We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“water park was great, but otherwise dissapointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
Ranked #11 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 16, 2005

I have gone to Beaches Negril a total of 5 times in the past 6 years. I hate to say this time was a disappointment and I don't think I'll be going back. The food quality was poor, and the service at the kid's corner has worsenend over the years, with a bad attitude from the child care givers. The only good thing was the service at the bars, and even that has changed as far as no more fresh fruits available for making drinks. overall, it's not worth all the money you spend any more. I'll be looking elsewhere to spend my vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 4LoveofTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,043 - 5,049 of 5,320 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Tucson, Arizona
124
Reviewed June 15, 2005

In reading the reviews on this site before booking, I was apprehensive about this hotel. This was a once in a lifetime vacation for myself, my husband, and my sons, 16 and 19. I've decided that you get what you look for.

We had an unbelieveable time. The staff was helpful and courteous. We had many conversations with them and learned about Jamaican life. The boys were perfectly happy with the teenage activities and played beacth volleyball late into the night. We met interesting people from all over the world. We ate at the Mill most of the time (buffet and teenage boys go together) and always found something we liked, and usually something we hadn't had before. Our rooms were clean and beautiful, with no problems. We are not into the night life, so the evening activities were fun for us, and then we would get up early and enjoy the beautiful beach. The boys enjoyed staying up late with friends and would sleep in, which made for a wonderful relaxing vacation. Everyone - the tour staff, maintenance staff, water sports staff, maids, wait staff - everyone was pleasant and professional. We didn't hear a negative comment from any of the guests we spoke to - everyone was happy to be there and having a great time.

We loved it and loved Jamaica!

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Victorville, Calif
147
Reviewed June 11, 2005

My wife, my twenty-two year old daughter and myself just returned from a four day, three night stay at Beaches, Negril from June 7th through the 10th. We stayed in a standard deluxe room in the Savannah building, on the third level.

We read over two hundred reviews prior to coming here, over a period of almost two years. They ranged from sublime praise to outright warnings not to waste your money. Here's my advice, based on our actual experience there and talking to other people at the resort:

Beaches is a very lovely resort, very well maintained and the staff is on the whole very professional, courteous, and friendly. If you remember that you are in their country, and a poor one at that, and treat them with the same respect and consideration that you would want if you were in their shoes, you will find them more than willing to go the extra mile to make your vacation experience a good one. But, if like some guests we overheard from India, you order them around like they are your personal butlers, you will be doing them, yourself and other guests a disservice.
Keep your personal feelings about caste, class, and getting your money's worth back home where they belong. Keep a courteous, kind attitude at all times and appreciate what it takes to run a resort of this size with the consistent high level of quality that Beaches strives to maintain, in the face of sometimes rude, spoiled and overdemanding guests who sometimes forget that it takes people to make the world go round--not their cell phones!

Thankfully, the majority of guests are intelligent enough to recognize that they will get far more for their buck by using a little patience and consideration, as well as being realistic in their expectations of what they can and should expect at Beaches.

Translation of all the above:

Very nice family-oriented resort, where singles, couples or anyone can and will have a very nice vacation if they keep a reasonable, polite attitude.
Staff works hard to keep ground, rooms, pools, and all clean at all times--a daunting task to be sure.

Pools are clean, but do tend to get cloudy later in the afternoon when hundreds of little swimmers have been doing what little swimmers do in the water! Swim earlier if you can.

Beach is lovely, water warm and light blue-green. We had no problems with finding comfortable beach chairs, as long as you put towel before 10am on most days. (the beach chairs are not uncomfortable, as one reviewer said.)

Rooms are very nice, toilets worked fine, water pressure was fine, and beds were very firm and comfortable. Rooms were cleaned every day by staff. True, most do not have views of ocean, but are very near to beach. If you want a view, go to Sandy Bay, which is a nice resort, but not as much to do.

Mosquitoes will eat you alive, even if you use bug repelants, but they are not at least the aggresive, huge types that buzz your ear. These are smaller, silent types--you don't even usually know they have been busy until after they are gone. Annoying, to be sure, but well worth the beauty and enjoyment of this resort.

We found very few ants--left no sweets for them in rooms or elsewhere.If you want to avoid ants, avoid ground level rooms.

Food at main open-air buffet (The Mill) serves breakfast, lunches and dinners that range from fair to quite good, depending on the time and the day. Most meals offer enough choices and selections to please most but the most demanding gourmets. The Last Chance Saloon food in not bad--you'll love the Jerk Chicken, which is spicy, and especially the Garlic Pizza.
Soft Ice Cream is always good and plentiful.

If you want the best food at Beaches, you must go to the Teppanyaki Japanese restaurant (make reservations two days in advance when possible-they do not allow phone calls from outside of resort-faxes only)

Also the Seville, which is the maximum gourmet experience you will find at the resort, and excellent. Do not miss this, even though you must wear more formal attire.

Be sure to checkup on what these restaurant's days off are during the week. Teppanyaki closes on Wednesdays, as a rule, for example.

Drinks are consistently good, although some bartenders are better than others. Drinks are served in plastic cups, and sometimes cups are very small. This could be changed if enough guests mention it.

Water sports are many and fun--there are plenty activities for all.

Nightlife varies from night to night, but resort makes a reasonable effort to provide something for everyone.

Children will find more than enough activities of all kinds to have fun.

I forgot to mention that as for CHECKING IN, we did not have to wait more than twenty minutes to be shown our room, and were treated with the usual welcome hospitality bathroom gifts, as well as cooling drinks there in the welcome Lobby area.

All in all, Beaches does not deserve the negative reviews that we have read. To the contrary-we found that the staff makes a real effort to make everyone's vacation a memorable one and a place you will want to return to again. And lastly, but most importantly--the Jamaican people themselves, whether staff or natives, are Jamaica's most lovely asset. Truly they are a sweet, hardworking and humble people who like everyone, want the best for themselves and their families, but have been denied it by a cruel economic circumstance in their country. You will not forget the lovely Jamaican friends you make at this resort or in this very special country. Enjoy your trip!

Dan and Family

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
47  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2005

Just returned from our family vacation June 2 - June 7th and have very mixed feelings about this place. First of all we booked here because we were led to believe that there would be plenty to do for both adults and kids alike. Unfortunately, we paid @ $5,000 for a vacation strictly geared towards kids, lacking in customer service, and misrepresentation in advertising.

Customer Service - most of the staff will smile and say "yeah, man" to you but much beyond that there were only @ 3 - 5 employees that really stood out as being happy and eager to please. Our room was also not ready when we arrived @ 2:00pm. If you bring a carry on bag make sure you have your swim trunks in it so you can cool off while you are waiting for your room. This seems to be the standard for check-in. Rarely did I see anyone come in and get right into their room. If you want this then you should arrive well after 3pm when the cleaning staff has made their rounds. Part of the lack of customer service and friendliness seems to be there are a lot of younger employees running around with very little supervision. Most of the more mature staff is up front and do not venture beyond the front (air conditioned) offices.

Rooms and Grounds - our room was nice. We rejected the first room they took us to as it was 2 double beds and we had paid for a king bed with a pull out couch. We also order in a roll away bed. We were in the monteplier building room 702. It had an oceanview but none of their rooms are very oceanfront. Most are a minimum of 50 - 100 feet off the beach. Rooms were clean but the floors don't get a regular good mopping. After our second day I requested two rugs (as shown in their advertising) be brought to our room.

Food - food was fair. The Mill restaurant has a good selection and tasty food however they serve the same thing everyday for breakfast (got old) and repeat a lot of the other dishes during lunch and dinner. The japanese restaurant was a nice change of pace but nothing spectacular. You don't get to order a dinner they cook everything on the menu and let everyone have a taste. The shrimp tempura was delicious - try to get an extra helping of it. The Seville was excellent! Try to do as many adult dinners here as you can. They are not open on Sundays. Great food; excellent and friendly service, lavish decorations. Maybe the attitude of the employees is all wrapped around whether or not they work in air conditioning? Pizza and food around the water slide was good as well but very limited in choices daily.

Pools - the smaller of the two pools by the water slide was a bit dirty. Could feel a film on the bottom of the pool. Did not spend much time here. The main pool was cleaned daily and seemed to be ok. Spent a lot of time here. The lazy river is a blast and very powerful. Watch the little ones that may talk you into letting them go by themselves.

Activities - This is the area we had a main complaint. They have scheduled activities but if they don't get enough participation they just scrap the event. The entertainment staff is not much for motivation. Instead of stepping in and getting involved or trying to personally involve others they seem just fine with scratching events so they can have another hour to themselves. At night if you are an adult and think you are going to have plenty to do; think again! The piano bar is ok for awhile. They do sing alongs and karaoke from 10 - midnight. The disco is disgusting. As soon as you open the door their is a stench that was unbearable. The whole time we were there we never saw more than about 8 people sitting around in the disco. Therefore, there is nothing geared for the adults - onsite. You can visit a disco down the road called The Jungle which is a great time or Margaritaville; but these are both going to cost you more money.

Overall - we were not impressed and won't be going back to Jamaica anytime soon. We have made two previous trips to all-inclusive resorts in Mexico and by far the service, atmosphere, cleanliness, participation, etc. was better. Not to mention it is a lot less expensive to stay in Mexico than it is in Jamaica. Yeah Man!

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lmt_massage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Atlanta, Georgia
112
Reviewed June 4, 2005

We just returned from a 7 day trip to Beaches Negril. It was quite disappointing. The customer service was terrible, beginning with registration staff. Upon arrival we were told our rooms were not ready and to go have lunch. After lunch we checked back at the front desk and were told "don't come up here again it may be several hours before your room is ready and we don't need a bunch of people in the lobby". This was just the first experience with unfriendly staff. It took at least 15 minutes to get drinks from completely rude bartenders who were out of most mixers, most of the time. We had booked a King Premium room only to get a room with 2 doubles. We specifically had a King room listed on our confirmation, but were told beds were not reserved -false advertising on their web site. It took 2 days to get a room with a King bed. Meanwhile, we were in the 2 double bed room on the road and could hear traffic all through the night. We had also specifically requested not to be on or near the road at the advice from friends who had visited before. We requested early on to speak with a manager and were told one would call. After waiting in our room for several hours, we called again and were told a manager would call. Finally we went to the front desk and asked to speak with the manager. We waited in the lobby for 30 minutes and were then told there was not a manager available. The food was marginal. The wait staff were slow and did not seem to be really interested in working. The two positive qualities about this resort were the Kids Kamp and Water Sports. The staff were friendly and the kids had a great time. We truly believed the counselors enjoyed their jobs and wanted our kids to have a good time. There were plenty of options on Water Sports and the staff seemed to want to help you have a good time. If you are accustomed to excellent customer service and great accomodations, we would not recommend this resort.

12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2005

Let me start by saying beaches negril is great! we loved it and so did our 16 month old daughter.

However, my wife and i are both seasoned scuba divers and booked the holiday as a way of spending time on land as a family and off land doing some diving. So i'd thought i'd post a message about diving as the other reviews go into a lot of detail about the entertainment, kids kamp and food, all of which i agree with and overall we had an excellent holiday and would recommend this hotel completely to families looking to spend time with (and occassionally without) their children.

Including scuba in the all inclusive is a nice touch. There is a dive school at the hotel which teaches PADI courses but you don't actually dive from the hotel - you transfer down to sandals which is only a five minute speed boat journey or via the hotel shuttle bus. We did have a few occassions when we were waiting half an hour for either, but this was Jamaica - so no reason to get stressed (unless you have to get back to your baby!).

Overall, the diving was ok. its good point was the convenience and beginners would find the reefs interesting and its good to get wet generally. Unfortunately if you have done any serious diving there are a few things that won't work for you. These are:
1:dives are only 30 minutes long. Yes - 30 minutes! doesn't matter what depth you go to that's their rule.
2: You dive as a group. Fine if you're a beginner but generally frustrating if you know what you're doing.
3: Afternoon dives are shallow. and i mean shallow! try 8.2m. It was more like a snorkel.
4. Hurricane Ivan wiped out a lot of the coral and the fish life is a little sparse

In all we thought the diving was worth doing for a few days but it's not going to suit the serious diver. We did on one dive get the company of three bottle nosed dolphins which was a wonderful experience, but the 30 minute dive time cut short what could have been one of the best dives ever. There were also a few turtles, rays and tiny eels, but these were all in very short supply (sorry, but i've dived the indian ocean and been spoiled a bit).

In all it was a slick operation and what we lost in diving excitement was more than made up for in terms of the fun we had with our daughter watching the sesame street chacters.

Hope this is of help to other divers.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank BrownjoeLondon_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Clevland, Ohio
137
Reviewed May 22, 2005

After reading some of the reviews posted on this site, I was a bit concerned about our reservation at Beaches Negril. As soon as we arrived at the "Sandals/Beaches" Lounge at the Montego Bay Airport, all my fears disappeared...

Arrival: After a half hour wait in immigration, we went to the resort's arrival lounge area (which had a very clean bathroom, cushy couches, beer and soda on tap and a hostess) and waited for our shuttle. We only waited ten minutes before we were in an air-conditioned, clean shuttle. Our driver, Perry, gave us an intro to Jamaica and periodically pointed out differenet sites on the 1 1/2 hour trip. At the resort, we were given wet washcloths and rum or fruit punch while the check in process took place.

Room: We chose the least expensive room and were not disppointed. The room had high speed internet for my husband, a tv with cable for the kids, and a small patio. It was cleaned twice a day and although I tried to leave a daily tip for Hillarie, she never took it.

Kids Camp: We have a seven and a four year old and the kid's program was one of the reasons we chose beaches. We ended up not using it very much. The older (8-12yrs) kids seemed to bond as a group, stay and play together all week and have an awesome time at the camp. The babies (0-2) were well cared for in the air-conditioned nursery. The staff for the 3-7 year olds were not very friendly or helpful to the parents. When I dropped my children off, I was made to feel that I was imposing on them. My kids had a good time doing arts and crafts and activities with the sesame characters, but I did not want to leave them there for more than an hour at a time. They do have a sign-in procedure and you are given a beeper, which made me feel that they were safe.

Meals: If you are looking for gourmet, go somewhere else. If you are looking for lots of options for children at meals (and all day long) this is the place. The food was mediocre, but you can't mess up a hot dog or cheeseburger. Pizza was available all afternoon and crepes and tea sandwiches at 4pm were delicious. We went to the Tappenyaki restaurant and waited a long time, but had a good meal.

Pools: Wading pool for toddlers (you get key from nursery to unlock gate), main pool with swim-up bar, and family pool with swim up bar. We primarily used the family pool. Seats are claimed early in the morning - so you need to get out there and put down a towel if you want a chair.

Water Park: The Lazy river (we called it the crazy river) was great. You did not even need a tube, just a flotation vest. We did it 50+ times and loved it! Our kids were not big enough for the water slides, but I tried them and they were fun. Sprinkler area also a blast for the little ones.

Beach: Fantastic! Several large covered areas for the fair-skinned. The water was beautiful. A few vendors from time to time. Women wanting to braid your hair, coffee vendors, etc. Just say no politlely and they leave you alone.

Water Sports: Snorkeling and scuba were fabulous. Sailing, sea kyaks, water bikes, all included.

Overall: The staff was friendly and courteous. We had a wonderful time together. No, it is not a luxury resort with gourmet food, but what it is , is a fabulous family resort that I would go back to over and over again.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
37  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
5.1 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#3 of 80 in Negril
250 reviews
2.9 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma
33.3 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
2.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaches Negril Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaches Negril Resort & Spa

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Negril
#3 Family Hotel in Negril
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#9 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#9 Spa Hotel in Negril
#10 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: $670 - $1,553 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Beaches Negril Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Located on the widest stretch of Negril's seven mile white sand beach•Stay at one, play at two with full exchange privileges with Beaches Sandy Bay including a choice of 11 dining options•“Pirates Island” Water Theme Park with 4 slides, meandering “lazy” river and splash deck•Caribbean Adventure with Sesame Street themed activities with daily character appearances, parades and stage shows•Kids Kamp & Nursery with wide range of supervised activities•Interactive Teens Program with “Trench Town” Teen's Center and Teens' Coordinator to coordinate teen activities•Expansive Two & Three Bedroom Butler serviced suites•Supervised Xbox® Play Lounge with flat screen plasma TV's & Xbox® 360 game consoles•Beaches Resorts were voted “World's Leading Family All-Inclusive 14 years in a row•Five Star Diamond Award, American Academy of Hospitality Sciences•Six Star Diamond Award, Beaches Resorts – Keeping it Green•EarthCheck Platinum Certified ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Unique Vacations Inc, Otel, TravelUp, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beaches Negril Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaches Negril Hotel Negril
Beaches Hotel Negril
Negril Beaches Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing