We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“jerk chicken!!!!!”

The Best in the West
Ranked #9 of 196 Restaurants in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Jamaican
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Eldridge, Iowa, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“jerk chicken!!!!!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Amazing and right across the road from CocoLaPalm. Have a dirty banana while you wait. Also had the shrimp and rice.....cannot beat this place.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    195
    59
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Jerk & Vibe”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Did a serious jerk chicken adventure this past trip and out of the six places we ate jerk, have to day Best in the West gets our vote with 3 Dives coming in a close 2nd.
Great vibe just hanging out around the bar too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food very nice staff”
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Orlando was awesome he wasn't even working and took the time to tell us where great food and good times would be. he also the next day gave us tips and tricks for the island. Great bartender and very nice guy. jerk chicken was fantastic and a very large offering for the price we paid.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank juliaforbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very good--but not our favorite for jerk chicken”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Our family went to the The Best for lunch. Good jerk chicken, but not our favorite. Employees did not give you the feeling that they cared if you were there or not.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jhawker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woburn, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Traditional jerk chicken!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Best of the West was right outside of the CocoLaPalm Resort, where we stayed. They're open from 11 a.m. to 11 p.m. so we would cross the street and order a take out. Their jerk chicken is wonderful and very popular among Jamaicans!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Raquel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Best in the West also viewed

Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to The Best in the West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing