We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice pizza + okay drinks + great vibe + very strange music!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Kenny Italian Cafe

Kenny Italian Cafe
Ranked #32 of 194 Restaurants in Negril
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice pizza + okay drinks + great vibe + very strange music!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Kenny's is a great place to hang out if you are in Negril....the pizza is fantastic. What is always a strange thing however is that they have this fabulous premium bar, but no one knows how to make any drinks other than the norm (wine, beer, rum and coke) - no blended, no martinis' -- very odd. Why have vermouth on the Bar if none of the Server's know what to do with it, for example?

The music which is played for hours and hours right through dinner and after is a little weird too - no reggae, yet here we are in Negril Jamaica! Not that the music is bad, but it is a little new agey....that needs to be looked into! Perhaps this only happens when certain DJ's are in house? Not sure....

All in all, a lovely hang out spot, good pizza, great owner, good vibe...need a good bar menu to match the premium liqour on the shelf, needs a better DJ too.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JMP1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    115
    47
    16
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The food and atmosphere here are like nothing else in Negril, Jamaica.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Excellent food and excellent atmosphere. I couldn't decide what to drink so my server suggested a Ting and apple vodka- it was perfect!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JoyMontes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
321 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 361 helpful votes
“Our Go-To Spot for Pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

We dined here 3 times on our visit. Our first visit, CB2 ordered spaghetti carbonara and CB1 a deluxe pizza. Both were excellent, large pieces of crisped back bacon (possibly pancetta) in the carbonara sauce, and the pizza, crisped and as good as anything we have enjoyed anywhere. This accompanied by a bottle of Chianti...and a HUGE piece of moist and delicious carrot cake. THAT got us back again, for a repeat, a day later, this time just pizzas, again a bottle of Chiant and another piece of the carrot cake. Again outstanding pizza. It should be said, this place has friendly staff, a house DJ quietly spinning tunes, at just the right volume, not obtrusive, and a great accompaniment to dinner. We often had to ask the name of the songs...we knew them, but his spinning added a little vibe. This place gets busy with locals who frequent it (and the side bar) because it is a locals favourite and also order takeout. In any event we enjoyed it so much we went for a 3rd time (we did eat elsewhere as well :). This time we had appys, desert again a bottle of Chianti. This is the kind of place you can dawdle in...for hours, listening to soft music, talking and meeting some new people if you happen to share some of the large inside tables, as we did. Open late. Low prices. Recommended.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadianBoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, MB, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Tasty pizza but slow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

Usually we love chicken and rice and pizza but eventually we crave pizza. It's a nice spot and Kenny and most of his staff are friendly if you take t he time to chat with them. The pizza tastes great and is cooked from scratch from the time you order. However be prepared to wait regardless if there is a crowd or not. If they are not taking your order be polite and tell them you are ready. I am not sure why, we were there when it was not busy only another couple at another table who were just finishing their meal. I had to help myself to a menu and wait a very long time to be served. We waited because we knew the pizza ( if you like thin crust) is worth it. If you can ask for Patricia, she is awesome and really goes the extra mile. On another visit we wanted the Rasta Pizza (veg) with pepperoni and paid 100J (about $1.50) extra for the meat. Hardy got any, I think 1 piece/slice, next time I would just order the Rasta or just the pepperoni with onion and crushed pepper. Tasty pizza, worth the wait and it's ok to be politely assertive to get their attention to serve.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilove2Swim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
148 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Locals' Place for Pizza”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

You'll only find-out about this place from the locals and that's who were the primary clientele on the nite I was there (Valentine's Day - 9 PM ). We only had the pizza and it was decent - the best I've had in Jamaica, but not the best I've had in general. Service was slow, the small crowd notwithstanding. Outdoor and open air seating and there was a DJ there that nite. I'll go back for pizza, but based on the other reviews, nothing else. A fun place to hand-out but certainly not a romantic dinner spot.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlieVPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kenny Italian Cafe also viewed

Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to Kenny Italian Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing