We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seastar Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Seastar Inn to your Saves list
Seastar Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 2653, Negril, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
BOOK DIRECT AND SAVE
Ranked #23 of 88 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I love the Seastar. My BFF and I go at least once a year. We have met great people there and the staff is like family. We love SeaStar. Just like they say, "come as a guest and leave as family." That's so true. Now we go to Seastar to see our family, enjoy Negril, and relax!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malpetunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    64
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
47
120
45
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Spent only one night. went mostly for the concert, but enjoyed the place. The concert was not disappointing. The food was good. The staff was fantastic. Extremely helpful and accommodating. Did everything to make us feel at home.
Great value for money. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank james p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I had a wonderful time at the SeaStar Inn. I had all the accommodations that I have back home which included A/C and Wifi.

The staff was very friendly anything my family and I asked them to do they graciously did it with a smile, and if they couldn't do it they'd do their best to try and get the next best thing or find an alternative solution. You also develop a bond with the staff as if they're your own family.

Over the place is nice for the price, the food was good, but really wanted to see some more authentic Jamaican food and the bar drinks were good as well.

If I'm ever in Negril again I would stay here and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Asanderson828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Home away from home, you are just right at home. First visit in 2004 and still lov'in the vibes. I have over 26 years travelling to Negril and well over 60 visits. Seen it, been there, done it. By far the Seastar Inn is the place to stay, great rooms, food is fab and everything you could dream of. The staff is more superior than anywhere I have ever stayed. They are responsible for me coming back time and time again. They are family and treat you just like it every time. From a tiny place to a bigger tiny place what I really respect is the investment back into the hotel. The owners Chris and Francine have worked so hard to put their money back into the hotel to make their family of many friends a very enjoyable vacation. That's respect in a big thank you way. If you need anything on your stay at Seastar, don't be shy, just ask. You are family and loved. I say you cant go wrong, give it try. Being relaxed with no pressure in warm friendly atmosphere is what vacations are all about. Its got a lot of class. Just to be clear all the staff at Seastar from house keeping, office, kitchen, bartending, groundskeeper, security, music guy and owners all go over and beyond,.... everyday shift to ensure their guests come back. They are the family of memorable vacations.....................!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, you cant pick a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

My room was 5. I had a king size bed, fridge, sink, desk, tv with cable (few channels), and bureau. Also I had a porch with a hammock. The place wasn't ready when I arrived. The cleaning folks had to come in and change the sheets and stuff. I went to the bar to try out the food and when I was done eating and having two beers, they were gone. The place looked clean enough.

Food was alright. Nothing to write home about. Plenty of choices to choose from.

People were friendly for the most part. They weren't very outgoing but if you talked to them, they were pretty nice. I think this is just how people in Jamaica are as it seems to be a common theme.

The landscape was lovely. You definitely felt that tropical experience. All sorts of critters chirping all throughout the evening. If you want quiet, you won't get it here. I was able to sleep fine but I can see some people having issues with the crickets.

Location blew. Nothing appears to be short walking distances. The closest beach required a cab or you had to drive yourself.

Pool was clean. At night, they turn on the lights in the pool and it has this glow to it. Real nice.

Unfortunately, not too many people stayed here when I did. Its a shame because the place is pretty good. Only downside being the location. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a second floor room to get a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

As a local. It felt warm and quite friendly while there.
However they need to put in proper checks
and balances in order not to call quest about missing orange sheets.It was very embrassing to get a call about sheets.
I wonder if they would do this to foreigner or if its applies only to locals. After calling to talk to personnel I was told ,sometimes people mistaken pack things away (bright orange coloured sheets).I wanted my staycation to leave good memories but I regret going.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kayan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Seastar Inn has been my first choice for my stay while in Negril for years now ... the owners , Chiris and his lovely wife Francine , as well as all the great staff , make your stay memorable and fun.Saturday Nights are special there . with live musical entertainment . drummers with dancers , as well as an incredible buffet ...foods delicious !! Rooms are clean and comfortable . and the yard is full of a wide variety of plants and trees , lots of humming birds and tree frogs that sing in the evening ... swim up bar makes afternoon chillaxing fun , or theres a shuttle to take groups down to the beach for the day ... first time there I knew I found my second home , a place where I have brought group after group of Family members of who share my memories of paradise .. The Seastar Inn ... see you in Feb !!

Room Tip: my fav is the one right by the pool ... stairs lead out of the room right down to the wata
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimmyspliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.8 mi away
Westender Inn
Westender Inn
#24 of 88 in Negril
4.5 of 5 stars 364 reviews
1.4 mi away
Catcha Falling Star Gardens
1.0 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#31 of 88 in Negril
3.5 of 5 stars 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 88 in Negril
4.5 of 5 stars 722 reviews
0.4 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#5 of 88 in Negril
5.0 of 5 stars 899 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Travellers Beach Resort
#16 of 88 in Negril
4.5 of 5 stars 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seastar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seastar Inn

Property: Seastar Inn
Address: P.O. Box 2653, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#6 Family Hotel in Negril
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#18 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Seastar Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seastar Inn is located about 500 yards from the West End cliffs. Accommodations are nestled amongst beautiful, ultra-clean, manicured gardens. An enormous variety of tropical plants, trees, shrubs and flowers shroud the property. Featured onsite is a large, private swimming pool with swim-up bar, gazebo, and lounging chairs. There is also a recreational area with big screen television, dartboard, table tennis and pool table. The Seastar Inn also hosts its very own full-service restaurant and bar featuring a complimentary continental breakfast, with an extensive lunch and dinner menu. Saturday Night Live Reggae Show with buffet. Wireless Internet in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Seastar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seastar Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing