We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time”
Review of Seastar Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Seastar Inn
Ranked #1 of 42 Negril B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Had a great time”
Reviewed April 2, 2008

We stayed at the seastar for the first time in march this year we had a great time the resort was very clean and the staff were great and made us feel very welcome the food was great and the coco bread club sandwichs were excellent what i did notice at the hotel was that there were a lot of returning guest which was a good sign if you have book to stay here then you are making an excellent chocie
please email me if you have any questions
Thanks

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — internet
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank wythenshawe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    67
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
53
128
49
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2008

Due to a misunderstanding at booking we wanted to leave the Seastar Inn about 2 seconds after arriving, but I am glad we didn't. The Seastar is a very safe and comfortable place off the beaten path on the cliffs in Negril. There is a free computer terminal right outside the office which is seemingly in constant demand. The rooms are equipped with many American TV channels including CNN, the Weather Channel and even some premium channels like HBO (IIRC). There was more than adequate hot water in our room (#14) for us to take two very long, consecutive showers after arriving. The grounds were laid out very efficiently with the employees using areas under some of the rooms and they were almost unnoticeable. The food and service are exceptional. My favorite was the Red Snapper in escoveitch sauce. For $10US we were served an incredible entree with two massive sides (garlic mashed potatoes were my favorite)...Being a small place they let you sign your bill to your room and pay at check out. This made drinking by the pool very convenient as well. Breakfast was adequate with an egg dish, bread, fruit, pancakes, juice and coffee. For free, no complaints. After the gates lock at night Rottweiler 's patrol the grounds adding to the secure, almost compound-like feeling. The hotel also doubles a a nursery with potted plants on the ground for sale.
Okay here are my complaints. When we booked we inquired about their airport shuttle service but never received an adequate response so we made our own arrangements. Immediately upon arriving we were treated to a COLD reception and informed they had sent a driver for us and he had waited in vain (on Christmas Day) for us to show. We 'tucked our tails' as we were led to our room. Incessant apologies and constant patronage at their restaurant and bar (every meal we were there) did little to alleviate this treatment. Also the hotel boasts a free shuttle to the beach but as our luck had it, it didn't run on Boxing Day (December 26) so we incurred over $15US in cab fare to and from seven mile beach that day. To their credit when we wanted something from the corner store but were too sore to walk and get it, Chris, the owner , sent his guy to get it for us.
So all-in-all this place exceeded my expectations in the service and food quality areas but the aforementioned transportation related issues reduced my overall experience to average at best. Would I stay at Seastar again? Yes if I ever planned on returning to Negril, but after discovering and spending a week in Treasure Beach I doubt the opportunityv will occur.

  • Liked — food
  • Disliked — reception upon arrival
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Bauernhoffen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2008

This hotel is great. The rooms are incredibly clean, the grounds are beautiful, and the rate is great! The owners are extremely helpful. They can call you a cab, refer you to somebody local that can take you on a day trip, or offer any advice that you may need. They also have a great reggae band on Saturday nights if you are lucky enough to be there on this day of the week. The shuttle to the beach is very useful, it leaves at 10 or 11 each day and returns at 4pm. it is free and very convenient. Related, the location is excellent for exploring all of the great restaurants on the West End. our favorite (and best value) was the LTU Pub. It is called a pub, but i am not sure why, as it offers great food. This hotel is not on the beach, but it is right across the street from Catcha Falling Star resort which you can go to if you feel like watching the sunset, relaxing, or swimming off of the cliffs.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, staff helpfulness
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank kacanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2008

Attended the Seastar Saturday night buffet, before checking in for 5 nights on the Monday, Christmas Eve. Since I would be checking out the following Saturday morning, I did not want to miss this evening that I had heard so much about. You can watch it live on http://www.realnegril.com each Sat. night. Great buffet for $12.00 and live music to entertain us.

This year I went to Negril with my husband, son, daughter and her boyfriend. After sepnding 5 nights on the beach we went to Seastar to relax and enjoy the what the Westend had to offer. Since this was my 3rd stay in 3 years at Seastar, I have to say I am a little biased and cannot say enough of this bed and breakfast Inn.

We had a terrific Christmas dinner, which Chris and Francine, the owner's hosted. Approx 70 people were there to enjoy the turkey, ham, mashed potatoes, stuffing and yummy gravey not to forget the tasty frozen cream cheese cake!

The place is kept clean and spotless. Francine is a very talented lady who also runs her own plant nursery and has her own handicrafts. My husband purchased a very vibrant wooden carved rooster that sits proudly in our living room.

Always a retreat to return to and look forward to my next visit.

  • Liked — Clean Rooms - working air conditioners - great food - nice staff
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Cobblett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2008

Best price/quality value! It is really inexpensive but ooh, so friendly and professionally run. Don't expect luxury, but everything is there and it works. Our family of two adults and two grown kids just spent Christmas week at the Seastar and had a wonderful time. It is not on the beach and you can walk to another resort to sit around on the rocks or take a shuttle to the 7 mile beach. If we had any complaint, it was that there really was not a great place to lay down and read. There are only 4 chaises around the pool at the Seastar, the beach is fun but crowded and noisy and the resort on the rocks has very few lounges. The Seastar's owners, Chris and Francine are very attentive. They gave us rides, arranged excursions, had a Turkey Christmas dinner, etc. The rest of the staff is also professional and friendly. For an inexpensive stay with real Jamaican flavor, the Seastar is terrific.

  • Liked — Comfortable 2 bedroom unit with living room and porch, very comfortable for the family
  • Disliked — It is pretty basic.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Amerloque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2007

Finally just getting around to put in a good word about Seastar. My wife and I stayed there for a week in March, and I can not say enough about the great hospitality at the Seastar. Chris and Francine are two of the nicest folks you ever want to meet. Any thing you need is taken care of for you. The gardens are awsome and well taken cared for. The rooms were spotless, and cleaned everyday by Loretta. The chef Baker is an incredible cook, we never ate anywhere else in Negril because we knew any place other than Seastar would have been a let down. The coco bread lobster salad sandwich was addicting, I had 5 of them during our stay. The Saturday buffet was killer and so were the jams by Rasta Ralfie at the Twisted By the Pool Party. The staff really makes you feel at home. Will be back at the Seastar for sure, the sooner the better !!! Thanks Chris for everything...Dino and Lisa....... p.s. Don't forget to bring home a few bottles of Francine's homemade hot sauce, its mighty good stuff.

  • Liked — The friendly staff and owners made sure you had a good stay !!!
  • Disliked — Having to leave the Seastar and go back home !!!
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
14 Thank Dino46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miwaukee, wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2007

Both my wife and I are recently retired from high presure jobs. Our friends have attempted on several ocassions to have us join them at the Seastar Inn; However do to other obligations we were unable to join them. This time when they asked we were ready. We have been to Jamaica twice before and it was apparent the safety in the areas we visited were a chief concern to us. We arrived before our friends did
as their flight had to be rerouted. So for one day we were there without them (they had been at the Seastar trice before and knew the atmosphere). Well it didn't take long for us to start to enjoy the Seastar Inn. First we changed into our swimming suits and we started to enjoy the swim-up bar with those amazing mudslide drinks that clarol and Joel would make for us. Later we ordered food from the menu at the bar. When the food arrived the preparation and presentation was outstanding. The amount of food was enough for two people and it was very tasty. Upon our arrival we met Diane, the Seastar manager who took personal care us. We later met the owners, Chris and his beautiful wife Francine, These two people were simply wonderful to us and to all the guest and. I felt like we were with family. Soon we started to meet all the staff, Joel, Clarol, Joyce, Barbara, Michelle, loretta, Ann,"T", Oney, Garret, and last but not least Baker, the Chef that cooked all those magnificent meals to perfection. Everytime we left our huge clean room the atmosphere at the Seastar was one that let you realize that you were on
"Vacation". When our friends arrived the PARTY was on. They relieved me of all my safety concerns when they explain to me that if you are with Chris you like a made Man. Chris had a good reputation in the area and his Guest were off limits. We were booked for 10 days but, we extended for 7 days more and so did our friends. I wish we were there now, we will be back. next year if not sooner. "Thanks Chris and Francine for making this the Best Vacation Ever." We were there from April 2-19th, 2007........ review by Buffalo and Janice, Milwaukee, Wisconsin

  • Liked — hot water, large clean air condition room, excellent food
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank buffalosoldiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
1.2 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#34 of 80 in Negril
1,328 reviews
0.4 mi away
Catcha Falling Star Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 80 in Negril
837 reviews
2.8 mi away
Westender Inn
Westender Inn
#30 of 80 in Negril
392 reviews
0.4 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#5 of 80 in Negril
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seastar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seastar Inn

Property: Seastar Inn
Address: 4 Seastar Road | West End, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Seastar Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seastar Inn is located about 500 yards from the West End cliffs. Accommodations are nestled amongst beautiful, ultra-clean, manicured gardens. An enormous variety of tropical plants, trees, shrubs and flowers shroud the property. Featured onsite is a large, private swimming pool with swim-up bar, gazebo, and lounging chairs. There is also a recreational area with big screen television, dartboard, table tennis and pool table. The Seastar Inn also hosts its very own full-service restaurant and bar featuring a complimentary continental breakfast, with an extensive lunch and dinner menu. Saturday Night Live Reggae Show with buffet. Wireless Internet in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Seastar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seastar Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing