We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, but great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 17, 2012

My husband and I were here with our son(2) and our daughter(8) for my sister's wedding. We were here November 9th-12th. We came to Beaches after staying 3 days in Lucea, at the Palladium Grand Lady Hamilton, to save some money. Beaches is extremely kid/family friendly, of course. Very different than our visit to the Palladium. You are paying a premium price here, and what you are paying for is the EXCEPTIONAL service. Every employee is so friendly and looking to meet your every need. They are especially focused on the children and it is great.

We really liked the layout of the resort. There are little nooks and bends to explore. We were not as impressed with the pool/pools that they have here. Not very big, even with the water park, it is not much pool space. It was hard to find spots around either pool, and it was low season. The pictures of the water park make it seem bigger than it is. Of course, this is after we were spoiled with the massive pool at the Palladium.

We booked a Grand Luxe Beachfront room. Room 715, it looked out on the wedding chapel and the beach. The view was very beautiful. The room itself was rather smallish, and not as fancy as some other resorts we have stayed. I would figure the room would be a little better, with the price you pay. We paid half as much at the Palladium and the room was much nicer.

My sister's wedding was fantastic. It was a gorgeous wedding on the beach. I highly recommend this resort for a wedding. Be aware that other people are not always very respectful of your event. They post signs on the walkway "Beaches wedding in progress" to deter people from walking through, to go around using the other sidewalk. Some people are idiots though, or just have no manners. We had people walk through during the video shoot, in their bathing suits!

We found the food to be of very good quality. We especially enjoyed Kimonos, the Asian restaurant. They also had great selection for beakfast/lunch at the Mill buffet. We ate dinner ther one night and it was great. Especially the lobster/shrimp/veggies that they pan cook fresh. The only restaurant we didn't care for was Arizona's, which we ate at twice and found was not very good. The bars have some wonderful drinks to offer, most very sugary. We really liked the beach bar.

One thing that we weren't aware of, was that the Beaches brand doesn't allow employees to accept tips. They can lose their job. I know this is part of the premium price that you pay, but I still didn't like this. I like to reward excellent service. The employees here really deserve it. We found that you were able to tip at times, as long as you were very discreet about it, usually with a thankyou "handshake". The employees were appreciative, but I wish it didn't have to be so secretive. This was probably the biggest thing I didn't like at this resort.

I would highly recommend this resort for families traveling with children. The service here is amazing.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pisces26luna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,332 - 3,338 of 5,290 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed at Beaches Negril Oct 2-7. We were originally booked at the Beaches in Ochos Rios but were moved about 2 weeks before we arrived. Disappointed at first (regarding the transfer), but this resort was great. We traveled with our 14 month old son, and he received constant attention from all of the staff. The food was good, especially the Japanese / hibachi restaurant. The beach is long and gorgeous. The highlight of the trip was the beach bar. Oneil the bartender was fantastic. He treated my wife and I like we were his best friends. Ask him to put some "lead in the pencil" if you are in need of stronger drink. We would highly recommend this resort, although we would have waited until our son was a little older if we could do it all over. Make sure to visit our friend Oneil when you get there!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeremy0082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We thought our experience with Beaches was good. The transportation system was very good , although a long ride from Montego Bay. Upon our arrival we were met by staff, they checked us in and showed us tro our room. In leau of a map of the property they offer a guided tour twice a day. Not much help to us because we arrived after the second tour. Our experience with the water sports area fell below our expectations. The staff was very unorganized when it came to the wild cat and banana boat rides, guest were left to arrange themselves in the order we were to ride. No direction was given what to expect. The resturants were good and food average or above. We thought the breakfast with Sesame Street characters was a waste, the staff did not have the area set up, forcing all to wait to be seated. Once seated they quickly ran out of food, and were forced to trek accross the property to obtain more. We found the same situation at Stewfish, not enough glasses or silverware, short on staff, and many of the items on the breakfast menu hat to be obtained from "the mill' (by staff accross the property). the entertainment was good. the kids club fell below our expectations and apparently everyone elses too. Very few kids attended the kids club while we were there. No room service was offered, something we would have expected at this type of resort. One other troubling issue was that we met familys that were not actually staying on the property, they had paid $50.00 per person per day to enjoy all the amenities including the reservation only resturants. Staff appeared eager to satisfy, but could use more supervision and direction.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We booked this trip to attend our niece's wedding. What an amazing surprise! Our group ranged in age from 1 year to 60 years of age. There was something for everyone. The wedding was beautiful, although a little wet from the afternoon showers. The resort, staff, food, drink, attention to the children and all the details were amazing. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: One room suite is a better room than the 2 room suites. Block 400 is close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

My family just spent 5 awesome days at Beaches and had a trip we will never forget. We were fortunate enough to have butler service and if you indulge in this service definitely try to get Conrod and Novia. They are AMAZING. Probably more important is that the entire staff was the most professional and genuinely nice group that i have ever experienced and I have hit most of the islands. The really care that you are having fun adn will always do a little something extra which is not often the case in all inclusives. A special thanks, besides to Conrod and Novia, to Adrian & Richie who run a world class resort.

As for fun well if you can't have it a Beaches than you should not go on a beach vacation!! Seven Mile beach is spectacular with fine powder white sand not found in too many places. Not many alll inclusives resorts include water skiing, banana boating, snorkeling at reefs on top of the water slides, lazy river, etc.... As the old saying goes we need a vacation from our vacation since we were never sitting still.

If you are looking for more to do I suggest the zipline tours through Island Routes / Chukka. Our guides, Uncle J (FKA Stringbean) and Papi were great. They really made it so all we needed to do was have fun. Not to mention my daughter was really scared of doing this snce she has a fear of heights and they gave her the extra care needed so she was begging for more after the last line.

And finally the food. Again most all inclusives are well let's just say medicore at best when it comes to food. We were really suprised at the quality. The hibachi restaurant was better than most we go to and we are not new to hibachi, In particular the tuna was awesome. The italian restaurant had local fish steamed with vegetables that was excellent, And of course the kids ate more fries, burgers and other junk food in their 5 days than we give them all year. Hey it is vacation so what's wrong with a 3Am trip to the grill for yur 3rd dinner :)

Room Tip: We were on the north side, well I think it was the North side, next to the Couples Resort. Their nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Beaches was a wonderful resort to stay at. I got to get away and just enjoy the good life at Beaches hotel. There's nothing better than just enjoying great weather and great customer service. If I needed help or needed anything anything, there was service to provide help for me. One great employee that defianantly stood out was Oshane Ferguson. He was great with the kids and like others there, he did his job towards perfection. I miss Beaches already and can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Get a suite, it's the best room you could possibly have upon the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tajai D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife, son (age 9) and I spent 7 nights at Beaches Negril October 31 through November 07. This was our first Beaches Vacation and first trip to Jamaica and it was fantastic. What was great:
- The service and friendliness from the moment we arrived at the airport until we left.
- We received a room upgrade within 24 hours.
- Daily resort activity sheet is great and brings knowledge of what is happening on the property
- In-room safe worked well and was surprised at the number of available TV channels
- The food and restaurants were terrific with lots of variety
- The pools and swim-up bars (inclusive of children) were fun.
- The water slides and lazy river are about right for younger children
- The Xbox garage and mini-golf were fun
- The beach was clean and well maintained. The water was beautiful & warm.
- Safe and secure. Resort security were visible and their presence was tactful and subtle.
- The included water activities were available as described in the website.
- Lots of resort photographers and we appreciated their approach to picture taking and purchase of same......no sales pressure

Suggestions:
- Designated smoking areas on the property would be appreciated and allow everyone a more comfortable stay.
- Two mattress's would make the beds a little more comfortable.
- Could snacks be extended to include potato chips, chocolate bars, etc..

We appreciated the staff, the resort and comfortably recommend this property. With our son getting a little older we may try Beaches Turks & Caicos next as it appears they have more restaurants and a larger water park.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
5.1 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#3 of 80 in Negril
247 reviews
2.9 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma
33.3 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
2.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaches Negril Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaches Negril Resort & Spa

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Negril
#4 Family Hotel in Negril
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#8 Spa Hotel in Negril
#8 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#10 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: $664 - $1,551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Beaches Negril Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Located on the widest stretch of Negril's seven mile white sand beach•Stay at one, play at two with full exchange privileges with Beaches Sandy Bay including a choice of 11 dining options•“Pirates Island” Water Theme Park with 4 slides, meandering “lazy” river and splash deck•Caribbean Adventure with Sesame Street themed activities with daily character appearances, parades and stage shows•Kids Kamp & Nursery with wide range of supervised activities•Interactive Teens Program with “Trench Town” Teen's Center and Teens' Coordinator to coordinate teen activities•Expansive Two & Three Bedroom Butler serviced suites•Supervised Xbox® Play Lounge with flat screen plasma TV's & Xbox® 360 game consoles•Beaches Resorts were voted “World's Leading Family All-Inclusive 14 years in a row•Five Star Diamond Award, American Academy of Hospitality Sciences•Six Star Diamond Award, Beaches Resorts – Keeping it Green•EarthCheck Platinum Certified ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Unique Vacations Inc, Otel, Evoline ltd, TravelUp, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beaches Negril Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaches Negril Hotel Negril
Beaches Hotel Negril
Negril Beaches Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing