We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Florida City, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wonderful vacation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed at Sandals Negril. for the first time , and we loved it cant wait to get back the , the staff are the best, loved the food , the bar tenders are the best in the world.. Your Fitness Pro Ian is so knowledgeable , we and other guests participate in his yoga, pool aerobics and other classes, there is only one problem the Gym is way too small for the amount of rooms you have there , most of the classes we did were on the outside, the beach is very clean and the water sports activities are so much fun.. we will be back

Room Tip: Beach front
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jahtol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,269
    1,130
    398
    165
    121
See reviews for
207
3,918
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,350)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and I just got back from celebrating our 24th wedding anniversary at Sandals Negril (11/14-11/21). My original cholce was Whitehouse, but chose Negril because of a large cost increase at the last minute. Both my wife and I could not be happier with our stay at this smaller and more intimate resort. From the time we got off the bus till we got back on the bus to leave, we were treated like, what I assume. royalty must be treated. We were upgraded to a fabulous beach front room on our 4th day and just could not get enough of watching the sunsets from our own private patio. I spent at least a month reading the reviews for this resort on this web page before we went and I honestly cannot see what some people gripe about. Sure, this is not a new resort, but they do a good job of performing maintenance and repairs without bothering or inconveniencing the guests. I've also read reviews complaining about the slow service. The only time we experienced slow service was at Barefoot By The Sea when we went there one day for lunch. The rest of the time we were promptly escorted to a table, usually overlooking the beach and ocean, and taken care of efficiently and promptly. The food is probably not 5 star, but was tasty and well prepared with lots of different items and styles to choose from. My favorite meal was probably at the Sundowner where we feasted on black bean soup and a marvelous steak in mushroom sauce. If you are tired of America's version of fish and chips, go to the beachside grill and order the fish there. I've never tasted better. The fries are spiced with some sort of red spice that is very tasty without being hot. Everything that we tried at the grill was very good and the pizzas were a treat and we were entertained both by the cook and by Rachelle why we waited for our pie. A special thank you to Devon and Kendra at the Bayside, Rachelle at the pizza place and the Sundowner, the entire crew at Dinos for making us feel at home and picking us out of groups of people for hugs and beaming smiles and Big Papa and Smiley for an informative and hilarious time aboard the glass bottom boat. Four years ago we were at the Grande Riviera at Ocho Rios and enjoyed that too, but nothing can compare to Sandals Negril. We received special gifts and were invited to the Welcome Back dinner because we were returning guests. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and are already planning on returning next year. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Ground level Garden rooms are pretty small, but quiet. Our room was on the north end just a couple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Shore, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We have been to Sandals many times and we LOVE it!! Last week we were married at Sandals Negril and it could NOT have been better!!! We had a beautiful suite with butler service.Our butlers were Sean and Donato whom we requested, because they have taken care of us in the past.They both were amazing!!!! I felt like a princess all week because of them.The resort is beautiful and very clean. The restaurants are all good, but my favorite is the Sundowner. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Specially Gayonne at "soon come back" . We will definitely be back and we tell everyone how amazing our weddingmoon/vacation was. The only way it could have been better is if we could have stayed longer!!

Room Tip: ocean view or garden view rooms on the ground floor are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

First off, we truly Love the people that work here, Patrice, Lois, Vinton, Leighton, Kani, Janoy, absolutely the nicest people you could ever meet. Most everyone here is warm and friendly to the people that visit their beautiful island. The water is much calmer on this part of the Island, making the strolls along the beach amazing. During the day the Swim Up Bar at the Pool, is a blast. In the evening, the Piano Bar is the place to be. It starts off with a gentleman playing the piano, and people singing along, then the DJ comes in, the lights go down, and the dancing and laughing begins. This part of the evening is enjoyed by some of all ages, just loosen up and feel the rhythm. Some afternoon take a cruise on the Catamaran to Ricks and watch the cliff divers. After this you will stop by Margaritaville, for a fantastic meal on the beach. The Catamaran Crew is FANTASTIC, they are definitely the best. We choose the Concierge service, and truly enjoy this option. The only negative thing I have to say about this beautiful resort is about the rooms we have had. There needs to be some remodeling, CLEANING of the bathroom, and new plug ins with an area for women to do hair and makeup. The caulking around the tub and floor in the bathroom is Less than impressive, along with the mildew under the handrail and drain cover in the tub. I understand Sandals is planing on doing some remodeling of the rooms, but who knows how long this will take, After all you are on Jamaica time here!

Room Tip: Rooms on the Second or Third floor facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jmwilson12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

What a great week at Sandals Negril! This was my second time staying in the Negril area and my boyfriend's fourth visit to Jamaica and second stay in the Negril area also. We are both newbies to Sandals. Worth the small increase in cost over other chains and we have already booked our next vacation with Sandals. Having previously worked in the hospitality industry it is easy to be critical but I have no complaints with this resort. The staff were amazing, the food was above average and some menu items were a pleasant surprise and exceeded expectations (lamb and made to order flambé). A special thanks to Sashelle, Velize, and Leroy for the food and drink service and Jermaine, Wade and Big Papa for the water sports. Sandals Negril have mastered all the small details and have done a great job in their evening events for their guests. From the reggae on the beach, the chocolate soirée with the music in the courtyard, to the beach Buffet, it takes a team to put these things on and do them well. Kudos to all involved. The nightly entertainment was good with some evenings getting top scores. The steel band was the highlight in the entertainment department. The piano bar which turned into the disco later in the evening had a decent turnout considering this is a small resort and some guests retired to their rooms early. We stayed in a lower grade room facing the highway but the room was clean, the bed was comfortable and housekeeping did a nice job. The only fault with the rooms was the washrooms are quite dark (for the ladies that appreciate good lighting for makeup application) and the corridors on the upper floors is constructed with older deck boards with gaps between them which made the short trek in high heels challenging. All in all we had a really nice vacation and will definitely return. I would recommend you pop across the road to take in a staff cricket game which usually started around 4pm daily....it really gives you a flavour for how much the staff enjoy working for Sandals.

Room Tip: Stayed in 5315 which was on the top floor facing the highway. No balcony and if you are not a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelpoorhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Travelled with my husband to Sandals Negril in August 2012. The weather was ok, Hurricane Igor did not touch down in Jamaica directly, but you could certainly see the after effects. They were constanty using dump trucks and bobcats on the beach trying to get rid of the never ending seaweed...ok yes this is mother natures fault and not in their control, but it was not very pleasant seeing dump trucks drive by you while your trying to lay out on the beach or going to sleep at night. The beach was not in good shape, again not in their control. The vendors did move on when you said "no" to their sales pitches which was ok. We were actually upgraded to a Loft room. generally I do not complain as long as the room is clean, which it absolutely was and the maid was fantastic. But, it is really worn down and damp...which is really the whole description of what Sandals is. They need to seriously renovate for the price they charge to actually go there. We enjoyed all the restaurants except the seafood one and some of the service at the restaurants was exceptional. I dont know why everyone is raving about the bartenders at the pool either...in my opinion they were always crusty! The lovely ladies walking around were great however. As for the animation staff..they are a great group of people and work hard to keep the guests feel welcome and entertained. Willy and Smiley you guys rule! Snorkeling was ok, Big papa and Smiley made it fun. The pool is completely falling apart as well. So in short, the service was great (aside from bartenders), but the resort is severely run down....the resort is way to astrociously priced for the value....go to Cuba, you'll have the same experience for half the price.

Room Tip: Get a butler suite if you go
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ARADAN2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

First of all we were scheduled to stay here but a hurricane hit the hotels and we were moved to Montego Bay, but sandals gave us rainy day vouchers for a FREE sandals vacation of our choice to use within 1 year! I couldn't complain! I had originally booked negril but almost decided to go to sandals Bahamas since we were just in Montego Bay for our honenymoon- but I sure am glad I decided to stick with our original reservations!

Sandals negril is amazing! I cannot even compare Montego Bay to Negril- negril is a million times better! The service from the moment we walked in to the trip leaving to the airport was phenomenal. 1st they upgraded our room from the top of the swim up suites to an actual swim up suite!!! It was the most gorgeous room we have ever been in!!! Our butlers Theda and Basil were so accommodating and pleasant. We also met friends for life on this trip- I highly recommend it! I loved it so much I'd go back (and usually I don't like to vacation in the same place twice). I also recommend if you stay here to walk down the beach to Beaches Negril- they have water slides and a lazy river- sooo much fun! We actually took a local boy from the beach to beaches and bought him a day pass- it was soo worth it to see how happy he was! He'd never been to anything like it and I'm sure he'll remember us for years.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lilblondegirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
4.2 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#9 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,217 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#15 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,089 reviews
32.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
31.0 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Negril
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#9 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#10 Family Hotel in Negril
#10 Spa Hotel in Negril
#13 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Negril's pristine 7-mile white sand beach•Phenomenal bedroom oceanfront suites set upon a relaxing crystal lagoon•Ultra luxurious one-bedroom millionaire honeymoon suites with private plunge pool•Seven exquisite dining options•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row•Voted Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa “Jamaica's Leading Hotel” (2nd consecutive year)•Five Star Diamond Resort, American Academy of Hospitality Science ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TravelUp, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Negril Beach Hotel Negril
Sandals Negril Beach Resort And Spa
Sandals Jamaica
Sandals Negril Jamaica
Sandals Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing