
Samsara Cliff Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing