We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Destination Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach House Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach House Villas
Ranked #52 of 88 Hotels in Negril
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Destination Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My husband and I, along with 28 of our close friends and family had our Destination Wedding at Beach House Villas the week of July 11th.

From the Montego Bay airport, the Villas are about 1.5 hour drive. We contacted Dudley at Big Ship Transfers for our transportation from the airport. We had 14 guests traveling to the Villas and one of Dudley's drivers greeted us with a cooler of Red Stripes, which made the drive much more enjoyable. Another one of Dudley's drivers escorted us back to the airport at the end of our trip.

When we first arrived at the Villas we were quickly shown to our rooms - Which were very clean. The air conditioning wasn't turned on when we arrived, but after a few hours the entire space was nice and cool. My husband and I stayed in the Penthouse Suite, which had unbelievable ocean views and a great balcony for relaxing. Remember to pack plenty of Bug Repellent, there are quite a few mosquitos and sand flies.

Our group spent our first few days eating and drinking at the beachside bar. Our bartender Lloyd was amazing and handled our large crew without a problem. The food and service were outstanding!!! We ate both breakfast and lunch at the Villas almost everyday of our trip. Also the grounds of the Villas were well kept and manicured daily by Buju - Who was also helpful when we needed extra lounge chairs for the beach.

During our vacation at Beach House Villas my husband and I got married. We worked with wedding planner Isabelle Stewart of Weddings by Isabelle. Isabelle was absolutely amazing - I highly recommend her. She and I coordinated via email 4-5 months prior to our visit - I would send Isabelle photos of what I envisioned and she would tweak my ideas according to what we could do with the space that was available at the Beach House Villas. Isabelle also worked with Maggie Martin, who is the event planner at the Villas to coordinate our big day. In the end our wedding day was more that we could have ever imagined. Several guests remarked that the food during our reception was the best that they had during the entire stay on the island. Our evening was full of steel drum bands, island cocktails, and a bonfire. Isabelle took my pictures and set them to life, it was perfect. If you are thinking of having a destination wedding in Negril, Jamaica with 30-40 guests The Beach House Villas, Weddings by Isabelle, and Maggie Martin are the perfect combination!

Overall our experience at Beach House Villas was excellent, we will definitely make another trip one day!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jacqueline and ... V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    26
    5
    1
    5
See reviews for
38
46
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I, my wife and our family had a GREAT time here. The staff was great, each and everyone of them !!! This is the place to stay if you are looking for a quiet, blissful, R & R vacation. It is tranquility at it's best. The walk to the villa, is like walking through mother nature's garden....Can't say enough. While I was in Negril, I used JERMAINE Tours, his # is (876) 838-2085. He is awesome, took us all over the place: local stores, restaurants, hang outs...etc,etc....His vehicle and his service made us all feel like we were royalty.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nxtmove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Just got back a couple of weeks ago, we had such a great time and we miss it already. So happy with the way things are run! Always a good time, love the beach. People are friendly and helpful, we always feel pampered.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David D A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Village
Level Contributor
83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We had the front villa, with a giant porch to have morning coffee and see the beach - 2 hammocks to read from, an outdoor shower area. Very comfortable inside with 3 bathrooms! We couldn't have been happier. Free and easy parking for our car. Their restaurant is right outside the gated yard, so easy breakfasts, lunch, dinners snacks or rum libations! Sweet staff full of fun stories and information. Some of the guests own their villas and visit frequently and were very welcoming and kind. Great walking beach, water was warm, clear and sand was soft and easy. We had a hard time wanting to do anything else but hang out. They provide beach chairs and umbrellas and set up for you as you walk out. We were pampered and loved all of it!

Room Tip: All rooms seem like they would be quiet, as there isn't any loud issue on any side. We liked no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Artzgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

The room was horrible. The stench was awful and it smelled of mold!!! Not to mention the room had one window that was facing a brick wall. There was cobwebs above our head on a picture frame, the shower curtain and rod was full of rust. The bed sheets had tiny black spots all over it. We booked 3 nights at this hotel, we booked a garden view room, however due to the deplorable condition of this room we had no choice but to check out after the 1st night. My fiancé awoke the next morning with a rash on his back. On a different note...the restaurant at this location is located along the beach. We were trying to enjoy our meal however couldn't with the house cat going under our table while dining and the stray dogs that wanders the beach eyeing our every move. We checked out at 8am as soon as the office opened. When the manager did a walk through of our room she agreed with us regarding the smell and our other complaints. Hotel.com didn't refund our money. This has taught me a lesson regarding booking with hotels.com for international hotels......DON'T!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Maybe the good rooms are the rooms with an ocean view. The garden views are very dark and morbid!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Raquel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhvillas, Manager at Beach House Villas, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
I was more then upset reading this review as the guests were 90% correct. The condos are privately owned with most in the rental pool. Unfortunately, this condo was out of the rental pool for close to a year and when recently put back in the rental pool was not cleaned/maintained properly and overlooked by management.

The rash is due to sand fleas and we do recommend that bug spray be used during rainy or some evenings when on the beach.

We apologize to the guests, but we do not understand why they did not accept a complimentary upgrade to the waterfront Penthouse as well as additional complimentary extras to rectify the problem.

Currently, this studio condo has been brought up to par to the same level as the other condos. Beach House is a labor of love more then a business and we appreciate any and all reviews to maintain our level of high standards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
54 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We are waiting for our flight out of Negril, and we want to go back already. It was our first time there, and we would definitely stay at Beach House Villas again. All of the people mentioned in previous reviews were so helpful to us. It was not about our villa. It was about all of the friendly and accommodating people at this resort from the guards at the gatehouse, security guards on the property, housekeeping, front desk personnel, and landscapers who took pride in the gardens. If you need a beach chair, they are there. If you want to know a good place for patties nearby, they will tell you a good place The staff at the restaurant were just as good, and the food was delicious. Fish sandwiches, jerk wings, and fish and chips were mouth watering. Lance, Trio,and Janet- thanks for your great service at the restaurant/bar. Billy, the driver hired by the hotel took us on a great day trip. Don't miss buying popcorn from the guy strolling the beach or patties from Neville, the guy with a bicycle on the beach who has great chicken, beef, vegetable, and lobster patties. We also had wonderful coconut tart, bread pudding, ginger coconut brittle, and banana bread from a young man who stops by every day. These all add to the Negril experience. Avoid - jerk stand down the beach called "See Culture". He told our friends that chicken, rice, and beans was $10. The next day my husband and I stopped and didn't ask for the price. He charged us $30 for 2 red stripes and 1/4 chicken. Should have been around $13-18.00 at the most. One bad experience could not wipe away the smiles from our faces at being in Negril, meeting such wonderful local people, and staying at Beach House Villas.

Room Tip: Re our room -lower and upper level 2 bedroom ocean suites. Needs new pillows. Will recommend to res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dumblonde622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow, Alaska
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We just returned from 7 nights at Beach House Villas, Negril. I cannot say enough about the staff of BHV. The men and women who work there are the best. The security was top notch, housekeeping was trustworthy and friendly, the front office staff did everything to make us feel welcome and comfortable, and the gardeners were always keeping the place looking great.

The beach is perfect, with plenty of room for guests. There is no need for a pool when you have a beach like Negril. And no one in our party of 10 even missed having one. Being on the south end away from the large resorts helped to make for quiet mornings and no so crowded afternoons. It really is in the perfect location. You can walk to the round-a-bout, hit the sidewalk on the street side for a stroll to the local store for supplies, or just chill in the sun.

Mark Kaye is the owner and executive chef of the Ocean Breeze Restaurant, which is located at BHV. Mark brought fresh fruit and vegetables every day to cook for us. His food is some of the best there is. The Jerk Chicken and pork, Curry Goat with Festival, and Jamaican pizza were great, the Ackee and Saltfish for breakfast hit the spot, and the Ital stew...which isn't even on the menu...was the best thing we ate the entire trip. We ate at a lot of places on the beach, and bought food from street vendors as well, but the food Mark cooked for us was absolutely the best.

I highly recommend BHV to anyone looking for the perfect place on the beach.
Thank you everyone at Beach House Villas for making our vacation a huge success.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lonn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
1.2 mi away
Rayon Hotel
Rayon Hotel
#46 of 88 in Negril
4.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
1.3 mi away
Country Country Beach Cottages
0.1 mi away
Beach House Condos
Beach House Condos
#5 of 50 in Negril
5.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Travellers Beach Resort
#17 of 88 in Negril
4.5 of 5 stars 926 reviews
0.7 mi away
Whistling Bird Resort
Whistling Bird Resort
#49 of 88 in Negril
4.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kuyaba Hotel & Restaurant - Negril
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House Villas

Property: Beach House Villas
Address: Norman Manley Blvd | On the Seven Mile Beach (beside T-Water Beach Hotel), Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Negril
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#37 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach House Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Jamaica's western tip lies a beautiful and magical place - Negril. The seven mile beach is a magnificent stretch of white Jamaican sand along which are dotted low-rise hotels, resorts and guest cottages hidden among the palms. Three fabulous villas on the water's edge, each with breathtaking views of the Caribbean Sea. Enjoy our 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 bedroom villas, or Studio Villa - which offer the very best in modern conveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Beach House Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach House Villas Hotel Negril
Beach Hotel Negril
Beach House Villas Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing