We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Legends Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Legends Beach Hotel
Ranked #37 of 84 Hotels in Negril
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly staff. Easy to find your way around the resort. rfect for the price you pay. The food is amazing. The staff we're very friendly. I would recommend for a next trip. The cliffs are amazing. The water is so beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank inadi187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    289
    197
    100
    102
See reviews for
162
354
40
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

if you're looking for a nice relaxing place to stay on negrils beach scene this is your place to go. Its no secret that you have people trying to hustle you on the beach all day in jamaica but they have great security that makes you feel comfortable and SAFE!!! All in all a great experience and I would definitely go back at any given time.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bouzi514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kitchener
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

I just returned from legends. Overall I had a great vacation. The staff were all very nice and helpful. Security are great. Donovan is super friendly and happy. Dwight is also. Mike is quite but is always looking out for you. A very respectable man. Paul, the manager, is always around and very helpful. 

This is a hotel not a resort. 50 rooms and a beach front restaurant/bar. Two pools. Small one beach side and big one across the road. We loved the pool across the road.  It was like having our own pool and hangout.  I never seen anyone over there.  At night we would take drinks and music over and chill out with a night swim.  If you're not looking to venture out then this may not be the place for you because of the size.  Although you have full access to samsara (sister hotel) on the cliffs. And free transfer. The hotel is in a prime location to access all the great spots in Negril. We walked the whole beach, downtown and the cliffs. Feel free to stop in any hotel and look around. We did. As long as it's not all inclusive they welcome you always. The beach is always public property as it should be. So you can walk through the AI resorts on the beach. They are on the north end of negril. 

We did the all inclusive and the food was good. There are so many amazing places to eat in negril so if can afford it then don't get the AI. We were on a budget and it was cheaper to get it. $27 dollors a day extra was worth it for the drinks alone ;). Drinks are made strong. But were good. They have a drink menu with plenty of options. Also you can eat and drink at samsara( a great place) with your AI. Bring a thermos so you don't have to go back as often and it keeps it cold. 

Rooms were simply. Very clean. Cleaned everyday. Two big towels and a small one everyday. Water was hot. You'll need to put more cold on than hot. As for pressure, it's like a fire hose. It's great. All the taps are the same. Also water in Jamaica very clean and delicious. Drink away. We had two double beds and the mattresses were fairly new I think. Some rooms have a king bed instead.  There is AC but I didn't use it much. The fan is really big and powerful. That's all we needed. Lots of tv channels I think. I watched an hour of the football game and that was it. 

$22 a week for a safe which is in the office. It's small and very deep. It's accessible between 7am and 10pm. We kept our passports and wallets in there. Although after staying there I'd just leave it in my room. The place seems very secure. 
$1 a day tax is charged at the end of the week. That's the same at any hotel. They require a $100 deposit which will be returned to you at the end of the week. As long as you dont rack up a phone bill and bar tab. You can also give a credit card. I gave cash and then used it at the airport to buy duty free stuff. ( note. Alcohol is cheapest at the airport and you buy it after you check your bags.) They have a crossing guard to stop traffic which can be helpful. A pool table and ping pong( nothing professional about them but good fun while having some rum drinks). 

Overall legends had everything we needed and we had no troubles. 

Side note for any new people to negril. Don't be afraid of hustlers. They will stand there waiting to do anything for you and may become annoying. My advice ( I've been there about 10 times) is to take notice to whos around all the time and introduce yourself. Find a guy you like best and stick with him. Anything you want in negril they can get for you and cheaper. If you see some thing in a store downtown tell your guy and he will get it cheaper. Tours, cab rides, good places to eat, anything!  Also everyone will leave you alone if your with a guy. And they'll know trust me. You will be respected for doing so. A few guys I met that I liked are Toto, Antonio and Alex. If you're unsure who to trust ask Donavan or mike(security). So when your walking the beach and someone starts to hustle you, all you say is I get everything I need from Toto or Alex or who ever. And that should work. It's a strange system that I'm really starting to get. 
Negril is awesome. Don't stress anything. No one expects you to know these things and its cool. You can sit in your chair all day and everything you need will come to you. Fruit, cigarettes, food, music, you name it. Spend your money. Don't ask how much. Say what you'll pay. Actually say cheaper. That applies for everything including cabs. Tell a cab driver you'll give him $4 for a cab to ricks cafe(a must see). Chances are he won't say no. If he does theres another cab right behind him who will take you. If you ask him how much he might say $20. Taxis have red license plates. Bargaining is fun. 
If you're gonna smoke weed do it at your hotel. The locals smoke it everywhere. Don't be like that. A cop might make an example of you. Take it to the back pool with some drinks. 
Have fun. Respect mon. IRIE 

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank sunmandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

My first stay in Jamaica, Negril and this hotel. My room was at the beach side and everything was just fine. King Size bed with good mattress, clean room, and bath-room, tv, AC and nice terrace. Are you looking for the 'couleur locale' where the staff knows your name in 1 day, go to Legends. You will feel as part of a family in no-time. You will be greeted with a big smile in the morning. I arrived with a heavy cold, half ill and without asking, I was offered a special drink with lemon to make me feel better. I booked all-inclusive and got more than what I needed. I got a home-feeling next to being in a hotel. The cooked food is put on your plate, but you always can go freely for a second time if you want more. Every day the bed was made, every day fresh towels. When possible, the restaurant-bar staff always takes some time for a chat. The same for the gardener or the security gay at the entrance gate. He also helps people to cross the road from one side of the hotel to the other side, as the hotel is build on both sides of a busy road. Still, a few meters further on the road there are traffic lights to cross safely if the security man is busy and you don't want to wait for him. I have been travelling in different countries but never experienced a more friendly staff than in Legends! The beach is not wide but this goes also for a long end of the coast there. I had a dream-vacation with a lot of excursions and I surely will go back there if I have a chance in the future.

To the complainers on this site:
1. the one who expects a 5-star room, a 5-star hotel service or choice of 5 plates for 1 meal, needs to pay double for a 5-star accommodation in a big resort where he will be number 823 and surely he will find something that is still not at his taste.
2. Rude personal? No way! I put the question in another way: How rude were you to them? Treat people as you want to be treated. If you give friendliness and a smiling face, you will get it double back! Give respect and you will get respect.
3.Take information about the country you will visit, it's people and their way of living before you book. Get information about everything you can, including the regular food so you don't say the eggs were not great when in fact you ate ackee, a fruit that is used as breakfast, read about their laws of behaving and respect their ways. It is we who have to adapt to them, not they who have to adapt to our way!
4. Complaining about music in the evening? My God! You are in Jamaica! Reggae country! You can't sleep of the noise? Put ear-plugs as I always do when I go travelling!

People of Legends: Thank you all for giving me a wonderful vacation!

Room Tip: If you don't want to cross the road, ask for a room at the beachside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Ingrid G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I loved the Legends resort. It was our first ever all inclusive and were pleasantly surprised. The food was great. The staff was always helpful and polite. The beach was perfect and the water was so warm and clean.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drewski5285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

firstly we arrived at this hotel n the 7th of september this year when we arrived we was a bit dissapointed to say the least but once we found our feet this place was perfect for the location to party on the beach till the early hours in the morning. Staff at the hotel Micheal the security was a fantastic guy felt safe as houses with him also paul the manager was very polite the maids were fantastic. The only downfall to this hotel was that the food was rank just my opinion some people may like it but i didnt , if you want jet skys, ask anthony 2 chains, just next door, you can trust him, nice lad..would stay again because overall good time there....

Room Tip: rooms on south side quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Val D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

I just returned from a 5 night stay at Legends. It was exactly what my husband and I were looking for. We have done the big all-inclusive with the kids and we just didn't need that this trip. The best quality is definitely the price. We had a spacious room on the beach side. Our room was clean and we had no problems. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The hotel is in a great location. There are many places to walk to and the beach was wonderful. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Definitely stay on the beach side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank koolstablein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.9 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#18 of 84 in Negril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
2.0 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#29 of 84 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
0.9 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#14 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
4.6 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Negril
ClubHotel Riu Negril
#26 of 84 in Negril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,304 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legends Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legends Beach Hotel

Property: Legends Beach Hotel
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#26 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Legends Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Legends Beach Resort is a beachfront boutique hotel situated directly on the famous 7-mile white sand beach in Negril, Jamaica. This friendly and intimate resort commands breathtaking views of the shimmering turquoise Caribbean Sea embraced by miles of powdery white sandy beach. Legends is located in a prime section of Negril within walking distance of shops, water sports, entertainment and local restaurants. The resort comprises two sections, one on the beach and one lushly gardened section across the street. Within the garden section is a large pool surrounded by a spacious sundeck. The beachside section also contains a small pool. Other hotel facilities include free Wi-Fi, gift shop, safety boxes at reception, massage treatments, and tour desk. The resort's beach frontage on Seven Mile Beach provides access to shallow, sandy-bottom water that remains calm in nearly all weather conditions. Complimentary roundtrip shuttles transport guests mornings and afternoons to partner resort, Samsara Resort, on Negril's famed seaside cliffs, where reefs providing snorkeling and scuba-diving directly off shore. This Jamaica resort offers 50 guestrooms arrayed on the sea side of the street extending through Negril parallel to the beach and across the street in a lushly gardened section. Buildings feature exteriors of pastels and vibrant colors. Ceiling fans and wood-louvered windows provide an alternative to rooms' air conditioning. Decor features tile floors, tropical-wood furniture, and richly colored fabrics. Fresh blossoms strewn about rooms greet guests on arrival. Coconut palms and lounge chairs with soft red cushions line the resort's frontage on Seven Mile Beach. Water-sport rentals, including jet skiing and parasailing, are available. Vibrantly colored buildings, blooming tropical gardens, and an open-air restaurant and beach bar manifest a friendly oasis to meet new friends, enjoy reggae music and discover exotic cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Legends Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legends Hotel Negril
Legends Jamaica
Legends Beach Resort Jamaica
Legends Negril
Legend Beach Resort Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing