We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful couples get away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Rogers, Arkansas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful couples get away”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

My wife and I went for a week getaway in May 2012 and had a fabulous time. The grounds are beautiful. This was our first time to a Sandals resort and we plan to do it again.

The resort is a great size - it isn't too big so it is easy to get around, and during the course of the week you get a chance to meet people and see them across the resort.

The butler service is a must! I have never felt so pampered. They gave us a cell phone to reach them and anything we needed, they were literally at our beck and call. I was sold a couple days into the trip when we did the snorkeling excursion. When complete the boat pulled up to the shore and as we stepped off the boat... there was our butler standing at the water edge with my wife and I's favorite drinks in hand.

We were surprised when we arrived to discover they had upgraded us to the swim-up suite. If you have the opportunity, it is amazing.

For a romantic vacation I would also highly recommend having them coordinate a dinner for 2 on the beach.

We spent almost the entire trip on property - the only time we left was the excursion to Rick's Cafe. I will say the biggest surprise was that there is a night and day difference between being on property and not. Jamaica is a poor country - by contrast the resort is lavish and the difference is dramatic. Don't let that stop you from going - just be prepared.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,353
    1,156
    406
    167
    122
See reviews for
211
4,029
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,392)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shediac, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Having been to Sandals in Negril in early 2000 we were a little disappointed in the changes. We booked a garden view which ended up being a view of the road and the room was extremely small. The food choices were very limited we found unless you booked one of the specialty restaurants. The service we have to say was fantastic the people very friendly.. One really annoying thing is the three types of services for the different rooms, almost felt like a class system. No beer allowed in our fridge as we had a cheaper room. The beach was a big disappointment as their are too many boats being parked and they have limited the swimming area. There was oil scum on the water and you couldn't see the bottom.To be honest we had booked Sandals at the last minute so my husband could do the marathon, we stayed there for five days and then joined our son and his wife at the Rui Palace just five minutes away, which for the price is way better value for your money. Got upgraded to an ocean view. Had beer in the fridge. Lots of food choices. The swimming area was twice as big as Sandals and the water was clear. Half the price. You decide.

Room Tip: If you don't go with the more expensive rooms you won't have beer in your fridge and probab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dianna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We spent 6 months looking forward to this trip and had a really good time, but I would be doing Sandals a disservice if I wasn't completely honest about our experience.

Pros (tons!):
The resort is incredibly nice. We loved the layout of the resort stretched along the beach. You are really never not on the beach, and I loved that.
The restaurants were lovely (most located on the water) and the food was excellent (jerk chicken, steak kabobs at the Italian restaurant, Lobster tail at the Italian restaurant, amazing breakfast buffet).
They upgraded our room to the garden side-one of the walk out on the beach rooms. It was an amazing location and really made running back to your room extremely convenient. Very much appreciated. While the location was great, the room itself was very outdated but it appears they are in the middle of a renovation so I'm sure they haven't reached that side yet.
The resort was so clean. Every bathroom we entered was immaculate, even at the pool. I know that seems like an odd thing to comment on, but it's really nice to use a spotless bathroom. It was noticeable.
All of the on-site amenities were fun and available with no wait or a very short wait and they took time to teach you when needed.
Entertainment staff was great. The main host was funny and full of energy and you couldn't help but enjoy yourself. The beach party was a highlight of the trip for me.

Con (only one but it's a big one!):
Unfortunately, one thing truly overshadowed the entire trip. I've never experienced such bad service anywhere. We were stunned. I thought it was a fluke the first day, but it continued throughout the trip. Everywhere we went, we were made to feel like a nuisance or just completely ignored. It was without a doubt the strangest feeling I've ever had. We overheard several people discussing the same thing. Most of the time, we would sit down at a bar or a restaurant and watch employee after employee walk right by us and not look at us or acknowledge us almost as if they could ignore us so long that we would go away. When they would finally come over, they would slowly shuffle over and ask what we wanted and when we gave our order not even acknowledge that we had given it. They would just turn and walk away. If they had been swamped, I would have understood but I'm referring to times when not one other person would be sitting at the bar. At one point on day 2, I turned to my husband and said "is this a joke?" and I wasn't kidding. I thought to myself maybe everyone is doing this on purpose and cameras are about to jump out and surprise us...but nope! No cameras. It just ruined the trip and was very disappointing. I don't require anyone to fall all over me, just be friendly. That's all we expect. It's an all inclusive resort, not my home where I can go get my own food.

***In fairness, we want to recognize a few people who were friendly and hard working and don't deserve to be lumped in this category: Shavon, Christopher, the entertainment staff and Kendra from the breakfast buffet area. They all really seemed to take excellent care of everyone including us. I'm sure there are other outstanding employees at Sandals Negril that we didn't encounter because there are so many reviews praising the service at this resort and everyone can't be wrong. We just didn't experience much of it. We would not return to this particular Sandals resort but maybe will try another Sandals location in the future. I did love Jamaica!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We just completed our 5th Sandals vacation and have our 6th booked. It was our first trip to Sandals Negril, and as phenomenal as ever. We loved our Royal Cottage ocean view room, the food, the restaurants, the beach and the scuba diving. But what makes every Sandals great are the friendly and helpful staff. This trip we would especially like to thank our diving crew. At my age I can no longer walk with a tank on my back. and every dive Sanjay was right there to help me in and out of the water. Our captains, Hopeton and Wayne, and dive masters and crew, Josh, Emron, and Kaymar were also always professional and ready to help. It was one of the best dive crews in 28 years of diving. The food service was also phenomenal. I have to eat gluten free, and the entire resort recently switched all their sauces from flour to corn starch, giving me more tasty options than most restaurants offer. At the two big parties during the week, chef Misja found me in the crowd and walked me through the buffet so I would know what I could eat, and then the pastry chef did the same. I wish I had written down her name. I had more delicious deserts in a week than in a year of gluten free. We also really appreciated Jeffery Sever and Melesha Manler in the Barefood by the Sea restaurant. Our first night they learned our names and never forgot them, amazing with all the tables they serve.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
We're so thrilled to read of your stellar stay at Sandals Negril. It sounds like your entire stay was such an incredible experience. I will be sure to forward your review to our staff on resort. They will be so happy to hear of your kind mention. Thank you for your feedback.

We hope to welcome you back for another great stay in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We have visited all the North coast and part of South coast. We have spent three nights at the Negril Sandals. We enjoyed very much our stay: employees are very kind and formed to give an excellent service. They asked for your name and remember it. We had a problem with the air conditioning in the room and as they were not able to set it for the night, they gave us another room (upgraded) and we kept it for the rest of our stay. Food was very good, we especially the jerk chicken at the Bistro. We have eaten jerk in many places in Jamaica including at Boston Bay the home of the jerk food but the jerk chicken of the chief Denroy is the best. He even gave me his recipe. Thanks to Denroy.

Janie, Quebec, Canada

Room Tip: For room with view on the beaach, second floor is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renauld J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're so glad that you had a great time visiting with us and you enjoyed our delicious jerk chicken. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettembourg, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Back from our 18th stay at this resort. As usual, this resort fully met our expectations.There is some renovation work going on which didn't disturb us at all. Special thanks to the excellent dive team mainly captain Hopeton which has always a helping hand, as his deck-hand "cialis" does. Great diving with instructors Josh, Manna, Wayne, Philippe and Kemar.Also special thanks, to the great servers, Amoy, Philippe, Paulina, Nicky, Sashelle, Keisha and the bayside receptionist Kenra. Great service also in the mornings by Natoya at the egg station.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norbert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Wow! 18 stays!! Thank you for your review of Sandals Negril. It was a pleasure hosting you and we appreciate you choosing to vacation with us so many times. We hope to welcome you back home soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We just returned from our honeymoon at Sandals Negril. We had an amazing time! Our butlers, Mark and Orlando, made sure that every detail was addressed. The escorted walk to dinner every night was my favorite. Orlando and Mark had special tables reserved just for us, flowers decorating the table and our favorite drinks ready and waiting for our arrival. They made sure we had the best beach seats every day and our glasses were never empty.

I was a bit nervous at first, because when we arrived, I could hear the loud music coming from the swim up bar and there were a lot of people around. But, then Mark escorted us to the other side of the resort.....it was much quieter and the rooms were more upscale. It was more of a laid back feeling and no loud music.....just what we were looking for!

The resort is not huge, but large enough to feel like you have dining options, pool options, beach options, yet can talk to people and feel at home. The staff is friendly and helpful, but the butler service is the best!

We did use the spa for massages and it was perfect. Melissa was the receptionist and was courteous and professional. Juliann and Jannise were our massage therapists. All I can say is fabulous!

I gave Sandals Negril 4 stars (instead of 5) for 2 reasons - they were doing construction while we were there. Upgrading many of the rooms. While we could not hear any of the construction while in our villa, we could hear it from the beach. It did not ruin our trip by any means, but it did make the beach relaxation vibe a little less than ideal. The second reason is that while the food was good, it was not 5 star dining. We visited Sandals Royal Plantation in July and that is 5 star dining! (To be fair, I don't think anywhere, including the best restaurants at home, could beat the food at Sandals Royal Plantation.) There were more than enough options for food at Sandals Negril and we enjoyed all of them.

The butler service at Sandals Negril was fantastic! Top notch! This is our 3rd resort with butler service and we would not have it any other way. The little extras provided by Mark and Orlando made our honeymoon extra special.

We enjoyed Sandals Negril and would recommend it highly! Thank you, Sandals Negril, for helping to make our honeymoon so special!

Room Tip: Pick the rooms with butler service! It is worth it! We stayed in the Sundowner Honeymoon Villa. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
We're so happy that you had such an amazing honeymoon with us! We want all our guests to have the romantic experience of being in paradise and I am delighted to hear that we were able to create that experience for you. I will be sure to let our staff and especially your fantastic butlers know how impressed you were with their service.

We certainly hope to see you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
4.2 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 80 in Negril
4,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
31.0 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 63 in Montego Bay
5,323 reviews
1.6 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#14 of 80 in Negril
5,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Negril
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#8 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#9 Spa Hotel in Negril
#10 Family Hotel in Negril
#13 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Negril's pristine 7-mile white sand beach•Phenomenal bedroom oceanfront suites set upon a relaxing crystal lagoon•Ultra luxurious one-bedroom millionaire honeymoon suites with private plunge pool•Seven exquisite dining options•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row•Voted Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa “Jamaica's Leading Hotel” (2nd consecutive year)•Five Star Diamond Resort, American Academy of Hospitality Science ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Prestigia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TravelUp, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Negril Beach Hotel Negril
Sandals Negril Beach Resort And Spa
Sandals Jamaica
Sandals Negril Jamaica
Sandals Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing