We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Runaway Bride : - )” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swordfish Restaurant and Bar

Swordfish Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #49 of 186 Restaurants in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Waupun, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Runaway Bride : - )”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Luv this place. The lobster Mac and cheese is to die for. The service, staff and scenery where equally as terrific. The ice cream was a daily stop. Can't wait to come back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    19
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent fare and reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

A beautiful spot away from the 'busyness' of 7-mile beach. I believe this is where the chef from our hotel went to work after he left the hotel. Very clean. Could be very romantic. We both had the local lobster - quite different from Canadian! It was excellent, and the price was great as well. I would highly recommend the Swordfish.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Guppielady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A hidden gem, a stunning rooftop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

It was just after Christmas when my wife, stepdad and myself were wandering Negril looking for a good place to eat. We walked by several, and even walked in a few that looked promising. In most cases we were met with indifference at the door (if we were met at all) and weren't made to feel particularly welcome at any of the ones we tried.

And then we came upon the Swordfish. Outside the door, Kemp, the owner, invited us in. As we came in the main section, a lovely waitress smiled and asked us if we would be dining with them this evening. That's better.

The Swordfish is a gem, with incomparable rooftop dining, and incomparable hosts in Kemp and his wife. The food was very, very good (certainly on par with anything we'd found to date...and we've been to Negril 15 times or so) and the service was outstanding. We visited twice during our stay this time around, including dinner on New Years Eve. Again, the view from the roof is simply outstanding, the breezes intoxicating, the bar right there, the reggae playing. It was heavenly.

We are heading back to Negril in a month or so, and look forward to seeing our friends at the Swordfish again. It was great.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Sackville
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Jamaican Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We heard from another couple who had eaten there how good the food was. We went for breakfast the next day and we were sorry we had not discovered this place beforehand. We went up to the top and were able to watch the water and boats go by. We all tried the different Jamaican breakfasts and all were very good. My favourite was the salt fish and beans.Mmmmmm This will be one of our first restaurant stops next time we go so we can try more dishes.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank suetravels10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

LOVED Swordfish!! Been going to Jamaica for 20 years, which means we have become accustom to bland food and slow service. Not so here!! Allison was amazing - everything was excellent - food was great and service was 5- star!! The roof-top dining made it all perfect!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swordfish Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to Swordfish Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing