We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Jamaica”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best in Jamaica”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Beautiful resort in a gorgeous location. Staff and management are excellent!

Special thank you to the following staff:

Denray at the beach bistro
Cleaning staff of the second floor of the paradise building
Kendra at bayside
Smiley at the photo hut
Hanson from the concierge desk
Wayne at returning guest
And
Wayne
Kemar
Josh
Philip
Hopeton
And Cleon from the dive operation.

Each of these people can be depended upon to go the extra mile to make a guest's Sandals experience special.

Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dontwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We're so thrilled to see that our staff made such a great impression during your stay. They all will be so happy to hear your kind mention. We hope to see you return in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,434
    1,174
    411
    170
    125
See reviews for
218
4,120
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,423)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Dear Melisha, &Nikishia,Kerian,Tessian,Christopher,Hirfya,Norman,TBone,Faithlyn, Shavana,Nicholas,Kendra,and Sweet Julia, and,… I’ve been to a Sandals three years in a row, and every year wonderful people there humble me, then teach me ‘One Love’ and ‘Respect’ all over again. I keep waiting for the mask to drop, that cynical smiley face put on just for the visitors, but it never happens. Yes, any Sandals is gorgeous, the food and drinkies excellent and the rooms sublime, but a traveller must go for the people who work there. Sure, you can get pickled and sunburnt day in and day out,… no problem man, but one week at Sandals Negril was damned near transformative. I hate leaving and am already waiting for next year to go back,… just 357 days to go!

Room Tip: Our room was divine, but better suited to those who want to party. Check ahead to find out where the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank March G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Most everything about Sandals Negril is positive: beach and water, restaurants, guest rooms, grounds -- all were just like shown in the pictures. That's not always the case. There truly weren't extra charges and no surprises. The staff are amazingly warm, welcoming, helpful and friendly. We don't really participate in lots of the nighttime entertainment, but it's there for the enjoyment of others. The pools are not really large, but clean and refreshing. This was our first vacation to any Sandals resort and our first visit to Jamaica. We've now booked for next December! We had been upgraded to the Crystal Lagoon Butler suite and it was phenomenal. Our butlers were very accommodating, especially Dwayne who was with us when we arrived and worked double shifts for a few days. Once Basil returned, we had good service with him as well. Our friends had Mark and Orlando and they provided excellent service as well. The internet was more than adequate. Food was good, with a lot of seafood options, and although I'm not a seafood eater, there was plenty for me to enjoy. Sundowner was convenient and delicious. We ate in the Bayside Buffet for breakfast every morning and it was wonderful with good choices and options. Snorkeling was a blast, with enough pretty fish and lots of interesting coral to keep us happy. Beaches are kept clean, towels available most of the time when we needed them, lounge chairs are plentiful and looked like even if we didn't have a butler reserving our spaces on the beach anyone else could find one as well. Extremely secure and safe with the property rangers doing a great job keeping an eye on beach walkers. All the room attendants from the maids, to turn down night shift, to refrigerator stockers were so helpful. Our daughter and her husband had photography session with some fantastic pictures. It was kind of pricey ($170 for 15 pictures with the DVD and rights to print on your own as well as an album), but T-Bone the photographer did an amazing job. The backdrop looks FAKE it was so beautiful. Photographers were plentiful but did not harass or bother us, especially when we politely said "no thanks". The trip from Montego Bay to Sandals Negril seemed to take a long time (close to 2 hours), but is totally worth the journey. Bonus for us we got to see the Packer game on Sunday on the TVs in the bar. We did not use the spa or any of those services, so can't comment on that. We purchased the Club MoBay for both coming and going. It went smoothly, and I guess I'd do that again, but probably wouldn't have problems getting through the lines without making that investment. It was nice to have the Club MoBay lounge for departure since we had over an hour to kill before needing to report to the gate area. WONDERFUL vacation. We'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SueM53711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thanks so much for your review! You had such an awesome vacation with us at Sandals Negril and we're thrilled to hear it. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for an even better experience in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed at this resort for five nights over Christmas. This was our first stay at this resort. We had a newly renovated room in the Paradise Building. While lovely, we missed having a balcony. Our wonderful travel agent, Ruth de Muth of TripGuy Travel, has booked us into a different concierge level suite for our next trip. And, yes, we have already scheduled a return visit! The resort is lovely and the food greatly exceeded our expectations. We especially enjoyed the Jamaican buffet. We met a number of congenial fellow guests and wish to thank them for their role in making this trip so special. The best part of our stay, however, was the excellent staff. Their warmth and friendliness really made the trip for us. We appreciated the special touches in our room by the concierge staff and the excellent job that they did in caring for us. From the moment that we arrived until the moment that we (sadly) departed, we were always treated well by all of the Sandals Negril team. A special word of thanks to the hardworking Playmakers. Finally, the night snorkel was a memorable experience.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Sheri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your review of Sandals Negril. We're so thrilled to read that you had such an amazing experience at our resort. I will be sure to share your review with the management and staff. They will all be delighted to hear of your kind mention.

We hope to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I visited Sandals Negril from Dec. 25 to Jan. 1 2013. We had a wonderful time here! The customer service on this resort is the best we have ever experienced. This is due to their extremely friendly and caring staff. The all bent over backwards to ensure that all of our needs were met during our stay. This began with meeting Jolene Graham who stepped in and gave us a room change when we requested it. That combined with her friendly and caring nature made us feel at home and cared for throughout the week. Thanks again Jolene for making our vacation so wonderful that we will be coming back next year! During the day we found our perfect sun chairs by the beach and that is where we spent most of our time. There is a lady named Lois who serves drinks on the beach. She was incredible! She was friendly and caring and remembered everyone's drinks without writing a thing down! She went out of her way to find a groundskeeper named Tedrone and asked him to cut down some coconuts so that I could have the water. I am unable to have the sugar in the drinks at the bar. Tedrone and Lois worked together to make sure I had coconut water. Tedrone came by and cut the coconut in half so I could eat the meat inside too! Thanks again Lois and Tedrone, you helped to make our trip very special. We would also like to thank Harriet the manager of the Sundown restaurant and her team especially Nordalee for making dinner time such a pleasure for us. I have dietary restrictions but that was not a problem for the staff or the chef. They made sure I had yummy food to eat and great service. Thanks Sundowner staff, you're the best! Lastly we would like to thank Allison for doing such a great job cleaning and caring for our room. Your towel sculptures were a treat to come home to!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank steve k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York, USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This was our second trip to this hotel. The staff were wonderful they go out of their way to be friendly and make your stay enjoyable. We were upgraded to a honeymoon suite, the bed was awesome. Every restaurant was delicious and the waitresses went over and beyond to make your dining experience great. The playmakers did a super dance number one night they worked so hard. I would definitely return again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery Bay, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This was our 4th stay at Sandals Negril. We've always stayed in Paradise block because of the balconies and nearness to the beach. We were disappointed to find the balconies had been remodeled into french balconies and our room was close to the Bayside Bistro and Bar. Every morning at 4:22 I was awakened by the sounds of dishes being stacked, carts being rolled down the ramp and silverware being organized. Not a great way or time to be awake. The first day we got there we asked to be moved to a room with a real balcony. The next day Andre from guest services took us to view another room - a two-story room with a small balcony on the first floor and windows that didn't open upstairs. There was also a spiral staircase - not my fave. Couldn't hear the waves, which I love, from this location. We explained what we wanted and he said he would look and find something that we would both love. Never heard from him again. We ended up stayng where we were but spoke with several people (returning guests like us) who were not completely happy with the changes and were also seeking moves. Some moved, some didn't. There were also several days that our room was not attended to - bed wasn't made, room wasn't cleaned, etc. We had to call for towels a couple of times.

As always the food was fabulous, especially the new Cucina Romana! Patrizio, the chef, is very talented and we spoke with him each time we visited this wonderful restaurant. Norman and Christopher always treated us like royalty and I look forward to seeing all three in December, 2014.

Stacy, now working in Room Service, has become a good friend over the years. She always is smiling and arranged several "special" tables for us, with flowers and the wine she knows we like. She is a great example of what we have come to love about the Jamaican people.

At one of the returning guest dinners we sat with Joleen from Soon Come Back. We told her about some of the issues we were having and she said she would have a manager speak with us. And guess what - she did!! Danisha came to our table the very next day at breakfast, spoke with us at length, took notes and then called later that day to tell us that, since we were leaving the next day they couldn't do anything for us this trip, but would make sure we are happy on our next one. That was really all we needed. Someone to acknowledge the issues we were having, to make us feel like we were being heard.

All in all, while it sounds like this was not a great trip - it was. We were in Jamaica, the weather was beautiful, and the Jamaican people were wonderful.

Room Tip: Rooms at either end of the Paradise block will be noisier since they are near bars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rondaf08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
4.2 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
32.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
1.5 mi away
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.0 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#8 of 63 in Montego Bay
5,404 reviews
0.5 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 81 in Negril
4,313 reviews
27.8 mi away
Sandals South Coast
Sandals South Coast
#1 of 1 in White House
6,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Negril
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#8 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#8 Spa Hotel in Negril
#10 Family Hotel in Negril
#13 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Negril's pristine 7-mile white sand beach•Phenomenal bedroom oceanfront suites set upon a relaxing crystal lagoon•Ultra luxurious one-bedroom millionaire honeymoon suites with private plunge pool•Seven exquisite dining options•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row•Voted Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa “Jamaica's Leading Hotel” (2nd consecutive year)•Five Star Diamond Resort, American Academy of Hospitality Science ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Orbitz, Prestigia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Negril Beach Hotel Negril
Sandals Negril Beach Resort And Spa
Sandals Jamaica
Sandals Negril Jamaica
Sandals Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing