We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best day of our vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of JuJu Tours

JuJu Tours
Ranked #5 of 77 Tours in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: When hearing the words "tour company", most people picture the big, stuffy tour bus, packed with strange travelers. JuJu Tours is the complete opposite of that stereotype! We are an American owned company whose number one goal is to meet American standards. While practicing safety and maintaining professionalism is our number one priority, JuJu maintains a very laid-back "vibe" on all of our outings. Our tour guides are both knowledgeable and energetic American and Jamaican nationals. In order to offer our customers the best of both worlds, one female and male tour guide from each country attend all tours – dreadlocks, flip-flops and all. Every outing is completely private, for both big and large groups, allowing our guests to have a more intimate trip and customize the excursion to their liking. No other tour company on the island offers and delivers such personalized experiences. JuJu has over forty tours to choose from. Large groups, families with kids, couples - we have something for everyone. Amongst our array of different choices, both “touristy” and “off-the-beaten-path” excursions are available. Our primary mission, however, is to live up to our tag line “Jamaica Unleashed, Jamaica Uncovered!” Whether it be the secret cliffs to jump from, the limestone caves to explore or the rustic restaurants to enjoy a true Jamaican meal, we aim to help our guests discover Jamaica’s hidden charms and treasures. Proudly, JuJu is also the only company on the island that officially offers nightlife tours to the local dance clubs and reggae beach bars. We understand travelers tend to be hesitant about leaving their resorts, (most especially at night), and that is why two tour guides join all parties inside the venue and take them home at whatever time they choose. We have safe and comfortable vehicles of all different sizes. Roundtrip transportation, admission into all attractions, an authentic Jamaican lunch and beverages (yes, that includes booze!) are included with all tours. We also throw in a complimentary high-res photo CD of each trip for each customer.
Vermont
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best day of our vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

We did a full-day tour which included Appleton Rum Estate and the Pelican Bar. We were picked up promptly at 9 a.m. by Garth, our Jamaican tour guide, who drove and accompanied us all day 'til we returned to our resort at about 8 p.m. Garth was a gem; personable, talkative, and took great care of us and the other couple who went on the tour. Besides our two planned destinations, Garth stopped and bought some raw sugar cane for us to sample, stopped at a roadside stand where we had parrot fish and bammy bread for lunch, stopped so we could sample some local crawfish, etc. etc. While driving, it was very interesting to talk with this young, intelligent Jamaican man on all sorts of topics. He really made the day special.
Both destinations were fun- Appleton was interesting and informative (and if you drink all the rum punch and various types of rum they keep offering you, it's quite an inebriating experience as well!) and the Pelican Bar was just spectacular (a driftwood hut several miles offshore, accessible only by boat, where you can swim, drink, and eat the "catch of the day" prepared over an open fire).

And on top of it all, a couple of days after returning home, we received an e-mail with a ton of photos Garth took of us and our various stops throughout the day.

The car was also stocked with cold water, beer, and rum punch, and on our way back to the resort from our last stop, we and the other couple on the tour drank several toasts to a wonderful day in Jamaica.

All in all, I HIGHLY recommend JuJu Tours- they were top notch, start to finish.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraFF7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Money well spent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

My family and I spent a week in Negril Mar. 16-23, 2013. Due to great TripAdvisor reviews I decided to book with JuJu Tours. Booked while we were there - Angi was great fit us in the day before we had to come back home. Booked Black River tour and YS Falls. Garth picked us up from our hotel in our own private car - no big tour bus - just the 4 of us. Garth was fantastic! Our kids loved him. He stopped along the way to get them sugar cane, and coconuts to try the cool refreshing coconut water. He even stopped at his Mom’s to get them straws (unfortunately she was out). He introduced us to some authentic Jamaican food – our 13 year old tried the oxtail and liked it (said it tasted like beef). Boys also enjoyed the crocodile Black River tour. They got a kick out of how some of the crocs were like trained dogs – just whistle and they would come for raw chicken! Everyone enjoyed the natural beauty of YS Falls and the cool zip line. On our way home, one of our boys was feeling a bit car sick so Garth stopped at the place where he trains horses. Checking out the ostrich, peacocks, chickens and horses proved to be the best cure. We also got to sample some fresh bananas – yum! Thanks, Garth for making the experience memorable!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Best day in Jamaica”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

I had no idea what to expect. I am so very happy we booked with Juju tours.
We spent 11 hours out and about. Be ready for a FULL day.

All I have seen up to this last trip of Jamaica was from a bus going to and from the resort OR two short trips out for diner. Our tour was for two cpls heading out for Appleton Estates and Floyd's Pelican bar. We were picked up not just on time but 5 min. early. (shocking from past experiences and great!) Nice, clean car, very well taken care of with lots of power. *not like the buses we have become use to there*.

Now, I can go on and on about what we did but frankly, your day will NOT be like ours. Yours will be just as much fun or more so. Go with the flow. Let the local guide show you the Jamaica they know so well. Listen, ask questions and be ready to be amazed. We are going to be back in Jamaica next March and already have a day marked to be out with Juju tours. Call them, ask what they would show you and go do it. If your traveling with lots of friends, leave all but your best two friends behind so you have time to be "not those tour bus" people.

Cold drinks, water in the car at all times. Food along the way was local food and very good.
Potty stops from primitive to very nice and clean "western style" depending on location.

Check out my reports on Floyd's Pelican Bar and Appleton Estates for more info.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank WmM903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great tours- great guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

I took a private tour to Montego Bay and while there visited the Rockland Bird Santuary, did the Martha Brae RiverRaft, and the Glistening Waters( Luminous Lagoon).
I enjoyed each one as they were all unique and interesting.
Angie is a joy and wonderful guide.
Wish I had made plans to do more tours with her.
If you get an opportunity to visit any of these places - do it!
Thanks Angie for a great time!

Helpful?
Thank Sunshine7778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauchula, Florida
2 reviews
“Come see the real Jamaica!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

I selected Juju Tours for my wife and myself on March 10-12, 2013, due to the positive reviews on TripAdvisor and they were all correct. We did the Montego Bay City tour, Dunn's Falls, horseback riding, and the snorkeling trip. Due to bad weather the snorkeling trip had to be cancelled, but we ended up at the lighthouse in Negril and had a great time at Rick's Cafe instead. We got to see things and meet people that we would never had the opportunity to experience if we were on one of the tour buses in the middle of a cattle drive with 50 other tourists. This was the highlight of our trip to Jamaica and Angie, the owner, was a delight to work with in setting up our tours. Yes, they are a bit more money, but, as expected, you get what you pay for. Our tour guide, Garth, was informative, knowledgeable, and as friendly as can be. Garth made us both feel like we were family and really went out of his way to make our trip extra special. Thanks so much, Angie and Garth for giving us a trip of a lifetime. Miss ya, Garth!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JuJu Tours also viewed

Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to JuJu Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing