We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Legends Beach Hotel
Ranked #35 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little Paradise”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I had stayed, along with my mother, and a group of friends, at the Legends from July 24th-30th.Our stay was perfect, peaceful, and well needed. We were there for my brother's wedding.I shared a room with my and her friend room 711. Two beds of course, and they were large enough that my mom and I slept in one. Our room was spacious, bathroom clean, and it had everything we needed. We were on the garden side, and our balcony faced the walkway, which had a lot of greenery. We were across the street from the main entrance and restaurant, beach.It can be challenging and dangerous crossing the blvd,(since drivers drive on the left and there are no traffic signs) but the Legends always had a crossing guard.Mommas food was delicious, creative everyday. Oh how I miss it. I also miss the Boston Cooler drink. All staff were great, The waitresses fun and sweet. Good luck to the one who is in college.The hotel is convienent to shopping and local restaurants, and a crafts market.All in all The Legends was a great choice for the money. Paul the property manager was always on site. He said he plans to add new bathroom fixtures in Septermber and a bar for the pool area in the garden area. This will make Legends even more nice. My recommendation for the hotel, it would be nice if there was spray/candles (non-toxic) for the outdoor restaurant part to ward off flies. Better beach lounge chairs, it would make the Legend even more special, I'm glad I read the reviews, and stayed here, and not Samsura. Samsura is a little out of the way, but it is near Rick's Cafe. Can't wait too go back!!!! Lynne from Oakland, CA

Room Tip: I had stayed on the garden side upper floor room 710. It was quiet, and near the pool. I probably wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    295
    200
    100
    102
See reviews for
167
359
40
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Booked to stay here for 6 days with my family. When we arrived we were in shock. The pool is extremely SMALL. The restaurant is TERRIBLE. The bathroom by the restaurant stinks. The rooms are small and outdated. The air conditioner is so loud you can't even hear yourself think. The color of the bedding give me an instant headache. The staff were not accommodating. I stayed there for about an hour then took a taxi to find a better place for my vacation. Ended up staying at RIU. Thank God for RIU. I would not recommend this place to my worst enemy. DO NOT STAY THERE. Don't trust their pictures on the Internet. They also never gave me a refund.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Shintob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Negril hotels

Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

legends beach chairs are the worst on the strip, they are dirty, nasty and old. how can the company put out those for people to use? If you are looking for a nice place to be, legends is not it!!!!!! If the chairs are terrible just imagine inside the rooms.

Room Tip: the Rooms hotel very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank jackie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We had our wedding ceremony in Samsara (belong to same owner) and stayed at Legends. With all inclusive you get access to both! Food and selection of drinks is amazing! Beach by Legends is small but lovely, very clean. Staff is very nice and friendly. We took a small private boat trip to pirate caves and it was great! If you pay guys a little extra, they will get you fridge full of beers too. Only downside is mosquitos! They do nothing about them :( most of us got shewed in a restaurant and by the beach. I hope they will work something out. Will be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

My best friend and I stayed here to celebrate her birthday (4th stay at Legends). We had a great time. Our rooms were clean with the lovely smell of bug spray. LOL. While bug spray is not the best smell, for the amount of mosquito bites I have from being outside, it is nice to sleep without the fear of being attacked in my sleep.

Legends is not a fancy place. You are provided the basics. When I travel to Jamaica, I just want a clean/safe place to sleep and shower. The rest of my time is spent wandering about or being on the beach. You are within walking distance to shopping, corner stores, restaurants and nightlife. If you want to do something in the hills, just take the shuttle up to Samsara. From there you can get another view of Negril, walk to Rick's Cafe or eat at Ciao across the street (great jerk chicken alfredo and jerk chicken pizza).

If you get a Garden Room at Legends, security will always help you across the street. Please wait for them. Jamaican's drive crazy (compared to the US). If you feel any of the locals are bothering you selling their wares on the beach, just let Michael know, he will ensure you feel safe and your vacation is pleasant. Also, if you only eat the cake at the restaurant, you will have lived. Mama makes the best cakes, EVER!

My only advice, bring washcloths and make sure to have your own toiletries.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlyRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nj
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

My family booked 3 rooms for 5 nights. When we arrived late that evening to check in. Our rooms were assign to 603, 605 & 612. The smell of garbage as you enter the court yard across the street. The garbage is behind our rooms and you could smell it in the room too. The luggage had to be drop off across the street and drag back across the main road to our room. HUGE puddle of water was in front of each room. Our luggage got wet along with our feet. Rooms were not cleaned properly, a request was made for clean sheets (none came). The rooms were filled with mosquito, HUGE roaches. We did not sleep that night. ( no clean sheet) Our 6 months old baby was bitten badly. My niece who is diabetic; a refridgetor was request for her meds before the trip. We were told, we have none and don't know when she could get one. "her meds require a fridge". No care was given to our needs. Someone at the front desk ask us " what do you what us to do?". We had to leave to find another accommodation. We paid for 5 nights, but was told we could not get NONE of our money back. I had a very sick baby (after the mosquito in the rooms) and a diabetic without any way to store her meds.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

My wife and I spent our honeymoon here. We had been looking forward to this trip for months. All I can say is the staff was amazing. Mike the security guard is awesome. He has not only to deal with the constant wave of people trying to hustle you on the beach but he does it 14 hours a day 6 days a week...and he's always pleasant! All the bartenders were awesome. Tiffany was my favorite. I bought two mugs in the gift shop the first night and not only did she clean them for me, she filled them up constantly with beer..and I didn't even have to ask for a refill once. My wife was on crutches and they made ever accommodation for her. Tiffany the bartender even hugged her when we left! We got the same treatment every time we went to the bar. The food was good, it's buffet style so you have to get up and get it (unlike some reviewers who expect to be waited on) and the lady (who's name I didn't catch) was always smiling and very pleasant. The people at the front desk were no different. We would certainly come back to this place! I will say this, if you aren't laid back, Jamaica might not be the best place for you. They are on island time, so they chill. Thank you Legends for a great honeymoon!

Room Tip: Rooms on garden side are quieter, but rooms on beach side are closer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.9 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#18 of 85 in Negril
602 reviews
2.0 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#31 of 85 in Negril
1,307 reviews
0.8 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#13 of 85 in Negril
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
4.6 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Negril
ClubHotel Riu Negril
#26 of 85 in Negril
5,346 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#8 of 85 in Negril
2,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legends Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legends Beach Hotel

Property: Legends Beach Hotel
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#26 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Legends Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Legends Beach Resort is a beachfront boutique hotel situated directly on the famous 7-mile white sand beach in Negril, Jamaica. This friendly and intimate resort commands breathtaking views of the shimmering turquoise Caribbean Sea embraced by miles of powdery white sandy beach. Legends is located in a prime section of Negril within walking distance of shops, water sports, entertainment and local restaurants. The resort comprises two sections, one on the beach and one lushly gardened section across the street. Within the garden section is a large pool surrounded by a spacious sundeck. The beachside section also contains a small pool. Other hotel facilities include free Wi-Fi, gift shop, safety boxes at reception, massage treatments, and tour desk. The resort's beach frontage on Seven Mile Beach provides access to shallow, sandy-bottom water that remains calm in nearly all weather conditions. Complimentary roundtrip shuttles transport guests mornings and afternoons to partner resort, Samsara Resort, on Negril's famed seaside cliffs, where reefs providing snorkeling and scuba-diving directly off shore. This Jamaica resort offers 50 guestrooms arrayed on the sea side of the street extending through Negril parallel to the beach and across the street in a lushly gardened section. Buildings feature exteriors of pastels and vibrant colors. Ceiling fans and wood-louvered windows provide an alternative to rooms' air conditioning. Decor features tile floors, tropical-wood furniture, and richly colored fabrics. Fresh blossoms strewn about rooms greet guests on arrival. Coconut palms and lounge chairs with soft red cushions line the resort's frontage on Seven Mile Beach. Water-sport rentals, including jet skiing and parasailing, are available. Vibrantly colored buildings, blooming tropical gardens, and an open-air restaurant and beach bar manifest a friendly oasis to meet new friends, enjoy reggae music and discover exotic cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Legends Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legends Hotel Negril
Legends Jamaica
Legends Beach Resort Jamaica
Legends Negril
Legend Beach Resort Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing