We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed it...by accident..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 6, 2013

we were transferred to Beaches when we arrived for reservations at the Grand Pineapple and were told they had suddenly closed for repairs 9/19/2013. While Beaches was an upgrade, by room rate, it was NOT the relaxing, adult vacation we had planned. I understand repairs need to be done in the off-season, but we then arrived at Beaches to the sound of jackhammers tearing down a wall by the main pool. The pool was out of commission and the jackhammers persisted the entire time we were there. It is a beautiful resort, but too large for our taste. It would be a wonderful resort if you have children since there is a small waterpark in the resort and many activities with Sesame Street characters---it was cute, just not our speed;) To be fair, they did seem to make an effort to keep the groups with kids on the waterpark side of the resort and the adults on the other.
We DID enjoy the Italian restaurant---some of the best I've ever had! There is also a seafood restaurant on the beach where I enjoyed meaty stone crab claws as an appetizer. I must say the staff was exceptional---from ONeill at the bar, to Lesmore in the restaurant and Courtney the Concierge-extraordianire. Scuba diving is included and it was awesome! Another excellent touch is the coffee/dessert/ice cream bar offering Blue Mountain coffee and sweet bites from early AM until late PM.
The rooms were spotless and housekeeping seemed to be active all day every day. Each room had a small 'fridge (which was restocked with soft drinks and water daily by a nice gentleman), but we were surprised to find a charge for this service on our final bill (Water: $40) WHY charge $40 for water in an all-inclusive resort when I could have walked downstairs and got it for free at the bar? If it's an honor-bar, just say so!----it just seemed odd...
Security was excellent---they kept most vendors away, but to us, that's part of the charm of Negril...it was a bit like being at Disney World.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank auggiebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Beaches Negril Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for your review of our resort. We're happy to read that you enjoyed the genuine hospitality of our staff, delicious dining and your exciting scuba diving experience

Please accept our apologies for the minor renovations going on during your visit. We certainly did not mean to interrupt your vacation with our beautification process. I'm happy that you still had a wonderful stay.

We hope next year you will visit again for another amazing visit!

Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,210)
There are newer reviews for Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,704 - 2,710 of 5,211 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

Okay writing my review a bit late, but having read reviews felt I would add a bit about our experience. My husband, daughter and I visited in January 2013 and were disappointed as we had paid almost six thousand pounds. It most definitely does not live up to the description given by the travel agent. We arrived in the early hours and thought the room looked okay, how wrong were we. Woke up and were horrified to discover we looked into the back of what appeared to be a dumping ground, the balcony door did not lock. We asked to be move and were told they could offer us an alternative room at a cost of $550. You can guess wee I told them to go! They eventually agreed to move us to another part of the hotel, the room was better but a bit cramped but was not willing to give them another penny.
My daughter and arrived with lots of lovely evening dresses as we had been led to believe that the dress code was formal in some restaurants, how wrong were we. We have never seen such a bunch of scruffs on holiday, hardly an effort made. Some Americans commented on how stunning our daughter looked in the evenings as she refused to wear the clothes she wore during the day in the evening. We booked Beaches as opposed to Sandles as our daughter was 17 and we wanted her to meet up with other young people. The adverts show luxury, this place was anything but, just your typical 3* European Hotel. Wish we had gone to the Sensatori in Tenerife as that is luxury.
Be warned be prepared to be covered in mosquito bites and sand flies.
On a positive note the staff were very helpful, especially Lindley who went out of his way to try and make our daughter's stay more enjoyable, as she was disappointed re the lack of young people in her age group. More suited to younger age group and older age group.
The beaches in Negril are stunning and the people are so friendly. It is an all inclusive resort but we still spent a fortune. Trips out of the hotel cost a fortune and your continually approached by locals on the beach who are selling stuff.
We got photographs done on the beach at sunset, which looked fab on the computer, however, when printed they are rather poor, by then its too late as they have taken your money and not interested. So double check them before you order them.

I think this resort for Americans is the equivalent of us going to a large hotel in Spain or Turkey. We could have gone to the Sensitorri in Tenerife for a bit less and whilst it isn't the Caribbean the hotel is 5* luxury unlike this hotel which I would say is more a 3* hotel.

We complained to travel agent (Thompsons) and we did thankfully get almost a thousand pounds back. We took photos to show the areas we were unhappy about. So thank you Thompson's for taking our complaint serious.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackiemac18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Beaches Negril Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. We strive to keep the highest standard of quality and service and we deeply regret if we did not quite live up to your expectations.

We are grateful for all feedback, as it allows us the opportunity to identify our strengths and weaknesses. Therefore, your comments have been passed on to the General Manager for immediate evaluation and action as needed.

Once again, thank you for your comments. We hope that you will afford us a chance to make things right during a stay that exceeds your expectations in the future.

Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

The staff at beaches go above and beyond. Our family had the trip of a lifetime!!! People were great. Beach is beautiful water sports rocked. Snorkeling was awesome. Entertainment crew made every day and night exciting for the while family. They learned our names immediately and made us feel like part of their family.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleenl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Beaches Negril Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you for your review of Beaches Negril! It means so much to hear that you had the trip of a lifetime with us. We love to meet and exceed the expectations of our guests an we can't wait to welcome you back for another amazing stay in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at beaches Negril in September 2013. We had a wonderful time. Our room was fantastic(421). The balcony gave us a great view of the resort and memorable views of the ocean. The room was kept very clean~ I do have one complaint though, I would like to thank our housekeeper but I do not know her name.
My husband went out daily scuba diving. He had a lot of fun. He would like to thank Capt. Larry, Desrick, Donovan, Karen, Valentine and Charles.
Obrian from guest relations were superb. He was very friendly.
Meals were amazing, our favorite was the Jamaican meals at Stewfish. We were treated well by Simon, Desroy and Troy at this restaurant. Marchello made great pizzas at Dinos. So glad he came from Italy and made his home in Jamaica.
The bartenders went out of their way to make us feel welcomed. Richard at the Big Top Bar, Sillion at the Arizona bar.. Oneil, Damian and Jordian at the Millend Pool were exceptional or I should say beyond exceptional.
I was amazed by how friendly the entire staff was.Beaches Negril Management should be very proud of their staff.

Room Tip: Concierge level, Room 421 had a great view
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PuppyM0M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Beaches Negril Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

We're thrilled that you and your husband had a spectacular vacation at Beaches Negril. We always strive to offer the highest level of service and quality to our guests and it's wonderful that you both enjoyed every minute of your stay with us. Thank you for your review.

We hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Had a very good time. My 3 year old son enjoyed a lot. He loved the beach and called it "Swimming pool beach" because there were no waves and he could get in and out of the water all by himself. The water is clear and you can see fishes swimming by sometimes. There are reefs near by and you can take a glass bottom boat tour (included) to see them. Catamaran Cruise was just great for snorkeling and were also lucky to see some dolphins while doing that!
Sesame street characters and shows were very good.
We are vegetarians and the chefs made us veggie curries n request. It was perfect!. Staff was nice and courteous. Big shout out to everyone working at Beaches Negril Spa and Resort!

Few things to keep in mind, the resort is a good one and half hour journey from Montego Bay airport. If you have kids be prepared with some of their favorite toys or munchies for the ride.But the ride is worth it! Also, if you are a vegeterian like us, let the chef know what you want for meals and they will prepare it for you!!

Did not want to come back! Do not forget to make reservations at "kimonos". Great food! Kids camp was awesome, teachers were very caring and they would also come to the room ($10 per hour) if you do not want to leave them there. Do not miss "Cafe De Paris" for delectable delights! So everything said, if you are a family with kids, this is a fabulous place to spend your vacation time!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank PeaceB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Beaches Negril Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you for your review. We're so happy that you had such an amazing time at Beaches Negril. Our staff is committed to ensuring the needs of our guests are met, so we love to hear great feedback. We hope to welcome you back for another stellar stay in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Well not sure where to begin.
We had our honeymoon 5 years at sandals negril so we were very excited to be celebrating our anniversary and 1st family holiday in a special place.

Well it certainly was very special and one ill never forget from the staff to everything the resort had to offer it was amazing from start to end.

Everyone went out of their way to help if ever we needed anything- which we did when we found ourselves with a poorly fussy 3 year old for 3 days.
The characters - especially Cookie Monster - made our little boy very happy which made the holiday for us to see his face light up other than the characters there are So many names to mention that helped to make our holiday memorable but the ones that stood out for us were Trudy-ann in reception always welcoming and helpful, Sandra in housekeeping when our little boy was poorly she made him a little floor bed as he found it cooler and comforting, Marlon on the bar, the 2 women chefs at Arizonas who my husband couldn't rate enough making us sandwiches that weren't on menu- chipotle chicken yum!! And also executive head chef a big thank you.
This resort is definately 1 to visit and I can't recommend or thank everyone enough. Our little boy Charlie felt like a mini celebrity as everyone knew his name & always made an effort to stop what they were doing to talk to him.

There is always something to do here and if you want to relax you there's always a place to do that to.
The food is lovely and everywhere was always kept clean and fresh.

Thanks again to everyone at Beaches, hope we can save enough and be back soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emz14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Beaches Negril Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you for your kind review! We are so proud of our amazing staff at Beaches Negril. They are some of the friendliest, most hospitable people you'll ever meet. I'm so glad your stay was indicative of the norm and you got the chance to experience to true warmth of our wonderful resort and staff.

We hope to see you back very soon for another great stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We would love to be back! My girlfriends and I had an amazing time. We were greeted by very friendly staff but Ian (manager in training) is a rising star in your organization. He set the tone for our stay. Denesha did a great job catering to our every need during out cabana stay. She's great! Day in and day out everyone greeted us and asked if we were enjoying our stay. A big thank you to Executive Chef Ruijs who specially prepared a Jamaican dish for us one night, we were bummed out for missing Jamaica night. He heard of this and next thing we knew, we were presented with a delicious curry goat dish! He rocks...the whole crew rocks!!

The beach was amazing and the sand was very clean! The security staff kept vendors at bay and we felt safe when walking the beach. It is very apparent that Beaches, Negril takes pride in their section of beach, neighboring resorts weren't as clean.

The food was great and of course, the restaurant staff were amazing - the ones we ate at. We had to have stayed longer to try the other places. We ate among the birds at The Mill, what a different experience. The birds were an added touch and were not a nuisance at all. The only thing I would like to suggest is there should be at least one Jamaican dish served at all meals at The Mill. :-) We were fortunate to have gone outside of the resort to a local restaurant and we had Jamaican dishes there.

Evening entertainment was good, we especially loved it when the steel band Silver Bird performed. Casino night was hilarious, the auctioneers had us in stitches! There were many events all day for the adults and children. Too many things to do, I just wanted to lay on the beach!! LOL

Thanks to Beaches, Negril for a grand time!! You guys are awesome.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Beaches Negril Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Barbara, thank you so much for your review of Beaches Negril. We're thrilled to know that we were able to offer such an incredible experience for you and your girlfriends during your stay. We always want to ensure that we meet the needs of each guest, no matter the age or occasion. It was our pleasure to host you at our resort and we look forward to you all visiting again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
2.9 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
33.3 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
89.4 mi away
Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club
1.2 mi away
Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma
36.2 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaches Negril Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaches Negril Resort & Spa

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Negril
#4 Family Hotel in Negril
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#9 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#9 Spa Hotel in Negril
#10 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: $645 - $1,474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Beaches Negril Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Located on the widest stretch of Negril's seven mile white sand beach•Stay at one, play at two with full exchange privileges with Beaches Sandy Bay including a choice of 11 dining options•“Pirates Island” Water Theme Park with 4 slides, meandering “lazy” river and splash deck•Caribbean Adventure with Sesame Street themed activities with daily character appearances, parades and stage shows•Kids Kamp & Nursery with wide range of supervised activities•Interactive Teens Program with “Trench Town” Teen's Center and Teens' Coordinator to coordinate teen activities•Expansive Two & Three Bedroom Butler serviced suites•Supervised Xbox® Play Lounge with flat screen plasma TV's & Xbox® 360 game consoles•Beaches Resorts were voted “World's Leading Family All-Inclusive 14 years in a row•Five Star Diamond Award, American Academy of Hospitality Sciences•Six Star Diamond Award, Beaches Resorts – Keeping it Green•EarthCheck Platinum Certified ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Unique Vacations Inc, Orbitz, Hotwire, Otel, Travelocity, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Beaches Negril Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaches Negril Hotel Negril
Beaches Hotel Negril
Negril Beaches Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing