We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Jamaica's Jewel"”
Review of Sandy Haven Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandy Haven Resort
Ranked #16 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Jamaica's Jewel"”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Just returned from spending one week at the Sandy Haven Resort! The staff are amazing and go above and beyond to make sure your every need is met. The food is fantastic! The hotel is in the perfect spot with its own private section of beach. The rooms are spacious and clean. The hotel is close to all attractions and restaurants. There is a wonderful area for snorkelling just off the beach. Last but not least, the owners are wonderful hosts! They are so friendly and accommodating! You will absolutely love your stay at this amazing resort!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    189
    49
    33
    23
See reviews for
78
339
40
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The hotel is very quiet, clean and comfortable. Rooms are big and newly renovated. Restaurant and Bar are very good. It is located on the best spot of the 7 mile beach, about an hour away from MB airport. Hotel had arrange for a transfer for us and the driver picked us up in a clean and new car. Beach is spotless, it has enough lounge chairs for everybody; it is secure and no one will bother you. Free WIFI everywhere on the beach,bar and lounge. Owner is always on the property making sure that everyone is happy. You are nearby to most of the attractions and restaurants. Sun Dives are an excellent place to dive. Dolphin Cove is not far either. A lot of action on the beach and nearby restaurants and clubs if you want it, otherwise you are in a very quiet and happy place.
We befriended a cab driver during our stay and he was a phone call away and very reasonable compare to other prices we were quoted. His name is Nicholas 876-864-2664

Room Tip: We stayed at the ocean front room 112 overlooking the hotel deck, beach and the ocean. Because of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yushany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schiltigheim, France
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I've spent 1 week in this hotel. I was really pleased of all the facilities, the staff and the room. The location of the hotel is great since you have juste to walk some meters to be in front of the beach. Everything is really clean, even if I think 3 rooms services/housekeeping per day is a little bit too much. It is possible to have cash advance and since I had some problems with my credit card, they could accept also Euro instead of the usual American dollar. The staff is always smiling, it's like a family which take care one of each other. The only bad point was that the jacuzzi was not working correctly as the cardiotraining. If you ask the staff they can arrange the tasfer to the city center or nice palces as for airport transfer (100$ from montego bay airport to negril, 10$ for the city center).

Room Tip: Ask the second floor to have a better ocean view since there are only two floor in the buildings. Si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The hotel is small and personal, staff and people are very friendly and nice. Good food, music and mood. Lovely service including front desk and security. The beach is wonderful. Sandy haven has its own little private section of the beach with a bar and lounge chairs that is only available for the guests. Really good place to relax. Not recommended for families with little kids though - 13 year olds or older.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anastasiamk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

A really nice laid back resort with a relaxed vibe. From the start the check in was professional, easy, and well done. Pops showed us to our room and gave us a nice review of the rooms offerings. Pops was great throughout our stay. The rooms are very good sized with a great layout, nice sized bathroom, etc. It is nice to have a spacious safe in the room as well. Air conditioning was great as well. Good water pressure as well which you don't always find in Negril.

The bar and service were good with Orlando and Linton both being very pleasant. We ate on the property probably six time with our four nt stay and it was always good with good service. My wife recieved a massage on the property as well and was quite pleased.

Overall it was a very pleasant stay at a nice new addition on 7 mile beach - Sandy Haven Resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ktowndave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We were looking for a nice, quiet place to laze away a long weekend on the beach, and we got exactly what we wanted. Contrary to what some have said, we found the staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was simple but good. We also had dinner there one night and it was quite good. The weak link from a food perspective was lunch... it was so convenient that we never went anywhere else, but the food was average at best. Other than that the beach bar was great.

The biggest "issue", if there is one, is largely of Sandy Haven's own making - the hotel is resting precariously between two worlds... in some areas it is close to achieving its professed desire to be a "luxury boutique" hotel, but in others it is not and never will be. If you go here expecting nice, clean surroundings, a spacious room, a great beach, friendly service and decent food, you'll be very happy. If you go here expecting a W hotel to be magically transported to Negril, you will not.

We paid $250 a night through a Jetsetter.com flash sale and felt we absolutely got our money's worth. We were quite happy and would go again, especially because it seems like the owners pay attention to comments made here and elsewhere and actually address them (case in point: breakfast, which others complained about vehemently in the reviews I read prior to choosing the hotel, but we found more than satisfactory), so I imagine this place will only get better.

One parting comment - some of the folks reviewing this place mention that they felt like the staff was hustling them for tips... now that I've been down there and have experienced both Negril in general and Sandy Haven in particular, I have to say... EVERYONE in Negril is hustling you for a tip! The whole community subsists on tourists tips! I actually found that in comparison to the general populace, the staff here was far more polite about it and much more genuinely helpful. Also, prices are reasonable enough that dropping an extra $5 here and there isn't going to kill you, and it will not only make a difference in the service you get, it might even make a difference for the family of your server. So get a bunch of $1s and $5s before you head down (no, really, do - it's hard to find change down there!) and spread a little love. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: Room numbers are all three digits, where the first digit is the building number, the second is the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank a_c_m_711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We travelled to Sandy Haven Resort with another couple and had a perfect Jamaican vacation.
Our hosts, Anna and Stephen were very accommodating and hands on in the operation of the resort daily and the result was great service as well as delicious food and drink. The staff was always willing to take the extra effort, give the extra smile and offer great service and proud of the food and beverage they served. The food at Bongos, while expensive, was worth every bite. The resort offered a nice wine selection, which is uncommon in Jamaica. The best feature is the location and access to the beach from your room. The beach bar service was laid back, drinks were excellent but it did take a while to get your drinks, even when not busy. Beautiful rooms, as well as delightful lotions, soaps and body wash. Turn down service nightly was a nice touch as well. We had massages and they were the best EVER, anywhere I've ever been. Definitely recommend. When the front desk arranged for transportation up to Ricks, it was more expensive than we paid in the past, be sure to ask for the cost, before you make the deal. We travelled up and down the beach over the 7 day visit and enjoyed the local culture for lunch a couple dinners, however, the Beach Barbecue was delicious and a beautiful evening with live music and local flavor. This is a true Jamaican experience in an intimate setting with high end features and accommodations for the money and we would definitely stay here again. We have been to Jamaica 6 times and have stayed at Villas, All-Inclusive and other hotels. None of which have had the wonderful beach location, atmosphere or facilities that Sandy Haven offers. In reading other reviews and ratings, I like to remind all who travel to treat others with respect and kindness in Jamaica or anywhere you go.

Room Tip: 3rd Floor oceanfron rooms with soaking tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripofMonth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.9 mi away
Legends Beach Hotel
Legends Beach Hotel
#38 of 81 in Negril
948 reviews
0.0 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#10 of 81 in Negril
1,132 reviews
0.7 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#13 of 81 in Negril
5,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 81 in Negril
2,590 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
3.7 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Negril
ClubHotel Riu Negril
#27 of 81 in Negril
5,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Haven Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Haven Resort

Property: Sandy Haven Resort
Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandy Haven Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive boutique resort built in modern urban style set on the famous 7-miles white sand beach location of Negril with 35 units of luxury guest rooms and suites. The Sandy Haven Resort experience goes far beyond bricks and walls. The prevailing atmosphere is that of a meeting place for friends and colleagues to mingle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandy Haven Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing