We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect dream”
Review of Sandy Haven Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sandy Haven Resort
Ranked #16 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
anytown,new york
1 review
“The perfect dream”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

I can't say enough about the relaxing stay we had recently at Sandy "Heaven". The grounds are exquisitely beautiful and well kept. The pool was clean and in the shade for mornings and afternoons which was outstanding. Whoever designed the grounds did an optimal job. The breakfast was outstanding and the staff was extremely polite and accommodating. Having Bongos restaurant and bar was also a big plus.
Security was always very attentive and demarcation lines on the beach (planters) always seemed respected by the public. The beach areas are immaculately kept. The beach Bar was very convenient and service to lounge chairs was optimal. Of course the Beach speaks for itself...just Nirvana.....my hats off to Pops and Romeo and the rest of the wonderful staff.
Might I also say that our massages were expertly done...the ambiance was other worldly....

Room Tip: A first or second floor in front (beachside) is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frmn88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    184
    47
    33
    22
See reviews for
77
328
38
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I have traveled all around the world and I don't book a trip without first conferring with Tripadvisor Additionally, I am not a frequent review writer. With that said I had such an enjoyable experience at Sandy Haven that I must share with those that use Trip Advisor as their Bible and are looking for a place in Negril. From the moment we stepped foot on the propoerty until the moment we left the staff at Sandy Haven was nothing short of Amazing. Pops welcomed us like family and was all too happy to provide recommendations and give us the lay of the land. Anything we needed he was willing and able to assist. Ricardo served us breakfast each morning and was very flexible when we asked if we could have breakfast on our beachfront patio instead of the breakfast are. When we arrived the hotel had excess capacity. We expressed that we were having issues with our toilet and without batting an eye Jerome upgraded us to an oceanfront room! What great customer service and customer focus. Because of the size of the hotel you get great attention from the staff and it was clear that they were all there to ensure that you had a great time. They do a great job of ensuring that beach merchants don't bother you. You engage with them only if you like. They essentially can't cross the line of the potted plants.

We didn't have a bad meal the entire time that we were in Negril. The location of the hotel allows you to venture out if you like. The hotel is across the street from "Best in the West" jerk stand, which has amazing jerk chicken. We tried Bongos one of the nights that we were there and my fiancee, couldn't stop raving about his dish! I would also recommend "Cool Spot" for lunch and dinner if you are interested in eating where the locals eat.

We walked up and down the beach and I can say that Sandy Haven is the most modern out of all of the hotels in this stretch of beach. If you are looking for a boutique hotel and an authentic feel away from the madness of the large all- inclusives then this is the place for you!

Sandy Haven will always be a bright spot in my memory because we got engaged on the beautiful beach! Thank you so much to the staff for making this a memorable experience for me and my fiancee!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Applelonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2014

As a Jamaican, I have been to Negril many times in my life, often for a day trip so I know the area. I have stayed overnight a few times in a few different places as well, and nothing has ever come close to the wonderful accommodations at Sandy Haven. Between the friendly staff, the excellent meal options and sleeping right on the waterfront, there is nothing more you could ask for.

Room Tip: second or third floor is nicest
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I absolutely loved staying at Sandy Haven! The location was perfect, right on the beach. The room was beautiful and the staff were all so friendly. The restaurant located in the hotel was marvelous and delicious. Overall, great place! I will certainly return!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Yanira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

My friends and I, who are single had our third trip to Jamaica over Memorial Day weekend and stayed a week at Sandy Haven. The previous times we stayed at Coco La Palm, but decided we wanted to check out the more modern property right next door. When we travel we all stay in separate rooms. We have friends on the island and want to enjoy our space when on vacation. This hotel required that I sign in my guests (male or female) and pay an additional $60 fee per day to have an overnight guest. I do not stay at all inclusive hotels for this very reason. I have traveled all around the world and my hotel room payment always covers for double occupancy even when I am the only one in the room. When I booked the room I had no clue a friend would come from another part of the island to hang for a few days. This is the main reason I would not recommend this property to a single traveler unless you plan on having no guest. In addition, the additional fee they require was way too high for just the daily continental breakfast. Bottom line this policy felt more like a dorm room than a hotel. I did address the issue with the owner and in her defense she says it is for security reasons. However, I never had this “security issue” right next door at Coco La Palm.
So if you are a couple or a single planning to have no guest and you want a modern feel to your hotel then Sandy Haven would meet that requirement. The staff (Pops, Denim, Keon, Romaine) were excellent and made me feel immediately like family. I am so sorry to say that with this policy I will only be back to say hi, because I will be next door at Coco La Palm.

This is my story and I am sticking to it!!! Love Negril and the People!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sonnyday31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHRsm, Reservations at Sandy Haven Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Valued Partner,

Thank you for choosing Sandy Haven resort for your recent stay in Negril, Jamaica. I presume that your stay at our property was very enjoyable with the exception of the additional person rate that you had to pay for your overnighting guest. I notice that you had spoken to the owner concerning the extra charge and she had advise that it was for security purposes that any additional guest should be registered at the front desk before entering the room. Additionally our rooms are sold on a per person basis therefore the rate you paid for your room is significantly less than if you were to booked for two people; consequently the additional persons rate becomes applicable. Furthermore we have a contractual obligation to our tour operators to adhere to the original booking arrangements that you have made and apply the necessary cost where applicable if an additional person will be staying in the room. I do hope that this provide some clarity on the matter and that you will be more open experience the joy that is Sandy Haven Resort in your future stay on our little island.

Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent two nights here after our wedding at the RIU. This was a paradise and the intimacy we enjoyed. The beach is amazing and the jerk chicken is awesome. We frequent Jamaica, and we will hopefully visit sandy haven again when in Negril. Perfect for a couple or relaxing getaway.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shrines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, Jamaica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This hotel is best described as charmingly elegant. Our ocean view room was simply furnished with an upscale feel and quite spacious. I must commend the staff for their service-they were friendly, helpful and very attentive. This hotel is literally on the beach which is first-class. Had dinner in the restaurant twice and both times the food was excellent! Anyone looking for a quiet getaway, this is it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisanmchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHRsm, Reservations at Sandy Haven Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Valued Partner,

Thank you for making Sandy Haven Resort, your home away from home. We are indeed delighted that your stay with us was truly an enjoyable one and we are certainly looking forward to your imminent return. We definitely value your positive feedback as we work to ensure that all our guest receive the best of Jamaica hospitality.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.9 mi away
Legends Beach Hotel
Legends Beach Hotel
#38 of 80 in Negril
942 reviews
2.2 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#12 of 80 in Negril
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
2.9 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 80 in Negril
4,278 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 80 in Negril
2,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Haven Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Haven Resort

Property: Sandy Haven Resort
Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandy Haven Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive boutique resort built in modern urban style set on the famous 7-miles white sand beach location of Negril with 35 units of luxury guest rooms and suites. The Sandy Haven Resort experience goes far beyond bricks and walls. The prevailing atmosphere is that of a meeting place for friends and colleagues to mingle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sandy Haven Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing