We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful views, great food!”

Blue Mahoe Restaurant at The SPA Retreat
Ranked #3 of 194 Restaurants in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $35
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Atlanta
Level Contributor
105 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

The food was wonderful and the location for a romantic dinner couldn't be any better. They have outdoor seating overlooking the ocean and if you time it right, the sunset.

As we were staying at the hotel on the same property, we ate here several times and weren't disappointed. We especially loved the coconut shrimp and shrimp pot.

The service was a bit slow compared to American standards, but on par for Jamaican standards- considering everything was cooked to order, it's worth the wait.

I would highly recommend eating here,at least once, if you're in Negril and especially if you're looking for the most romantic spot to have a special dinner.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JenBeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at Blue Mahoe Restaurant at The SPA Retreat, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Blue Mahoe while staying as guests of The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel! We are pleased that you enjoyed the cliff side setting at sunset! Please accept our apologies if the fresh "farm to table" service was not well timed however we are thrilled that you felt the savory dishes were worth the wait! One love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    60
    20
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
302 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Mango Creme Brulee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Came here specifically for the mango creme brulee and it was very much worth it. The texture was less like a creme brulee and a little bit more like a flan, but who cares...it was delicious!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at Blue Mahoe Restaurant at The SPA Retreat, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. We must agree the Mango Creme Brulee, prepared with fresh organic fruit, is one of our most delicious and invigorating desserts! We appreciate your note on the texture and will certainly confer with our pastry chef. We look forward to your return, one love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philly
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good meal, pricey and smaller portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

food tasted great, we just wanted more of it - the rolled chicken with Calloo and goat cheese was great.

the apps are tiny and expensive, better off with a shared salad and entree

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mawith99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at Blue Mahoe Restaurant at The SPA Retreat, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for providing your feedback as we value finding new ways to improve the experience of our guests. Although you found the portions were not to your liking we are happy to note that the quality and flavor of the food was satisfying and can understand how our savory dishes could leave you wanting more! We welcome you to join us again for another taste of Blue Mahoe Restaurant where I am sure you will notice improvements! One love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

My wife and I ate breakfast, lunch and dinner at this restaurant while staying at the SPA Retreat for five days. Plenty of healthy options and variety. Significantly better than the food at other all-inclusive resorts we've stayed at in Negril.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at Blue Mahoe Restaurant at The SPA Retreat, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are happy to learn that you enjoyed the fresh "farm to table" experience offered in our Blue Mahoe Restaurant while staying as a guest of The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel! We look forward to serving many more dishes of our organic cuisine upon your return. One love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tpclapham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best coconut shrimp & snapper”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had a few meals here during a week-long stay split between another hotel and the Spa Retreat. My favorite meal of our trip was the Blue Mahoe's coconut shrimp appetizer and spicy snapper cooked in coconut milk. Diners can sit either in a well-lit area inside (a dimmer switch or alterate lighting configurations might be considered for dialing up the romance) or by the sea with a view across the bay of Seven Mile beach. The Blue Mahoe was very clean-- brand-new, almost. The views aren't as dynamic as at Ivan's or Rockhouse, but the food was fantastic.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank tpclapham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at Blue Mahoe Restaurant at The SPA Retreat, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure to have you dine with us while staying as a guest of The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel! We are thrilled to learn that our Blue Mahoe team created your favorite meal of the trip and must agree the coconut shrimp & snapper are delicious. We look forward to your return, one love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Mahoe Restaurant at The SPA Retreat also viewed

 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to Blue Mahoe Restaurant at The SPA Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing