We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ebryting trim at Sandy Haven”
Review of Sandy Haven Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandy Haven Resort
Ranked #16 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This was our 18th trip to Jamaica and we have stayed at many places up and down the Seven Mile Beach.This was our first stay at Sandy Haven after staying last September at Idle Awhile. While Idle Awhile was very nice, there is simply no question that Sandy Haven is the best hotel option on the Seven Mile Beach
Not only are the rooms updated and immaculate but service and the food are first rate. From the time I made my reservation with Heather until the time Pops closed the trunk when we left in the cab to depart to the airport our experience was nothing but positive and we had been completely awash in true Jamaican hospitality.
While we were there there was an issue with the hot water as some have mentioned but our experience was that management was extremely concerned and apologetic about it and had people working on it constantly to get it fixed. What some people don't understand is that Jamaica is not like the US where there is a Home Depot in every neighborhood and sometimes major repairs can take longer to complete. We are from Chicago and know what "cold" water is like and the water while they were addressing the problem was better described as tepid and for the last two days there hot and steamy when the problem was fixed. When we checked out we were compensated very generously for our inconvenience which was not that significant
In any event we have found our place and will be returning to Sandy Haven for trips 19 , 20 and onward.......

Room Tip: Ocean front the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chillywilly42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (663)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 663 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2014

Upon arrival at Sandy Haven we were excited to finally feel the sun and the warmth in Jamaica. The check in was pleasant and the rum punches were awesome. Everything was as expected until we took our showers to get ready for dinner.

There was no hot water. We called the reception and was told that the hot water will be on momentarily. The plumber was working on it. So we decided to wait and make due that night...we needed to meet our other friends who were staying at another resort.

The next day, the water was still cold. In fact, the water remained cold until check out. We stayed 5 days, 4 nights. Every day it was the same story from the resort. They even refused to give us a recommendation to take showers at another hotel. The worst part was during one cold shower, the water cut off completely. I had to full the ice bucket from the slow running cold water in the face bowl to rinse.

The owner did not seem to recognize this as an issue to any of its guests and did not offer one concession to make up for this terrible inconvenience. At check out, we asked if they will make any concessions to our bill to make up for the water issue and they said they will refund us two nights and demanded we pay the $150 in incidentals we incurred. Upon insisting that they take care of it at check out (give us the refund and we will pay for the incidentals), they said no, you will receive an email within two days. We were perplexed because what effort does it take to refund two nights. After several questions, the receptionist admitted that the two nights will be for the next visit. Really? I have no plans on returning to this hotel. Nevertheless, we left unhappy.

There were some good things about the resort however. We loved the location, the beach was clean, the rooms were clean and housekeeping was thorough. Pops, the onsite handiman, was awesome. He was very helpful and accommodating.

Room Tip: Make sure the water is running before you book this hotel. Apparently they installed a new system an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aueker, Manager at Sandy Haven Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear:
thank you for taking the time to write your review, we appreciate the feedback. We regret any inconvenience you would have experience during your stay pertaining to the issues we were having with the hot water system. Management and staff were working assiduously and perpetually to rectify the problem. We made every effort despite the circumstances to make our valued guests as comfortable as possible. The owner was deeply disturbed by this occurrence and was working constantly to have the problem resolved. We are delighted to state that the problem has been fully resolved through the persistent hard work of the staff, management and a team of competent technicians. we would like to take this opportunity to thank our valued guests for their patience and faith in us, while we worked through this challenge. We hope that you will forgive this misfortune and allow us to host you again on your next visit to Negil.
Sincerely,
Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I recently stayed for four nights at this boutique hotel. Do not let pretty pictures fool you into booking this place. It was the worst customer service experience I have ever had.
Upon check in they made us pay for our entire stay up front which we should have questioned bc usually a deposit is all any hotel requires. This is so that if you have a problem with them you have no recourse. Throughout our stay we had either cold water or no water and management strung us along the entire stay promising it would be fixed. They offered no water when there was none to drink and said we had to purchase it from the hotel. We asked to speak to management about the water crisis and she never showed up even though she resides on the property. I finally confronted her at breakfast and she said she would get back to me and she never did . When we checked out we asked to speak to her and she would not even talk to us over the phone and denied being on the property. We were told we would receive a two day credit via email. When we requested it in writing the desk clerk refused to do so and then admitted it would be for a future stay. We told her we would never come back so we wanted it for the current stay and she refused.

The location is great because you can walk to town, rooms were clean and the food was decent. But if you have a problem they will avoid you at all costs and lie to you to keep you there.

I would never go back because management is also the owner of the property. Her employees are left ill-equipped to handle problems.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mochaone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
12
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

At the last minute I wanted to book a beach getaway in Negril. All of the big all - inclusive like Sandals, Couples and Beaches were booked solid. I came across a listing for Sandy Haven on Jetsetter.com . The photos of this property looked great! I called and got the last room available for the week. Sandy Haven isn't an all-inclusive bit the rates were so reasonable there was plenty of budget left over for food, excursions, entertainment and a car rental. When my wife and I arrived we were blown away with the lobby area. It really was as described online. It is a boutique hotel with a lobby and staff that confirmed we found something special.

Our room was spacious, modern and spotlessly clean. The beach front and outdoor lounge areas were immaculate.

The food was delicious and the service made staying at Sandy Haven feel like we were staying with family.

During our week long stay we had the opportunity to explore 7 mile beach and what we discovered was that we made the best hotel choice. Even better than the big all - inclusives. At the popular all-inclusives (Beaches, Couples, Sandals) the water at the beach seemed deep dark and murky at times. At Sandy Haven the water was always clear, aqua green and shallow.

While you can get everything you need at Sandy Haven negating the need to leave the property once you arrive you also have many other options for food and entertainment within easy walking distance from the hotel which was great for us as we don't like to be completely confined to one location when on vacation.

Jerome, Monique, Tamar, NeKeesha, Keon, Jackie, Toni, thanks a million for making our stay with you a 10 out of 10. We look forward to coming back soon !!!!

Lyndon & Antoinette

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I went on vacation with my family at Sandy Haven in January and loved the hotel but had a few issues.

The Good- The Hotel is extremely well-located on Seven Mile Beach and has wonderful, modern, clean, well-appointed rooms. The rooms and the hotel grounds were the best we saw on the beach. In addition the staff are incredibly friendly- Keon (the waiter) and Renatta Green (the housekeeper) were particularly wonderful but all hotel staff were great with the exception of the front desk. The drinks and food were good and the beach chairs were comfortable and set up well.

The Bad- My brother booked a twin room for the two of us in addition to the other two rooms booked for the family. It was confirmed by Expedia to be all paid for a twin room the day before arrival. However on the day of arrival we were informed that as I was not on the reservation that there would be a charge of $78 per night for the extra person, $500 for the week. We asked why as the room was pre-paid and the resort was NOT all inclusive. We were told that you pay for the room based on how many people would be staying. I have worked in hotel for years and have never heard of this before. The front desk was not helpful with this and refused to honor the reservation without the extra payment. Ridiculous. Beware- Ensure you book the correct number of people for the room! In addition the prices at the bar were very high and not competitive with the bars on both sides of the hotel. If both your neighbors have prices half of what you are charging for the same food and drinks then you are losing money and customers! In addition they had beach beds but at $40 per day no one was using them. Why not lower prices on drinks, food and the sun beds and have your guests spend more in house? Simple Economics and Hotel Management.

While in Negril be sure to walk down to Janette's Delish De-Light bar that is right on the beach with great food and cheap drinks, go to Sun Beach Bar which is next door for cheap drinks and great food (esp fried chicken). Ask for Dennis the Menace! If you need a transfer to and from the airport or are going on a day trip look up Fabian Tours who has a page on Trip Advisor.

I loved my time in Negril and loved Sandy Haven however they need to look at their room and drink prices and amend accordingly!

Room Tip: Request the beach-facing Building, Room 111 and 107 have awesome views and access to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

I've stayed here before and decided I'd give them a second chance. I was severely disappointed. The rooms have remained unchanged, cheaply furnished and poor workmanship. the service has worsened. All mornings the restaurant was late opening, being here on business means I'm on a schedule and depend places to be open when they say they will. Yes the people were there at 7 am but they did not get set up till 30 minutes later. The breakfast is a joke, a few pieces of fruit and a piece of toast, for that $16 on the menu. If you want to get a decent breakfast, 1..wait an hour. 2.. pay an additional $8, and if you want the breakfast that's included in the room price...you get charged for it ($16). The beach restaurant is a rip off, an item on the menu is priced $8.00 us and the bill is $11.00 us before tax. Drinks are free reign, another customer was charged $7 for a drink and I was charged $14 and another was charged $12, all for the same drink. You even have to ask for your change or they will pocket it.

In the middle of the stay their was an unannounced "water system upgrade" as stated by the front desk. water was out for 36 hours and hot water did not come back for 2 days. Luke warm water was the best achieved.

The location is nice and the beach is great and well maintained. Lots of chairs and some cabanas. If I were here on a vacation lit would be nice.

Bottom line this is a tourist resort, catering to the once a year traveler. Expectations are for something better than the home they live in. It's that. But for the person that spends 300 days a year in hotels, it's severely lacking. I'll not be staying here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Just stayed for a week on 4th trip to Negril. Like others posted, first time in boutique hotel vs. all inclusive. Sandy Haven had all the luxury, best spot on the beach of hotels. Upscale room and comfy beach chairs with lots of shade. Bongos restaurant was great- Thurs is 2 for 1- don't miss! Staff was friendly- shout out to Keon! Lots of great restaurants in walking distance. Across the street, Best in the West is a hole in the wall with the best jerk chicken! We used Clive's Transport- best price to/from airport- very professional and reliable. Saw them recommended on another post so happy to pass along! This was a great alternative away from the big all inclusives.

Room Tip: We had oceanfront, 3rd floor- gorgeous view. Was very quiet except Thurs-Fri there was music next do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mgtwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.9 mi away
Legends Beach Hotel
Legends Beach Hotel
#38 of 80 in Negril
960 reviews
0.0 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#11 of 80 in Negril
1,150 reviews
0.7 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#14 of 80 in Negril
5,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#6 of 80 in Negril
2,623 reviews
3.7 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Negril
ClubHotel Riu Negril
#26 of 80 in Negril
5,576 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Haven Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Haven Resort

Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Price Range: $183 - $661 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandy Haven Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive boutique resort built in modern urban style set on the famous 7-miles white sand beach location of Negril with 35 units of luxury guest rooms and suites. The Sandy Haven Resort experience goes far beyond bricks and walls. The prevailing atmosphere is that of a meeting place for friends and colleagues to mingle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandy Haven Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing