We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sandals Negril Great and Relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 84 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Sandals Negril Great and Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

My wife and I just returned from Sandals Negril and had a wonderful time. The property is undergoing renovations but the construction does not interfere with anything. The new rooms are awesome. Ask for them, they will not disappoint. The property is nicely spaced out and kept immaculately. The staff was very pleasant all day long. The beach is a bit narrow but very nice. The swim up bar/pool was a good size but the other pools were small. None were very crowded, but if you want a deck chair at the swim up bar go down early. The food was excellent at all restaurants all the time. We loved the Sundowner restaurant best off all. If you want a little bit more luxury go for the concierge rooms. Fully stocked bars and you can do all of your dinner arrangements through them. The evening bars were well staffed and we didn't have to wait for drinks. The piano bar at night is a lot of fun. The evening activities were OK but I really wasn't paying to much attention. The trip from Montego Bay is about ninety minutes but it goes by fast and it's a nice scenic route. If you need a taxi driver when you're there ask for Ranger. Very nice guy. You can also go down the road and use the Beaches pools and restaurants. It was a lot of fun. The catamaran ride on Thursday was great. Rick's café and Margaritaville as well. Get boat staff. You will enjoy it. Finally the sunsets were to die for. Forget Hawaii, Negril has some of the best in the world. Thumbs up property.

Room Tip: Ask for the new beachfront rooms. They are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for your great review of Sandals Negril. We're so thrilled to read that you had such a wonderful stay with us. We always strive to create amazing experiences for our guests and I'm so glad this was the case during your visit.

We look forward to you visiting with us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,219
    1,111
    396
    165
    119
See reviews for
197
3,862
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,330)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montego Bay, Saint James, Jamaica
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

This place is not too big very comfortable great service.Its a hotel where u see managerial presence ,everything u need at your finger tips great staff ,7 restaurants ,spa,great rooms and fantastic views right on beach.

Room Tip: Don't expect wray and nephew white over proof rum they save u from yourself
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for your great review, Donna. We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Sandals Negril. Come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

This was our 8th Sandals trip and 2nd time to Sandals Negril. The last time we left we were heartbroken because we fell in love with this resort and this time was no different. You truly feel like you are at home. And the fact that you are in paradise makes it even better.

There are so many people to give a "shout out" too so I am going to try to remember them all. The entire staff was incredible and made us feel like family. Please forgive spellings and/or name changes because adjusting to the real world has fogged my brain :) We are also extremely passionate about good customer service, and that is what we received.

1. Playmakers- Javid, Samantha, Vanessa, Oshane, and Laurie were the heart of our daily life. They were always so wonderful and made sure we participated in whatever we could. From morning to evening the playmakers are there to do just that - make sure you play and have fun. They were an incredible group and one of the best we have ever spent time with. Always so upbeat and they knew you and remembered anything about you. We had a blast getting to know them and enjoyed every minute with them. They went above and beyond for us at all times.
2. Dwayne - waited on us at the returning guest dinner and a few other times - he was so kind and customer service was truly his focus. Thank you!
3. Kendra - greeted us every morning and for lunch too with a hug, a smile, and a mimosa. If she doesn't brighten your day then something is wrong with you. She is joy. And she is AMAZING and passionate at what she does.
4. Duane - Island Routes - not only delivered great service, but when we ran into him in the middle of the crowds of Rick's cafe he knew who we were and offered to take a group picture of us. We weren't even on the boat with the Sandals people, he just passed us at the top and offered to take a picture. Now that is customer service and dedication to your customers.
5. Norman - at the Cucina restaurant went above and beyond to make sure we had a wonderful evening. He delivered great service and care for his customers.
6. Terri Ann and the wait staff at breakfast (I apologize for forgetting names they were all great) they were so attentive and felt like family.
7. KaDean and Michael - bartenders at the pool - took such good care of us and always with a smile and some fun stories.
8. There are so many other people to mention, but just know that everyone there is truly passionate about their job and they treat you like family. That is the most important thing. We also enjoyed getting to know everyone and learning about their families, their passions, and their dreams. Jamaica is full of some great people. We always love it there.
9. Last and CERTAINLY not least - Orlando & Mark our butlers. They went above and beyond to take good care of us and really make us feel at home. Bringing us food because they knew we might be hungry (I think it was also to slow down the beverage intake), reserving pool chairs, dinner reservations, cards, decorations, sweet surprises, and so many other things that really made this trip memorable. They were so kind to us and our friends that were with us. Even surprising them on their anniversary. They always went above and beyond and treated us like family. I know I keep saying that, but they were. The best butlers we have ever had, I was truly sorry to leave them (not because of their service because of who they were as people)

Things to mention, but certainly did not hurt our trip
1. It will rain in November, that is a given. But usually just a light shower or two.
2. There will be bugs in Jamaica. And birds. You are in the tropics. Sandals cannot control the bugs and/or wildlife. However having breakfast with a peacock is pretty cool.
3. We had a small problem with our shower, we asked them to fix it and they did. Life happens, just ask and they will fix it.
4. Renovations- we always travel in November and there are 2 things we know will happen. 1. Rain 2. Renovations. We knew there were some going on before we arrived and we have been to other resorts during renovations so we knew what to expect. Certainly did not ruin the vacation. Did I hear construction from time to time? yes because I was sitting right next to the pool bathrooms being renovated. Did it bother me? well, I was on vacation and not at work. I am sure I heard it from time to time but between the water aerobics, pool games, drinks, and pure paradise I barely noticed.

We are "Sandals junkies", because we always get great customer service and feel at home. Although Sandals Negril took this to the next level. They also are always so great to us because we are returning guests. If you are a returning guest be sure to go to the dinner. It is the best meal of the week and so much fun. We sat with the general manager Andre, and so enjoyed spending time with him that night and the rest of the week. He was even there when we left to say goodbye. We also got to know Edward the hotel manager and he was wonderful too, and told us some great jokes. The new chef Misha (spelling I'm sorry) started the week we were there and the menu he prepared that night for the returning guest dinner was delicious. They also offer through the week beach party, reggae night, chocolate night, entertainment, bands, dancers, charity poker games, piano bar, dancing, and so much more. You don't have to participate, but I promise you will have more fun if you do.

Make sure to take tervis tumblers, you will thank us later. Take sun screen and aloe (they use to offer aloe in the little kits in the rooms and the don't anymore)

Thank you to everyone at Sandals Negril for making our vacation the best experience it could be. We save up all year just for this trip, and we do not regret it. We were truly sad to leave. Soon come back for sure. You all are THE BEST!

The Palm's

P.S. By the way Andre, where are our name tags? :)

P.P.S. Are Jazz & Skippy's babies there yet?

Room Tip: Any room there is great because it is close to the beach. Get an ocean view room because the sunset...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kallepoohbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of Sandals Negril. After so many visits to our properties, we're ecstatic to see that we have exceeded your expectations yet again. It was a pleasure hosting you and we can't wait to welcome you back home again!

Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

this was our 6th trip to this resort. It's like going to visit our friends. We love the staff. They have the best staff anywhere. Let me start by saying Juliet our waitress on the beach by the piano bar was the best. These people deserve shoutouts. Omar, Donovan, Kendra, Gayonne, Chris, Juliette, Smilie, T-Bone, Paulette, Cassandra, Reni, Gawayne, Kendrick and the girl that cooks my omletes every morning. I wish I owned a resort so I can have people wait on these people and treat them the way they treat us. they are the best. this is the reason to go back every year

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mexico55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
We are so thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful vacation with us at Sandals Negril. It's great that we were able to meet your expectations the 6th time around. Thank you for continuing to spend your valuable vacation time with us and we're excited to welcome you again next year. Thank you so much for your great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

My wife and I just returned from spending a week at Sandal’s Negril during the most relaxing vacation we have taken over four trips to different Sandals. Sandals Negril is in our top two resorts because of the friendly staff, elegant dining and resort ambiance.

Transportation
After passing through customs there is a Sandals reception area immediately to your left. You drop off your bags and confirm your reservation then relax with a drink in their lounge until your bus leaves. We then took a quick bus ride of around 75 minutes to the resort with a knowledgeable driver pointing out highlights along the trip.

Cozy Resort
Upon arriving at the resort you see it is nestled between the coastal road and the beach’s white sands. The road is close enough to hear at times, but it is concealed by the well-manicured grounds. Sandals is remodeling a majority of their concierge rooms and were putting the finishing touches on the remodel this week. It was amazing to see the resort transformed before our eyes.

Amazing Room
We stayed in the Caribbean Honeymoon Beachfront Suite which was really more room than we needed, but the room was kept clean, decorated well and well supplied. The room was two-story with a spiral staircase and a balcony. We did enjoy sitting on the balcony when we were not out enjoying the rest of the resort.

Exceptional Butler Service
Butler rooms are assigned two butlers and we had Kenrick and Gawayne. You will have one butler on duty at any one given time and be provided a butler phone to have easy access. Kenrick was amazing and anticipated our needs before we knew what we needed. He was always there with drinks and nachos, creating a special dining experience or providing some other unique experience that we did not know we needed. Gawayne provided us the perfect beach and pool seats.

Relaxing Beach
Due to the great beach and ideal seats provided by our butler we spent a lot of time on the beach. We also walked the length of the resort and south collecting shells. There really is no long beach to the north besides one other resort. There will be many Jamaican merchants selling their wares, but they are friendly and escorted or watched by the beach security. Odain provided excellent beach security and was one of many who created the relaxing environment.

Refreshing Pools
There are three pools, but they are small and less popular than the beach. In the afternoon we would migrate to the pool for entertainment with the playmakers and enjoy a few drinks.

Dining
We loved starting our day at Bayside where we were greeted by Kendra daily and enjoyed breakfast within feet of the water. Lunch was again within feet of the water at the Beach Bistro enjoying jerk chicken or other light meals. One of our favorite vacation moments is the evening dining. We ate at all the restaurants but fell in love with Cucina Romana where Kenrick set up the perfect table not once, but twice. Norman welcomed us during each visit and guided the restaurant staff in providing the perfect experience at our now favorite Sandals restaurant.

Activities
We always utilize the daily activities and fell in love with snorkeling on the Middle Shore Reef at 10AM. Reni creates an enjoyable and informative snorkeling trip as the boat captain and has a great crew including Smiley the water paparazzi who is sure to get pictures of you with marine life. If you do the night trip with Reni you will have an opportunity to see octopus, squid, turtles, etc. We saw more marine life on our trips than at any other Sandals.

Friendly Staff
The staff everywhere create an amazing experience for you. Here are a few other people who made our trip memorable. Natalie at the gift shop was great at helping to pick out the perfect gift. Charmalee provided the best drinks on the beach. The Piano Bar bartenders made the best drinks at night to keep the night life flowing. At night when you had munchies the night Beach Bistro chef served incredible late night snack food. Her jerk sauce was the best we had on the trip. At the end of the trip you have to see Gayonne at the Soon Come Back desk and book your next Sandals trip.

Thank you to everyone who made this vacation our most memorable and we cannot wait to come back.

Room Tip: To feel more pampered a Butler Room will make you feel more spoiled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rusty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgin, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Our stay was wonderful until we encounter two spa ladies from your spa. While on the beach with my newlywed enjoy the SUN AND BEACH we were approached by two females on there name tag it said Jannice and the other Julian. They tried to persuade us on booking a spa service, we however declined/refused on taking up the offer, even though we told them that we do not wish to do the service they still insisted. I told them that I well pay them to leave us the hell alone, they looked at each other and said some thing in there native tongue. Smile and said have a nice day. At this point my wife was upset which ruined our day. We don't normally complain but we had to call the spa to speak to the manager. A lady answered name Measha she apologize for what had happen and even sent us an fruit plate. She called and check on us the next morning and even said good bye to us on the day of our departure.persons like her needs to be commended for her actions. I am VP for a Customer Service company and that is customer service. Measha see you next year

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 821WilliamJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
William, thank you for your feedback. We were surprised to hear your comments regarding our spa employees, who are two of our best. However, in even the best there is sometimes room for improvement. I'm glad, on the other hand, that Measha was able to contact you and address your concerns before you left the resort. She was able to showcase the true level of customer service for which we strive. We hope to welcome you back in the future for a 5-star experience next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz Ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

This review is a little,! But I had to write it because I rely so much on trip advisor to plan my trips! ( need to give back) ok here it goes short and sweet:
Pros: outstanding service
Beautiful grounds and romantic, especially the side where the honeymoon suites are located.
Ameneties: all water sports ( including motorized) included, see through water boat, snorkeling, paddling gear etc included.
Food: very good presentation and good, and a great variety of fine dining, I especially loved the restaurant right on the beach.
Fun night shows and the piano bar could be fun and intimate at the time.

Cons: I wish the pool was a litter warmer
I really did not like that at times there were some bees around the bar area.. The bees were not bothering the tourist there but more the bartender :(. I don't know about you, but whenever the hubby and I go on vacation I like to have a fab time but we care about the employee work conditions. I supposed I should of said something.... Maybe next time I am at Sandals. Other than that we had a great time!! Superb service in paradise!
Oh one more thing, to get a more cultural experience I recommend getting out of the resort, try jungle club to see the locals go party! So fun and different! If you get hungry after partying all night try smoky joes jerk chicken, not too far from the jungle club.... Mmmm the best jerk chicken I had in the island!! Enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Californiancouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Wow! Sounds like you had a great time both on resort at Sandals Negril and off property. Thank you so much for your review. We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed every minute of your stay. We can't wait to welcome you back for another wonderful vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
4.0 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#9 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,180 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
1.6 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#15 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,044 reviews
30.9 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Negril
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#9 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#10 Family Hotel in Negril
#10 Spa Hotel in Negril
#13 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Negril's pristine 7-mile white sand beach•Phenomenal bedroom oceanfront suites set upon a relaxing crystal lagoon•Ultra luxurious one-bedroom millionaire honeymoon suites with private plunge pool•Seven exquisite dining options•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row•Voted Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa “Jamaica's Leading Hotel” (2nd consecutive year)•Five Star Diamond Resort, American Academy of Hospitality Science ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Negril Beach Hotel Negril
Sandals Negril Beach Resort And Spa
Sandals Jamaica
Sandals Negril Jamaica
Sandals Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing