We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at Legends”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Legends Beach Hotel
Ranked #39 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Reviewed March 6, 2010

Stayed at Legends Feb 2010. Room was clean with hot shower, TV and AC.
Super location on best part of beach. Security keeps vendors away unless you wish to urchase something. Good variety of tasty food. Staff is very helpful; thanks Glenford (Wayne) for everything! Tom-Canada say hi!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tmorgan9006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (954)
There are newer reviews for Legends Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

644 - 650 of 955 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2010

The title of this review should be all you need to know. Avoid this hotel. We arrived to discover that the hotel was overbooked and there was no room available for us (we made the reservation six weeks in advance). The staff told us not to worry, because they had booked us a room at the sister hotel, Samsara. Samsara is fine, but is a completely separate hotel that is NOT on the beach and is an entirely different experience (not the beach vacation we were planning - we were able to get to the beach via a shuttle bus that only runs twice a day, or had to pay for a cab). The staff lied to us and told us that we would only have to stay there the first night, until they got the situation straightened out. It turned out they had no intention of resolving the situation, and they had us booked for our entire trip at Samsara. The reservations manager was only in the office from noon until five, and refused to come to the front desk to speak with us in person. We had to communicate with her through her ridiculously unhelpful and powerless staff who looked at us with vacant expressions, shrugged their shoulders, and gave us absurd explanations for the mistake like "We can't see reservations before the day the guest arrives - it's just how our computer system works." The reservations manager literally HID from us - we could actually hear her through the wall telling her staff to inform us she was out of the office. They did not compensate us AT ALL for the inconvenience. With all other beachfront hotels booked at such short notice, we had no choice but to stay at Samsara for the full trip (only four days, which means we wasted valuable time trying to deal with their mistake). That said, Legends is not even a nice hotel. We would have preferred the location to Samsara, but even if we'd gotten a room at Legends, I would have been disappointed. Generally subpar, very crowded beach front, mediocre food, not even good for a bargain hotel. Look elsewhere, unless you want to risk having your vacation royally screwed up by the incompetent idiots who run this place. Sad. Definitely go to Negril - just don't deal with this place.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wonkmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NegrilhotelsManager, Manager at Legends Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2010

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for not having your room available and deeply regret the inconvenience. On very rare occasions guests are relocated due to inclement weather, flight cancellations, or technical issues. Unfortunately your post gives the impression that this is somehow a regular event, which is not true.

For the sake of accuracy and fairness to readers of this forum, it is therefore important to correct your record of the events.

The reservations manager did speak with you, in person, at length, inviting you into her office, assisting you while you spoke with your travel service on the phone. She made a number of offers to compensate for the inconvenience, all of which you refused. Some of the offers she made included giving you a full refund on your booking and to personally assist you in finding alternative accommodations to your liking; she also offered you complimentary daily breakfast as well as complimentary spa treatments for you and your friend. You did not wish to accept any of these gestures. We made every attempt to make the best out of a regrettable situation, which understandably may have not been acceptable to you. But to represent that our team was indifferent to your feelings and made no effort to ensure your comfort is grossly incorrect.

Our colleagues and travel partners consistently compliment our reservations and front desk team for their accuracy, professionalism, and courteous attention.

Thank you for your time. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2010

Don't get me wrong...the property at Legends is beautiful....but once you open the door to your room, you are in for a rude awakening.
The room is very basic...the bed is oddly placed...and it takes up most of the room.
If you want a basic clean room, then Legends is for you..If you want to vacation, and feel like you are on vacation..then this is not the place for you.
The service here sucks. I went during one of their busiest times, during ATI/Dream Weekend....over 20 parties in 3 or 4 daysl...this is also the Jamaican Independence Day Celebration.
They over booked rooms, people had to find other places to stay, which was ridiculous being that everything was already sold out..
I did not like the resort and the first day, I said I would not stay and wanted my money back.
Luckily for me, I only paid the deposit and not the full balance. They refused to give my money back, and tried to charge my credit card repeatedly for nights that I was not at the hotel.
The front desk manager was rude, the staff was rude. the only thing I like about Legends was the restaraunt..and the food was not that great. I have been to Jamaica 4 times, and Legends is the worst place so far...
if you want a great place worth your money...check out Rondel Village.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JamericanDiva1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2010

Apart from the hotel food which was not very nice especially as its overpriced, everything is charged in american dollers not JA. The location couldnt be better, we walked the whole 7 mile beach and found we had the best part of the whole beach! water is gorgeous but futher up where 5* hotels sandals and couples, the sea was more closed off with hardly any space to swim! if considering staying either at samsara or legends it has to be legends for sure, samsara is all cliffs but the hotel is much more nicer to look at, no beach though! The smoke is great just again they charge you in american dollers which is not much short of pounds! would reccomend to everyone just dont excpect a smile off the waitress's either unless you tip them. if your looking for tours or days out go find doctor gregory on bourbourn beach hes excellent and made our stay fantastic.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonKt82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2010

Beautiful beach, excellent staff. Kudos to Michael, Orett, and Omar (the chef). Michael keeps the hawkers from hassling you, and watches your stuff--very safe! Rooms are spartan, but clean. Towels are a precious commodity, and treated by the hotel as such! Delicious "native" food, and plenty of it. Short distance to great reggae clubs. Mostly older Europeans stay here (who can be quite rude!) but made friends with some nice German girls (hello, Melanie and Carmen!). We'll see you all next year!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovebeaches08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

Ok to put this into context, whilst in Jamaica we spent 5 days in a house in Spanish Town with no hot or running water, followed by two days at a cheap but fabulous hotel in Ochi Rios, followed by 7 days here at Legends. So we had experienced the different parts of Jamaica and for the most part did not have many expectations....

We arrived at about 12 in the afternoon and could not check in early because they did not have our room ready. We could accept this since it did inform us of this on our booking paperwork, and so while waiting in the bar we met the loveliest staff member they have; Lavine. She can tell you anywhere to go, the best parties, where to eat, how much a cab should charge to go somewhere - she is literally the fountain of knowledge!! We spent a few hours with her that afternoon and even gave her some of our clothes when we were leaving because she was so lovely.

When we checked into our room, there was a nice decorative heart made from the towels and some pink flowers, i thought it was quite a nice gesture. The room was clean and the balcony was what we had been missing from our hotel in Ochi, although the way the hotel is laid out means that the rooms do not give you a room of the beach, just neghbouring hotels!

We stayed on a room only basis because we like to explore and ate everyday at the best local restaurant; Colettas. If you come out of the beach side of the hotel and turn left, approximately 7 minutes walk on your right hand side is Coletta's. It looks like a little, yellow wooden house, but the food is fantastic and SO cheap!! There's also a restaurant in town called Sweet Stop/Spot - something like that, does lovely food and last but not least, Kuyaba next door to Legends does the BEST lobster!!! It isn't cheap though but the food is absolutely to die for!!!

The hotel itself is okay, we had a few guests round on a couple of occasions and they had to sign in and then were told they would need to pay in $US if they did not leave our room by 10pm. That annoyed us intensely, since ultimately it was our room and they were not intending on staying, we were just enjoying drinks etc.

The hotel does employ staff to manage the vendors on the beach and sort out the sunbeds: Smokey, Mike and Snoop. They are the loveliest guys ever and we do miss them. They are so intelligent and can fill you in on all things Jamaican. They attend to your every need and do boat and road trips too. If people try to harrass you to buy things then Mike will tell them to go away and if necessary reach for his bat! They are great, they really try to protect the holiday makers.

All in all however, the hotel is on a long and boring beach and has nothing much to offer itself. It's partner hotel, Samsara, is equally as boring, just on the rocks by Rick's cafe. I personally don't like Negril very much, I think it's quite boring and the 'west end' at night time is very dead and unappealing to those who want to have fun on holiday and go out etc, after Rick's Cafe has been visited, there isn't really much to do :-( I had high hopes for Negril but really ended up disappointed. The hotel did not add anything to the trip sadly either.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brow987b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2009

Just being back from Legends and jamaica, I kind of realize that most of the reviews are right, good and bad, but all depend on several factors.

Firstly, as said, rooms are basic. We were staying in the rooms with garden view, in the hotel section that is located after crossing the street. Yes, crossing the street is annoying because you get at least 2 or 3 people offering you either a taxi or drugs. I was ok with the room, I don't need much. The air condtioner is noisy, our section was a little old, but it's ok. We missed having some kind of sign to indicate that we did not want to be disturbed in the morning, so whenever we woke up late we had to yell "please come back later" to the maid.

We were not either in the all inclusive or bed and breakfast options, we were on a tight budget. The option of upgrading from the hotel was way too expensive for us (like 44 dolars day per person) and I don't think it is worth it. We ate one day in the dinner buffet, and with my boyfriend just having one beer we paid more than 30 dolars, and again, I don't think the food worth that money (the buffet is pretty limited, not like tyhe normal idea of buffet, and the food is just ok - but that may depend on tastes, I am on the mediterranian type of food-). As some of the reviewers said, you feel like the simpathy and smiles from the stuff depend on your tip , and because we just could not tip everyone I did not felt very comfortable with that. The type of option you choose (just bed or all inclusive) DO MAKE a difference in the way you are treated unless you consume and tip a lot in the hotel restaurant.

The two swimingpools are enough, not too big, but kept clean although using too much chlorine - water really smells!-. But anyway, I think the beach is good enough. We used to walk to the side of the craft market, where there are less hassles from the locals. Walking to the East side is not very easy, on the moment you step out the hotel beach side you get harassed.

In conclusion, the hotel is ok and I kind of recomend it. I find the rooms expensive for what they are, (for the same price you get a room in a 4 - 5 star hotel in US) but jamaica is very expensive. I recomend the hotel because of its situation in Negril, and because if has all basic things. If you are a little bit braver you can try to get a room in the cotage ... not too far from the hotel, for 20 dolars per person. It's a kind of hostel, and from outside does not look very well but the rooms are as good as legend's but without the TV.

My advice for saving money is check the lonely planet guide to get cheaper hotels. Eating outside, you can buy jerk to the locals (they will offer you marihuana as well, but well, you just have to say no all the time) and what we did was eating to a small local close to the hotel owned by an italian woman (they make cheap great coffee too), and also in the Reagge Man business. That old guy is great, he can cook something for you with just 300 or less jamaican dolars - although vegetarian, but you can then buy some jerk-. You can go to downtown to the burger king, or better to the juicy paties close to the gas station (very cheap, kind of "empanadas"). Then you can go to the local market, or the smaller market close to the hotel to buy soda and cookies.

Summarizing, we enjoyed the beach a lot, the hotel was just a place to sleep. We wanted to know more about the "outside", but the hassling and harrasment is just very annoying, it kinds of take the charm of the place to me.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Veivalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.9 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#16 of 80 in Negril
657 reviews
2.0 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#30 of 80 in Negril
1,356 reviews
0.9 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#10 of 80 in Negril
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hideaway at Royalton Negril
4.0 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#6 of 80 in Negril
2,606 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legends Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legends Beach Hotel

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Negril
#26 Family Hotel in Negril
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
Price Range: $60 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Legends Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Legends Beach Resort is a beachfront boutique hotel situated directly on the famous 7-mile white sand beach in Negril, Jamaica. This friendly and intimate resort commands breathtaking views of the turquoise Caribbean Sea embraced by miles of powdery white sandy beach. Legends is located in a prime section of Negril within walking distance of shops, water sports, entertainment and local restaurants. The resort comprises two sections, one on the beach and one lushly gardened section across the street. Within the garden section is a large pool surrounded by a spacious sundeck. The beachside section also contains a small pool. Other hotel facilities include free Wi-Fi, gift shop, safety boxes at reception, massage treatments, and tour desk. The resort's beach frontage on Seven Mile Beach provides access to shallow, sandy-bottom water that remains calm in nearly all weather conditions. Free roundtrip shuttles transport guests to partner resort, Samsara Resort, on Negril's seaside cliffs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Legends Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legends Hotel Negril
Legends Jamaica
Legends Beach Resort Jamaica
Legends Negril
Legend Beach Resort Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing