We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Amazing Honeymoon at Sandy Haven!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandy Haven Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandy Haven Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 88 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Hoboken, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing Honeymoon at Sandy Haven!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Sandy Haven is hands down the nicest of the smaller boutique hotels along the 7 mile beach.

The beach was beautiful, stunning, perfect. The lounge chairs were SO nice and there were always fresh towels.

The rooms were very nice and clean - we LOVED our ocean-view balcony! We did get the mattress pad and it made the bed very comfortable.

The included breakfast was wonderful - french press coffee, fruit, muffins and toast was plentiful and delicious. The breakfast area was so nice, too - just off the beach and the ocean.

We ate at Bongo's a few times and the food was good, but I would recommend checking out a variety of places if you're there for a few nights. Our favorite night eating at Sandy Haven was when they had the beach BBQ with a live steel drum band!

A few gripes:

- Check in and check out took a long time and at each they miscalculated something and almost over-charged us. It wasn't intentional but a bit frustrating.
- The hot tub didn't work or wasn't hot - even after we asked about it a few times it was never fixed.
- Service was overall a little slow, however the staff was lovely. I agree with some of the other reviewer comments that there was a lot of confusion about charging for food/drink, whether to the room or otherwise.
- The bar nor the front desk rarely ever had change for larger bills (whether American or J's).
- The music playing at the beach bar during the day could be irritating. I think it was up to the discretion of whoever was manning the bar, and occasionally some of the younger guys would play a song for one minute, then switch to another. It did not make for a relaxing background while you're lounging on the beach - would have preferred it just be reggae music!

Overall, even with the few gripes, we had a lovely time. Particularly if you get a good deal, I would absolutely recommend Sandy Haven to other travelers. I think if we go back to Negril, we'd spend a few nights on the 7 mile beach and a few nights on the cliffs, where there were several more beautiful boutique type hotels.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony that has an ocean view for the beautiful sunsets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShelleyGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    153
    42
    31
    21
See reviews for
64
266
32
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montego Bay, Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed at the hotel the first time.Beautiful, well organized and designed resort.Staff very friendly and always helpful.Food are very good and price are compare to other hotel good.Location perfectly.It is a new hotel and provides you with everything you can think of.Fitnes Center is great.You step out of your room and you have the beach and a very big plus you an nice pool too and jacuzzi plus SPA. The restaurant BONGOS provide you Jamaican and International dishes which are great and the restaurant is beautiful as the whole hotel designed.A very BIG PLUS is there is upsolutly no noise in the night from any other hotel which is perfect.Many hotel where we stayed you could not sleep up to 2 am in the morning during noise but not in thsi hotel.Parking and airport shuttle service is great.The beachchairs and towel at teh beach could not be better.The beach bar is perfectly and have an nice atmosphare and flat screen for in teh evening to watch TV.You step out of your room and walk on the beach great.We really enjoyed our stay and we will come back.This hotel is perfectly great and WOW.Check it out.

Room Tip: If you really would like to relax and hear the ocean in the night ( keep the sleiding door open of y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Norbert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My wife and I traveled here in January. We do not generally stay in resort style hotels as we prefer off the beaten path or unique accommodations. Having said this, we very much enjoyed our stay at Sandy Haven. If you are going to stay on 7 mile beach in Negril, then this place is worth checking out. The hotel is completely new, rooms were new and clean and we had a beautiful ocean view room, nice pool, beautiful furniture. Ownership has spared no expense for this boutique style hotel. Amazing beach bar with drinks to match (Red Stripe was extra cold and bar staff whip up a mean and delicious dirty banana). The beach here is wonderful (jet skis etc aside). Easy access to the main road makes for simple and cheap travel by taxi to the cliffs for a change of pace and some very good eats. We did not try the restaurant although it looked as beautiful as the rest of the place. Ownership was extremely helpful and always around to answer questions or address and issues you may have. They helped us arrange transfer back to Kingston (a beautiful 4 hour journey through the country) and we made our flight with plenty of time to spare.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scwg716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I decided to do something different this Christmas and booked a 17 day vacation at Sandy Haven Resort, Negril on recommendations from some friends of ours who stayed there earlier in the year, they were so impressed that they could not stop talking of their vacation there. We were absolutely blown away on our arrival to this luxurious property! The rooms are beyond beautiful, they are spacious and decorated with thoughtfulness in every detail, colours, texture and completely user friendly. But what was more remarkable was the pervasive sense that you are welcomed and made to feel special by the attentive staff. Stephen and Ann, the owners, were always around and available to assist, they seem to genuinely care about all of their guests. Pops affectionately call by that name was always pleasant and willing to assist us to plan our water sport activities, our snorkel trip was great!
We had Christmas dinner at the on property's restaurant, Bongos which was simply amazing! The wonderful chef Lyn came out to meet us and to ensure that everything was to our liking....and it was!
We attended the Hotels New Years Eve Party which was on the beach with a white and silver theme. This was truly magical and romantic, the beach was transformed into the most delightful setting of lights, music and an amazing display of every conceivable gourmet food, it was more than worth every penny spent. We met another wonderful couple who could not staying at the hotel, apparently the hotel was full, all together we had the most unforgettable holiday season ever. We will be back and have told many other friends to join us on our next trip. As for our friends who recommended Sandy Haven, all they have said is...I told you so!

Room Tip: The Ocean Front rooms are a must, the views are unbeatable and worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAW186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The room we stayed in was great. I believe most-all rooms are basically the same. The room was clean, inviting, great air conditioning, great t.v. easy to understand safe, very relaxing...I looked forward to coming back to the room after a long hot salty day on their beach. The beach bar bartenders were very nice as was all the staff. The beach security guards keep the beach private for hotel guests and there is a lady guard who is hilarious, nothing gets by her. One thing I didn't like was that we had to keeping paying for coffee at breakfast, only 3 cups per French Press. My husband usually brings me a cup of coffee in bed and the breakfast waitresses would not allow. The hotel owner explained to us how expensive food and other staples are I understand where he is coming from. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are staying on a Negril Beach, it had most of the comforts of an American Hotel. There is a fella across the street who is an excellent taxi driver though his car doesn't seem like it will make it down the road. Really nice man. When you leave the hotel he will come running over to you. His name starts with an "R", he is a wiry man, really really nice and honest. We never ate in the hotel rest., wish we tried it now that we are home. The rest. is beautifully decorated.

Room Tip: If you go to bed early (9-10 p.m.) and like quiet don't get a room on the water unless you reque...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed over the holidays and it was by far the best holiday away from home we have ever had. The service was impeccable, the food was delightful, and the people were amazing.

The room was spacious, comfortable and very clean. During our stay there were nice functions held at bongos bar or BBQs on the beach. Very entertaining and romantic.

We will definitely stay again very soon.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monet5433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I have been to this resort 4 times since its been open, mainly for business but once with my wife. Firstly Negril has a special place in my heart, the beach is awesome, the water is always clear and usually warm.

Firstly you should know that SHR as far as I know is not owned by a big corporation backed by endless amounts of resources, it's just a very nice couple trying their best to offer a quite relaxing vacation, each time I go back I see more and more improvements. The property is always well kept and the staff are all well trained. I think the daily hands on approach of the owners is what has made this resort EXCELLENT. I really couldn't find anything of significances wrong with this resort, the only two minor issues I could say are the gym and cable TV service. The gym is under equipped for my liking and the TV could do with more channels but I guess if you are on vacation in negril who wants to go to the gym or stay in the room to watch television.

I have always been more attracted to all inclusive hotels but SHR is a refreshing change from the usual all inclusive hotels .

SHR- Sandy Haven Resort

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gordonpierre88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.4 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Charela Inn / Le Vendome
1.9 mi away
Country Country Beach Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#15 of 88 in Negril
4.5 of 5 stars 936 reviews
1.9 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
0.4 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Travellers Beach Resort
#17 of 88 in Negril
4.5 of 5 stars 911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Haven Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Haven Resort

Property: Sandy Haven Resort
Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 88 Hotels in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandy Haven Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive boutique resort built in modern urban style set on the famous 7-miles white sand beach location of Negril with 35 units of luxury guest rooms and suites. The Sandy Haven Resort experience goes far beyond bricks and walls. The prevailing atmosphere is that of a meeting place for friends and colleagues to mingle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Sandy Haven Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing