We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Jamaican Resort!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
winnipeg
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Jamaican Resort!!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Once we made it through the very long line up at customs and immigration (took over an hour to get through) we were greeted by Sandals/Beaches staff and enjoyed free drinks while we waited for our shuttle to arrive - what a treat!
Yes it is a bit of a drive to get to Negril (90 minutes) but it was interesting countryside and the van was air conditioned!
Once we arrived, staff unloaded our bags, and we went into concierge services (air conditioned!) and enjoyed more drinks while we waited to check in. Some families had to wait quite some time to get their rooms, which can be frustrating after a long day of travel, however our room was available right away.
All the staff were super nice and ready to answer questions, however, be aware that some of them are on "Jamaican Time" so service wasn't always super quick.
There is a lot for the kids, tweens and teens - something for everyone! The evenings were always a treat with entertainment for everyone.
The beach was GREAT! By far the best beach I have ever been to! Some of the vendors walking the beach were a little demanding and annoying, but they stay on a narrow part of the beach and will not bother you in the water or on the beach chairs.
All the restaurants were great, Stewfish on the beach was one of my favorites with wonderful seafood. Kimonos was also a great spot - you have to make reservations, but it is worth it. The Tex Mex restaurant was not our favorite, we only went there once - the service there was terrible and the food was mediocre. If you are a buffet fan, then you will love the Mill! We usually ate there for breakfast, and some lunches and dinners.
The spa was wonderful, being 6 months pregnant, I indulged in the pregnancy massage which was fabulous! The Cabana Rentals are also worth every extra penny! If you want a great beach day, get a cabana!
The Independence Day Celebrations were great - wonderful Jamaican food, entertainment and vendors!!

Now the "downside":
My husband asked concierge 3 times to add Red Stripe to our in room fridge, which they said "no problem" each time, he never had Red Stripe in our fridge the whole time!

We also had a teenager with us who was forced to sleep on a chair and a half sofa bed while we had a king bed. The pull out was a lot more comfortable than a rollaway bed - they were crap! The room itself was pretty small, as well as the patio - I think our room was really meant for 2 people not 3, and they were unable to change our room as the resort was fully booked.

Make sure you make dinner reservations as soon as you can - they fill up fast - but are worth it!
It was also my daughters birthday and concierge services said they would decorate our room for free - which they never did.
The photograph services they offered on the resort were quite pricy, even though the photos were fantastic, it was not part of the "all inclusive price" (One 5x7 photo print costs 16.00usd)
We felt the main pool bar was closed way to early. We enjoy a later afternoon/evening swim, and the bar closed at 6pm. The staff at the main bar were not very nice either.

All in all - we are looking forward to taking another vacation to Beaches Negril!!!

Room Tip: We had a room close to the mill restaurant on the main floor. If you sleep late, ask for a room on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pebbles75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,222
    1,151
    352
    214
    110
See reviews for
3,759
237
35
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My review is a little late as I stayed at Beaches Negril in April, 2013 but it was an amazing trip. I've previously stayed at Beaches Ocho Rios (formerly Beaches Boscobel) and although both resorts are amazing, Beaches Negril was my favorite.

When we arrived, we waited about 10 minutes for the shuttle to the hotel, yes, it's a long drive, but very scenic and you actually get to see Jamaica for what it is outside the resorts. We arrived at the hotel and our room wasn't ready, but it was no big deal, we went and had lunch at the buffet and it was great! We wandered out to the beach and back and then our room was ready. We were first given a room in the Savannah block (1st block closest to the lobby, shops etc.) which only had a king bed and we had requested a room with 2 beds (traveling with a friend) so the lady who took us to the room (can't remember your name, so sorry!!) called the front desk right away from our room to see if there was another room available with 2 beds. There wasn't that night but she said that tomorrow there would be one available for us, not a big deal we shared the king bed for the night.The next morning they called us and said they would have a room available for us with 2 beds, and to just pack up our stuff and they would move it all over for us and we could collect our new keys around noon. Everything was smooth, got our new keys, new room with 2 beds and it was actually in a much better, quieter location. The Savannah block was noisy, especially in the morning when it's right along the main walkway to everything - we had a man standing outside our door yelling for his kids to hurry up, at 7am! I get it, families are generally early risers, but have some respect for other people staying in the rooms you're standing in front of! Otherwise both rooms we had were great, spotless, and comfortable.

The restaurants were great, our favorite was Arizona's for dinner and breakfast at Stewfish on the beach. What's better than eating breakfast with your toes in the sand?! Every meal we had was spectacular, and were never hungry! The fresh pizza was amazing, as were the Dirty Banana's. The bar near the theater was a great place to hang out after dinner and the bartenders were creative in making you drinks if you didn't know what you wanted.

We got a cabana on the beach of day after we had way too much sun the previous day, some shade was very necessary. Our cabana attendants were amazing, had the cooler filled with our choices by 9:30am and kept checking in to see if we needed anything at all, and just to chat. She even brought us after sun lotion and cold towels for our sunburns. We felt like queens for the day! I highly recommend doing the cabana rental for the day, it's so worth it. We both fell asleep and when we woke up there was a cheese and cracker tray and deserts waiting for us, how awesome is that!?

The beach was great, clean white sand, warm water and sunshine, what could be better. Yes, there are vendors on the beach who are loud, but they're trying to make some money, give them a break. If you don't want what they're offering, a simple "no thank you" is all it takes.

All of the staff were amazing, and I regret not remembering all of their names to mention them individually, but we truly felt like we were at home from the minute we arrived. Everyone we encountered on our trip felt like an old friend. We were sad to leave, but would definitely return to Beaches Negril anytime without hesitation.

Room Tip: Request a room in a further room block from the main section - Savannah block is noisy because of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristineL1084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Beaches Negril Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your great review of Beaches Negril. We're thrilled to read that you had such an amazing stay with us. You enjoyed your beautiful room, the delicious dining and the genuine hospitality of our staff.

We can't wait to see you again for another superb stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Travelled to this resort March 2013 with two children aged 6 & 8. Resort was clean and staff very helpful and friendly. Kids loved the water park and especially snorkelling. The staff were amazing- diving down to show my daughter starfish and helping with my youngest who was nervous, even getting in the water and encouraging him and holding his hand with me. Everyone went out of their way to make sure kids were having fun and there was so much to do that was family-centered. We did not use the child centre- but wish we did! Food options were good- especially Arizona's, Kimonos and the weekly beach BBQ. However The Mill was not as enjoyable as far as quality compared to experiences we've had in Jamaica before. The concierge staff went above and beyond to help arrange day trips and make sure the stay was great. The only main complaint was that some guests would go to the pool and put towels on beach chairs to "hold them" early in the morning (we left early for an excursion one day and towels were in chairs before 7:00-with no one in sight!!). Given the price point of this resort, finding a chair should not have been an issue. We mentioned this to Lucine (who was fantastic!) and she assisted us and ensured the concern was addressed. Likely became a chain reaction do to a few guests starting this as it had not been an issue on the first two days. Overall-we will definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine1415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox Creek, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Great place to take children, so much for them to do and they are always busy! Staff are very friendly and helpful, someone was always there waiting to help! No matter what you needed. The Spa staff was awesome. All the bartenders were very nice. Kids Kamp was great for a few hours for they did wonderful things. At night there were lots of life entertainment for the kids (old and young)

Room Tip: Would get a room in the 200 - 500's if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Beaches Negril Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
We're so happy that you and your grandson had such a wonderful stay at Beaches Negril. You enjoyed every moment of your stay and it's great to hear your review.

Thank you so much for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I haven't been to a resort like this before. I'm 19, and went with my parents and my little brother. There is a lot for all ages, especially adults and young children, but I will focus on my experience as a teenager. There is a Club - Liquid, and a meeting place called Trench Town where you can watch movies, hang out, get drinks etc. The club is great place for budding dancers or people 18+ who just want to get drunk! Once you make a couple of friends your holiday really starts to begin. You all hang out in the pool during the day, or go off to the beach - Which is like a bath! - and play volleyball, or do any of the other activities. The staff were incredibly nice, helpful and above all, Fun! They were all laid back, and made you feel special. A big effort was made to make you feel comfortable, and get you involved with the other teens. Personally we had a group of around 10 - 20 people we'd met and hung out together, especially during the evening. At one point we had over 35 people playing Volleyball, all teens. The food was very well thought out, with the burger bar being open until 3am, meaning those of us who stayed out till then didn't go hungry. There was always somewhere to go, something to do, someone to see. If you're a parent thinking about taking a teen here, I highly recommend it, as long as they are willing to give things a go and get involved. The staff will do their best to encourage you and put on exciting events. And if everything fails you can always go to the xbox lounge!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliver M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairless Hills, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

By reading the reviews and stalking trip advisor for months, I was a little worried about traveling to this resort. From the minute that we ended up in the Sandals welcome lounge, we were treated great. The ride from the airport was 90 minutes long, but enjoyable. When we arrived, our baby was cranky so they took us right to our room and told us that we could finish our check-in later. Our refrigerator was stocked every day. The food was amazing! I am a picky eater as are my kids. We always found food that we liked. My son loved his shrimp omlettes at the mill every morning. The nacho bar at Arizonas was the best for lunch. Stewfish was amazing. We loved the shrimp and lobster kebobs. Kimono's was great, but I was not impressed by the food at the Venetian. The staff was incredible! They remembered our kids and their names which says alot.

Samantha at Cafe de Paris deserves her own review. She was the best!!! Our 10 month old daughter does not like many people, but she loved Samantha. She was always willing to make us anything that we wanted. She was so friendly and we hope to see her the next time we come back. My kids loved the entertainment. It was over @ 10 every night, but that was fine for us since we were up since 7 am. My son loved the karoke at night. Even though he was 7, they still let him participate. The kids loved the xbox lounge and the dj academy. Every staff member that we encountered was always so polite and friendly. They went out of their way to make sure that you were ok.

We only had mosquito bites on the nights that I forgot to spray OFF. I only got about a handful though. The locals do approach you on the beach, but back off if you politely say no. My 15 year old son was approached a few times about buying marijuana. He told them no and they backed off. The only minor complaint I had was that the housekeeping didn't come to your room until late some days. We left our room at 7 am and returned @1 to put our daughter down for a nap. The room was still not made up. We can't wait to come back. We already booked our next trip. Beaches really knows how to help you relax and give your family a great vacation. When they say "No worries" they mean it. See you soon! The Carr family

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Beaches Negril Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of Beaches Negril. We're thrilled to read of your amazing experience. It sounds like you and your family had an amazing stay and we can't wait to welcome you all back for more XBOX and Karaoke fun!

We hope to see you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were in Negril at the Beaches resort from Jul 29 - Aug 5 with 2 kids (Ages 6 and 4) On arrival around 2:30 pm we were told that our room was not ready. After traveling half a day and dealing with a child who was carsick for the 1.5 hr drive from the airport to the resort, this wasn't exactly a great start. It was suggested that we grab lunch during our wait. We dutifully did so and on our return to the front desk Kimberly (who had told us she would meet us back there) was nowhere to be seen. We were then told that our room had been changed and we were escorted by someone else to room 305.
We then found that the shower in that room was woefully inadequate (poor stream) We let the front desk know and someone showed up around 7:30 pm. On the one hand it is nice that it was important enough to them to have someone work on it that late but our journey had started at 5 am that day and we really had to ask him to stop after an hour. We continued to request that the shower be fixed and would be given a time that maintenance would appear. We worked our schedule around those times but the issue was never resolved. We finally requested a room change after getting completely frustrated and Daniela in guest relations was very responsive and efficient and we spent the 3rd day packing up and moving. It really appears that she 'gets' it but everyone else was dismissive. We were even given a free cabana rental on Saturday by her as a place to relax. As a physician I would like the folks at Beaches to know that one good person is not going make them successful, you need a great team.
Vacation is the one time during the year that we escape and want to be absolutely relaxed, pampered and not feel like we are having to fight for something. Not only was our experience with the shower not conducive to the 'unwinding' needed on vacation but the way you have to schedule snorkeling/boat trips/dinner reservations at 2 of the restaurants made us feel that we were fighting for the things we had already paid for. To compound the irritation is the fact that you are constantly offered services that incur additional charges.
The beach is gorgeous, house keeping is polite and hard working. The rest could use work.

Room Tip: The Savannah block (300s) is the loudest
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AYK75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
2.9 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
5.1 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 80 in Negril
215 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 80 in Negril
4,274 reviews
39.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
33.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaches Negril Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaches Negril Resort & Spa

Property: Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Negril
#4 Family Hotel in Negril
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#7 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#8 Spa Hotel in Negril
#10 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Beaches Negril Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Located on the widest stretch of Negril's seven mile white sand beach•Stay at one, play at two with full exchange privileges with Beaches Sandy Bay including a choice of 11 dining options•“Pirates Island” Water Theme Park with 4 slides, meandering “lazy” river and splash deck•Caribbean Adventure with Sesame Street themed activities with daily character appearances, parades and stage shows•Kids Kamp & Nursery with wide range of supervised activities•Interactive Teens Program with “Trench Town” Teen's Center and Teens' Coordinator to coordinate teen activities•Expansive Two & Three Bedroom Butler serviced suites•Supervised Xbox® Play Lounge with flat screen plasma TV's & Xbox® 360 game consoles•Beaches Resorts were voted “World's Leading Family All-Inclusive 14 years in a row•Five Star Diamond Award, American Academy of Hospitality Sciences•Six Star Diamond Award, Beaches Resorts – Keeping it Green•EarthCheck Platinum Certified ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Beaches Negril Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaches Negril Hotel Negril
Beaches Hotel Negril
Negril Beaches Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing