We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise is so attainable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Mahoe Restaurant at The SPA Retreat

Blue Mahoe Restaurant at The SPA Retreat
Ranked #6 of 195 Restaurants in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $35
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Negril, Jamaica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise is so attainable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

We were greeted by Gregory what a kind gentleman we had jerk shrimp appetizer also conch appetizer with lobster seafood pasta meal was outstanding bill out door 75 American

Helpful?
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    59
    20
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great ambience; awesome food; wonderful service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

We dined one evening at Blue Mahoe during our recent stay on the cliffs. We really enjoyed our meals. I ordered the cocount shrimp with mashed potatoes ($20). They were honestly the largest shrimp I've ever seen and super tender! My husband ordered the snapper escovitch with mashed potatoes ($15). It was wonderful. The staff was super attentive and very friendly. The ambience was romantic. We walked around the property after dinner because we are contemplating staying at the SPA during our next trip to Negril. It is beautiful!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CarlaB1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia, md
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb atmosphere, great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

In a sentence - fantastic outdoor location and good food!

We came via scooter for early dinner and were greeted right away by the gate security guard who guided us through the property to a restaurant waiter named Marvin. I wanted to sit outdoors by the water even though there were dark clouds in the sky - we were willing to risk it and our waiter indulged our wishes and brought cushions, placemats, etc outside so we can enjoy our meal.
Atmosphere - we were there before sunset and the food came out as the sun was setting. We were surrounded over 180 degrees by water and sky which I really loved as there was also ocean breeze as we ate.
Food - we had a side of plantains, the red snapper grilled and jerk alfredo pasta - all were tasty and cooked well. We've had our share of local brown stew and jerk pork/chicken throughout the week so this was a really nice departure from the cheap local scene. Had the vanilla cake with lychee - which was so-so.
Service - our server Marvin was great. He checked on us at appropriate times and was really friendly and had a good attitude/sense of humor about us wanting to sit at the table furthest from the kitchen. When the drizzling started to get heavier we finally moved inside for dessert.
Overall - I would definitely return here when I feel like another treat out. There are other more affordable tasty local places but for a nicer night out, this definitely does not break the bank.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank murrji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

We sat next to the water and watched the sun set before we ate. It was romantic and quiet and the service and food were wonderful. I would recommend anyone going to Negril to have dinner here.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Dined here twice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Blue Mahoe amazing
Service was outstanding
Food fantastic and as result chose to go back for my 62nd birthday.
If you haven't been to Blue Mahoe you definitely need to give it a try

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JahCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Mahoe Restaurant at The SPA Retreat also viewed

 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to Blue Mahoe Restaurant at The SPA Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing