We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!”

Blue Mahoe Restaurant at The SPA Retreat
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Mahoe Restaurant at The SPA Retreat is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 206 Restaurants in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $35
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My wife and I ate breakfast, lunch and dinner at this restaurant while staying at the SPA Retreat for five days. Plenty of healthy options and variety. Significantly better than the food at other all-inclusive resorts we've stayed at in Negril.

Thank Matt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at Blue Mahoe Restaurant at The SPA Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you for your review! We are happy to learn that you enjoyed the fresh "farm to table" experience offered in our Blue Mahoe Restaurant while staying as a guest of The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel! We look forward to serving many more dishes of our organic cuisine upon your return. One love.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (460)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

375 - 379 of 460 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had a few meals here during a week-long stay split between another hotel and the Spa Retreat. My favorite meal of our trip was the Blue Mahoe's coconut shrimp appetizer and spicy snapper cooked in coconut milk. Diners can sit either in a well-lit area inside (a dimmer switch or alterate lighting configurations might be considered for dialing up the romance) or by the sea with a view across the bay of Seven Mile beach. The Blue Mahoe was very clean-- brand-new, almost. The views aren't as dynamic as at Ivan's or Rockhouse, but the food was fantastic.

Thank tpclapham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at Blue Mahoe Restaurant at The SPA Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure to have you dine with us while staying as a guest of The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel! We are thrilled to learn that our Blue Mahoe team created your favorite meal of the trip and must agree the coconut shrimp & snapper are delicious. We look forward to your return, one love.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We went to the restaurant at Blue Mahoe this evening, as a suggestion from our hotel owner, and it was excellent! Our wait staff were kind, friendly and made us feel so welcome. The food was delicious and the atmosphere was perfect, including a sunset view! It was everything a night out should be.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at Blue Mahoe Restaurant at The SPA Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review. We trust that you enjoyed the food & service while dining cliff side at sunset. Our team strives to provide attention to every detail to ensure a memorable experience for all. We look forward to the possibility of having you as a guest of The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel upon your return to Negril, one love.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed in the hotel and have eated many times in the restaurant for lunch and dinner. The quality is perfect and meets European standards (also on the cleanness) and is a warm welcome as this is rare in Negril. It's fresh and home made food, and service with a smile. The menu is different on lunch time or dinner time. The menu list offers a selection of food styles for everyone (meat, fish, vegi, European style or Jamaican style). As everything is fresh and home made, you can also order off the menu or adjust your order as you wish.

Thank SMP B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at Blue Mahoe Restaurant at The SPA Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for your review! We are happy to learn that you enjoyed the warm and friendly service provided by our team while staying as guests of The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel. We pride ourselves on using the finest of ingredients to prepare fresh, organic cuisine for our guests. Any dish on the menu can be customized upon request to meet your personal needs and desires. Until next time, one love.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The Blue Mahoe has a wonderful view and a nice menu.
We liked many things on the menu(coconut shrimp, snapper escovitch, lobster tail, stuffed chicken and jerk chicken alfredo).
Presention outstanding, service impeccable.
While the food was good, the same meal does not come out the same 2 times in a row.
Biggest disappointment: margarine!
As a guest of the resort, we would have liked to see more snack/bar options on the menu.
We shared our thoughts with the staff who was very open to suggestions and ideas.
Looking forward to our next visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sheista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at Blue Mahoe Restaurant at The SPA Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for sharing a review of your experience while staying as a guest of The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel! We are pleased to note that you enjoyed a variety of items from our International and Traditional Jamaican menus offered for breakfast, lunch & dinner and must agree the coconut shrimp is excellent! We do in fact offer guests genuine butter exclusively, however, it is generally warmed prior to serving. Based on your feedback we are now formulating a feature bar menu with snack items and have provided training for our chefs to ensure consistency with the presentation of all meals. Thank you & one love.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Mahoe Restaurant at The SPA Retreat also viewed

 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to Blue Mahoe Restaurant at The SPA Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing