We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sandy Haven is worth the money”
Review of Sandy Haven Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandy Haven Resort
Ranked #18 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This resort is only about two years old and it is in very good condition. The staff were very courteous and friendly and the property was well kept. I stayed there during the third week of October and the place was fairly empty. Upon checking in, we received complimentary rum punches, which were really delicious and I also noticed the check in area had a very pleasant aroma from incense or something. The place had most of the facilities you'd expect in a beach resort - pool with deck chairs, fitness room, beach bar, outdoor dining area, but the fitness room did not have much equipment - only a Nautilus-type machine and some stationary bikes - but the bikes weren't in working order and there was no electricity in the place.The rooms were in great condition but I wish they had card keys to lock and unlock the doors instead of those 1970s-style keys. The first room we were given had a problem with the sliding glass door lock but we got an upgrade to a beach-view room (an extra $36 dollars/day). The new room's bedroom was fairly spacious (about 12x12), and you could see the beautiful sunsets overlooking the Caribbean and a decent view of the beach area. The safe did not work, but after I called, someone came up immediately to change the battery. There were no problems with the room except for ants. We like to eat local for lunch and dinner (much better and fairly cheap, with restaurants within an easy walk), and brought food to our room but in the morning it was swarming with ants, which were able to enter from under the door. I didn't inform the staff as it was a fairly easy problem to take care of - we just threw out the food - and made a note to ourselves to put the food in the small beverage refrigerator in the room.The toilet room could use an exhaust instead of relying on opening a window to the walkway for ventilation. Our upgraded room had a tub in a small separate room with the sink and vanity, while the toilet was in another small room with the shower. The garden-view room did not have a tub. The cable TV had some of the standard American channels for news, sports and weather. The a/c worked great, and, in conjunction with the ceiling fan, kept the room the way my wife likes it - polar ice-cap cold.The food was standard fare like the continental breakfast that most places offer, but adding the Champagne mimosa was a nice touch. There is parking for only about seven or eight cars so if you go during high season and drive a car there, you could have a problem, but, who knows, maybe they have additional parking somewhere. On the beach, there are a few beach loungers and towels are provided. There are a lot less hawkers on the beach during the off-season so it was possible to enjoy the beautiful sunny days and turquoise waters in relative peace.The place was a lot quieter than Coco LaPalm, which is next door and happens to be my favorite place in Negril. Seems like they were having a party every night over there but I definitely recommend Sandy Haven. Good value.

Room Tip: Get the beach-view room. It's worth the little extra you have to pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamNYCer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (699)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

466 - 472 of 699 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2013

I came over here from next door Cocolapalm due to the room was so smelly with mold and I just couldn't take the room or the facility anymore. Great choice as I went to Sandy Haven and the rooms were clean and modern. Very relaxing on the beach and the staff was attentive. Food was a bit overpriced. But would recommend this hotel and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nitk48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

The perfect place to relax, experience Jamaica with all the comfort needed.
Very quiet at night, dinner is served at the onsite restaurant where you can enjoy the Jamaican flavor andserved at the on site restaurant, breakfast us served at the beach restaurant with a lovely view.
The room has everything you might need and the location is beautiful and convenient, you can ealk around negril or just enjoy the dreamy beach.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lmiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We've stayed at a few places in Negril over two trips. This has been the best. We stay away from the all inclusives, so keep that in mind. Negril is all about the locals, and the all inclusives are too cut off from the real Negril. We prefer all inclusive in places like Riviera Maya or Montego Bay.

Place is brand new it seems like even though it's just been renovated. Seems very private even though it's on the beach. Pool is in between buildings, so doesn't get a lot of sun but it's very nice and deep. You can jump in which is key to me. Has a seating alongside some of it. Hot tub is also very nice. Food was a little overpriced but good. We had breakfast and room service. Seating on the beach is very clean and fresh. Seems more private and cozy than most places we saw walking along the beach.

Rooms are amazing. Big and well furnished. We didn't even have ocean view but we loved it. Only downside was that management wouldn't let us extend our stay at the same rate we booked at. They wanted to charge current prices and it was too much at that point. They weren't even full, it made no sense. Maybe the guys at the front desk just don't have the power to make that decision which is unfortunate. I paid about 120 online a few weeks earlier and now they wanted 200, not budging at all. I would've paid 150.

Great location on the beach. Walking distance to many places. Bike rental across the street. Staff is great. Ann Marie saved my wife's life by removing a lizard one day from the room. Staff is wonderful. Bartender at the beach bar was awesome as is the bar. Walking distance to other bars and restaurants on the beach but again none seem as nice. Live music is common around here too, for free. Beach is very clean around here but expect just as many hustlers on the beach.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We just returned from a week at Sandy Haven -- and had a absolutely fabulous stay. The rooms are contemporary and fresh, and maintained very well. It was great to get up early morning and walk the beach at your doorstep. The service personal were very friendly and helpful. If you go to Negril stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidatoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

You've already read some reviews so I'll try to only add new info.

Resort is truly stunning and luxurious. You get what you pay for in optics and detail. Our room (236) was a ocean view king. Amazing.

Low shower pressure- true but let it run for 3-4 (tip from staff member) and the pressure and heat do build up. Shame to waste water but if you are looking for a good shower, be patient.

Food here is excellent. Yes they do add 10% tax and 10% service charge to bills. Staff are quick to tell you they don't see this tip and if you write it in the receipt, they don't get it either. Management should reign this in. It catches people off guard, especially people we met just showing up to dine and not staying at SH. If you are staying here, bring lots of small bills to tip. Staff here don't have job security or minimum employment standards we enjoy in Canada. Having said that, some staff are better than others. Things don't move particularly quickly for the most part, even for simple requests like juice. Lower your expectations for how quickly things come and you'll do just fine. Allow yourself to move on Negril time. I'm no expert on Negril - first time visitor- but I get the sense that its a culture of slow pace. It's a good thing.

Regarding tips- the expectations are high that you will be tipping. A few staff members engaged us in conversations that quickly moved towards a discussion about tipping. Not engaged by us. There was one in particular who was rather obvious in his mention of this. You try and make polite small talk and it quickly veers into discussion of individual hardship. I sympathize and certainly we did our best to spread the financial love but after a while things seem so rehearsed and anticipated.
I'm not saying don't tip. Be as generous as you can, especially with the cooking staff and cleaners. Just be prepared to engage in this service culture.

Beds are firm - good for your back and we slept great with wonderful air conditioning.

Enjoy we will return to Negril.

Room Tip: Room 236 - third floor, king idea view room. Spectacular. We felt like the kings of the beach with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TorontoGradstudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I had the absolute best vacation while staying at Sandy Haven. We didn't want to the chaos of an all inclusive so we decided to stay at a smaller location in Negril. We had never been to Jamaica before so we really didn't know what to expect, but oh my goodness, we were blown away! The ocean front room was large, inviting, and we loved having our morning breakfast on the patio. The beach was perfectly sized and the beach front bar had everything we could have asked for, including DELICIOUS food. I can't stress enough how friendly and attentive the staff was either. We will absolutely be back to stay at Sandy Haven and I thank everyone there for making this such a memorable and relaxing vacation :)

Room Tip: Our room was Ocean Front, well decorated, and very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhitneyC02129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.2 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
4.2 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 81 in Negril
263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#9 of 81 in Negril
1,198 reviews
1.9 mi away
Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma
0.6 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#13 of 81 in Negril
5,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Haven Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Haven Resort

Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Price Range: $222 - $570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandy Haven Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive boutique resort built in modern urban style set on the famous 7-miles white sand beach location of Negril with 35 units of luxury guest rooms and suites. The Sandy Haven Resort experience goes far beyond bricks and walls. The prevailing atmosphere is that of a meeting place for friends and colleagues to mingle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sandy Haven Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing