We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steamed Fish”

The Best in the West
Ranked #8 of 196 Restaurants in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Jamaican
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Steamed Fish”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Ordered the steamed fish because it would be a wait for a new batch of jerk chicken. Nice portion of fish with okra, peppers, onions. Ordered rice and peas and plantain to go with. Filling meal at a reasonable price. Waitress was a sweet and quiet gal but gave very good service with drinks and checking in on us. Good mixed drinks - dirty bananas. It was busy and all tables out front were filled and people driving up to pick up the jerk chicken they ordered. Nice likkle bar at night. Across the street from Idle Awhile and Charella Inn and a good local spot to try to have a break from hotel and beach restaurant prices. The owners are a nice family and if you are looking for a spot to stay a few extra days in Negril you can rent an apartment or cabin for $40 to $50 per night (low to high season) from the family. There is a likkle grocery store for a few items and drinks right on the property too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zenaida P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    195
    59
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Grove, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Not enough heat but absolutely enjoyable”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Food =3 stars
Service= 4 stars

Food was average but what keeps me coming back is the friendly service. (OK and honestly, its because its super close to my hotel)

I've tried their shrimp, chicken and steamed fish.
I'd say skip the shrimp, not worth the price.
Rice and peas were bland BUT..... its unique. I tasted a hint of coconut milk in their rice and it was a pleasant surprise.
Coleslaw is standard.

I do recommend at least trying it once! But it wasn't the best jerk in Negril in my opinion. (It's also because I prefer things slightly spicier.)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sapphirina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catonsville, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Overrated!!!!”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

This is by no means good jerk by any stretch of the imagination. The sauce is bland and the chicken dry plus the service is shoddy at best. They seem to care less whether or not you buy from them. Be to Jamaica 10+ times and will never go back here again!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank taijimike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Now I know what Jerk chicken is really like”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

This is spicy, tender chicken I loved it. It is cooked all day and all the juices waiting to pop out. You can order rice and peas. I suggest you do.

Helpful?
Thank marylandtraveler1B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Yummy and relatively cheap compared to other places in the area. Big, delicious portions! Cute little shack by the side of the road.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nystar86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Best in the West also viewed

Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to The Best in the West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing