We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Family Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
Ranked #11 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 12, 2005

We also returned from our stay at Beaches, Negril on April 2nd and it was awesome. Our kids ages are 14 and 9, and we traveled with another family with kids ages of 17,15, and 10. Everybody had a good time and kept busy from morning until sunset, doing all the watersports and enjoying the beach. I would have to agree with the review from Wisconsin. The resort was clean and nicely landscaped, the rooms were just fine, and we had one facing the hwy. We were too busy having fun to notice the noise. I also agree that the staff were very fun and friendly, and nobody moved too slow. We did not get in the Teppan Yaki restaurant , but we waited a few days before calling to see if we could get in.. The kids were all safe hanging out together and going to dinner together, so the adults could get some adult time. I think the poor reviews are unfair to this resort, so that is why I am writing this. We had no complaints our whole stay, well maybe one. Our only complaint was that we had to leave after a week, and wished we had a few more days there.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank lisa90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,063 - 5,069 of 5,318 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
140
Reviewed April 2, 2005

We just returned from a 7-night stay at Beaches Negril April 2, 2005. We have 3 kids (ages 13, 10, and 5) and were traveling with extended family (17 of us in all). This was an ideal location for us. The resort was big enough to give us plenty of things to do, yet small enough to find each other and get from one area to another quickly and easily. The resort was clean and beautifully landscaped. Our room was very nice, although there were pull-outs for the kids rather than beds which weren't too comforatable. We have also been to Beaches Turks and Caicos, but prefered Negril. Turks is a bit more upscale and bigger, but we found the staff at Negril to be more friendly and fun, and again, the resort size was preferrable. We love to travel, and for us, location, culture, and things to do are most important. The beach was awesome, and we could walk for miles safely. We even went out to a nightclub until quite late one night and felt as safe as we would here in Milwaukee or Chicago. The watersports were great! All of us used the sailboats, the kayaks, the windsurfers the water trampoline and the banana boat rides. We never waited for any of them and everything was functional. My son and nephew did their open water certification dives (a bit disorganized and expensive). We also snorkeled - great for first time snorkelers and kids - shallow reefs not too far off shore with lots of small fish and pretty coral, nothing scary for them. The waterpark was fun for all, however, the waterslides are only for those taller than 48", and they adhere to this! Our five year old was not tall enough, but she had a blast on the lazy river instead. As for the food - well, not fabulous, but certainly not terrible. We had great lunches at the pool bar, and great dinners at the Seville, the Teppan Yaki and the Last Chance Saloon. The Mill was just okay. The people who have stated that there was nothing for their kids to eat apparently didn't try very hard to find something. The Piazza served great pizza and pasta (including macaroni and cheese) as well as sandwiches. The beach grill served burgers and fries, chicken, grilled cheese, hot dogs and nachos. (We did wish that these would stay open in the evening like Bobby D's in Turks)There was also a popcorn and ice cream machine at the family pool. The kids could get soda or fruit drinks and the pool bar - if you wanted milk or fruit juice, you simply had to ask. The Kids Kamp staff and activities here were also better than we experienced at Turks (The X-Box center and Bobby D's Diner were better at Turks). Our 10 and 5 year olds loved both the activities and the camp counselors. Our 13 year old loved the freedom that we could allow him at a resort this size. One of our favorite things about this vacation was meeting the people of Jamaica. We found that if you take the time to be friendly and you adjust to THEIR culture rather than expecting them to adjust to yours, they will be friendly, fun and accomodating. Things don't always happen quickly or on schedule in Jamaica, but "no problem, Mon" - relax a little. If you want to be pampered, if you are a very demanding person who expects to always be catered to and likes to complain when you are not, please stay in the US so as not to embarrass the rest of us Americans. When you leave the country, do so to learn about and appreciate the differences of other cultures - it adds a lot more value to your trip than milk and chicken nuggets for the kids or a top-shelf drink for the adults.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
40  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2005

I have to agree with the the previous email about Beaches Negril...not worth the money. We were there March 2004 and had a similar experience.

Selection of food for both kids and adults was terrible. Pizza, pasta and ice cream was it for the kids menus. All the restraunts were serving the same food...just called it something different at each loction depending on their theme.

The Front Desk Management Staff were the worst I have ever run into anywhere while on vacation. They don't just "seem not to care"...they really DON'T care!! They were rude, lied right to your face and never kept a promise. Even if you had an agreemet in writting they would not honor it.

The rooms were small, dirty and nothing like they state in their brochures. Ours over looked the constructon crew's outhouse and the storage area for their fuel tanks. That was their version of a luxury garden view room.

I have been to other Sandal/Beaches resorts and this location does not live up to their usual standards. I wouldn't recommend this location to anyone. I would however, recommend Beaches and Sandals other locations in Jamacia. They are wonderful.

  • Stayed: March 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank KayKayTorontoCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2005

To start the check in took way to long 75 Min. They said the room was not ready. They provided the kids with cheap chicken nugets dark Meat and the ran out 3 times. The good food and service will not let kid in to eat. Ski boat broken all week no Sking.... Italian food is only a pasta bar and pizza.. Extra charges for the breakfast with Elmo and friends... Over pool water was not clear as it should been... Not as good as the Grand Lideo resorts, will never go back... Over priced for the level of food and services....

8  Thank rcsloan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2005

We spent our spring vacation at Beaches, Negril. We just got back. We went from 3/19 to 3/26/05. The resort itself is dirty, and not at all what the pictures look like on line. Our reservations were not what we had requested. We travel with two young children and my mother in law and always get 2 adjoining rooms. One would think looking at the reservation and seeing two small children and another adult that the adjoining room request was a valid one. Instead, they had my husband and I on a different floor. Mind you, we are signature members of the Beaches/Sandals family and had never experienced the lack of service as we did here. It took well over 2 hours to even get a room, which was reserved a year ago and this was after check in time. It was now close to 5:00 and finally we got the second room, which they down graded our room just so we could be on the same floor as our children. The food was terrible. They state that it is a great family resort, however, there is nothing for the kids to eat except ice cream and soda. Dinner time for the kids is the same every day and extremely limited when it is different. This is our 4th time to Jamaica and we have never experienced terrible food. No juice, no milk, except at dinner time if you're lucky. The pools were very dirty, it would appear on days that they were cleaning them, but they were never clean. The staff was far from service oriented and truly didn't seem to care. I'm not a constant complainer, however, we spent an extremely large sum of money to go to this resort expecting a 5 star resort, it truly is only a 3 at most. My children ages 3 and 8 had a great time, and we did enjoy meeting people and sharing stories of our expectations of the resort. Everyone we met said the same exact things as we did. The beach was nice, even the dirty pools were fun, but the amount of money it costs to go there is truly not worth it. We would never stay here again and would not recommend it to anyone either. Stay elsewhere get better service, enjoy good food, and spend less money!!!

14  Thank Woodfamilyma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Boston
115
Reviewed March 24, 2005

We traveled to Beaches Negril 3 weeks ago. This is our 2nd time here. Quite a change from last year. Now that Sesame Street is there, lots of toddlers and babies. It is a wonderful vacation if you have very young tots.
The kids camp is ideal and gives you time to yourself. The waterpark is a new addition and fun for older kids. Food wasn't as good as last year, plus we had problems with no water during showers in the room. The area near the waterpark was more congested and not so clean. Since the introduction of the waterpark, this area is used much more than last year.
Our kids are in their teens. This resort is now geared towards families with tots. We enjoyed our stay. Great weather, beautiful beach. If you have small kids, this is the place to go. I Wish a place like this was available when I had 5 young kids. Since my kids are now grown and in their teens, we will not return.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2005

My family of 4 (kids ages 11 and 9) just returned from Beaches Negril on March 17th. We stayed for 2 weeks and had a great time. This was our 3rd trip to Jamaica but our first time to a Beaches resort. We found the resort to be beautiful, with an excellent beach and a friendly staff. The food was good with a nice selection. Of course the second week was a total repeat of the first, but that is to be expected at an all inclusive resort. There was always a nice variety and the food was always fresh and plentiful. The Teppenyaki restaurant was fun, as the chefs sing and joke around alot. As far as the ambiance of the resort, because of the Sesame Street characters, there are A LOT of small children around!! Our second week was during the March Break, so it was pretty crowded compared to our first week. The average family was made up of very small children (or maybe it just seemed that way because the babies and toddlers make the most noise!) My kids enjoyed the Xbox rooms and the water slide and lazy river (my husband and I enjoyed them too!) The only warning I want to put out there has to do with the rooms. Because we were staying for two weeks and it is a pretty expensive resort, I booked a Premium which is one upgrade up from their standard (called Deluxe) room. When I got into the room, which was pretty but quite small, I quickly realized by the traffic noise coming from the balcony doors that we were facing the main road (lots of honking cars... Jamaican people love to honk their horns when they drive!) and we were also right in front of a fenced off huuuge propane tank, partially hidden by a few palm trees, but definately there! We stayed there for 1 night and the next day we upgraded to a Deluxe Ocean Front Room. They wanted to charge us $2000.00 for the two weeks, but accepted our offer of $1000.00. It was totally worth it. One, because if we had ordered it from the get go from our travel agent, it would have been more than $3000.00 more, and two because even though the room wasn't much bigger in size, it was more comfortable, bigger beds and had a view of gardens and the ocean. ALL Deluxe and Premium rooms face Norman Manley Blvd. It is a very, very busy road. I don't think anyone wants to listen to the roar of vehicles when they're on their vacation!! The sound of waves from the ocean and the chirping birds was much more enjoyable. All in all, The resort was very nice, the food good (no one was sick, which is always a good thing!), the bars were stocked with premium brands (just make sure you ask for them by name) The people of Jamaica, great as always. I'm just not sure if you can justify the extra money it costs to stay at the Beaches Resort. If you're Canadian, it ends up being approx. $1,100.00 a day. You have to do an awful lot of eating, drinking, crafts, watersports and hugging Elmo to get your money's worth. I can't say I wouldn't recommend it, but will we be back next year? No, we'll probably try something new. Good luck!

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank ttravels2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
5.1 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#3 of 80 in Negril
250 reviews
2.9 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma
33.3 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
2.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaches Negril Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaches Negril Resort & Spa

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Negril
#4 Family Hotel in Negril
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#9 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#9 Spa Hotel in Negril
#10 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: $667 - $1,547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Beaches Negril Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Located on the widest stretch of Negril's seven mile white sand beach•Stay at one, play at two with full exchange privileges with Beaches Sandy Bay including a choice of 11 dining options•“Pirates Island” Water Theme Park with 4 slides, meandering “lazy” river and splash deck•Caribbean Adventure with Sesame Street themed activities with daily character appearances, parades and stage shows•Kids Kamp & Nursery with wide range of supervised activities•Interactive Teens Program with “Trench Town” Teen's Center and Teens' Coordinator to coordinate teen activities•Expansive Two & Three Bedroom Butler serviced suites•Supervised Xbox® Play Lounge with flat screen plasma TV's & Xbox® 360 game consoles•Beaches Resorts were voted “World's Leading Family All-Inclusive 14 years in a row•Five Star Diamond Award, American Academy of Hospitality Sciences•Six Star Diamond Award, Beaches Resorts – Keeping it Green•EarthCheck Platinum Certified ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Unique Vacations Inc, TravelUp, Otel, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beaches Negril Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaches Negril Hotel Negril
Beaches Hotel Negril
Negril Beaches Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing